We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Gem behind nondescript facade”
Review of Legie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Legie
Ranked #446 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprising Gem behind nondescript facade”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have just spent the first of 12 nights at Hotel Legie in Prague last night. My room on the 8th floor is fabulous; newly renovated, clean, functional and very user-friendly. Quite a surprise after taking the small dodgy lift up there. I have a feeling this is how the city will be; full of delightful surprises. From the restaurant this morning I watch cars sailing past with snow on their roofs. The staff behind the reception desk are friendly and helpful. The hotel is unbelievably central and a short, straight walk to the Old Town.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but it seems like being higher up is better, although the lift is weird, slow an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meganshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    110
    103
    37
    32
See reviews for
56
90
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I visited this hotel 6 months ago. It was realy cheap because I bought it on groupon ;)
Room was clean, they geave us (me and my girlfriend) a bottle of wine, receptionist was helpful, free Wi-Fi, really close to city centre, good breakfasts and suppers - fresh food in clean restaurant.
It's not super modern hotel but in my opinion it's enough if you're not looking for 5* hotels. For that price very good :)
bad thing is very old elevator - frightful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mateusz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Its everything you need when holidaying on a budget! Spend your money in the beautiful city of Prague and stay in this hotel. the staff are nice and its only ten mins to the old town!! Thumbs up from me and my partner

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samuhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Hotel Legie. I would say it is an adequate 3 star. From what I read about the appearance of the hotel I have to say I was a little bit dubious but it actually was okay - the hotel was clean, receptionist really friendly and helped us out with so much information and the rooms were clean and much nicer than i had expected them to be. We didnt try the breakfast so cannot comment. The hotel is in a great great location. we didnt use any public transport at all during our stay and managed to get everywhere to see on foot. Wenceslas Square - 7 mins, Old town 15 mins and Charles Bridge was about 20 mins walk. there are some great little bars in old town - we loved bombay bar and M1 Lounge which were just outside the old town square. we paid 30GBP per night in the Legie and for that price I was not expecting anything like what we got - cannot fault the hotel it definately served its purpose for the duration of our stay - if staying for much longer you may want to pay for a hotel with more facilities but for a short break and somewhere you plan only really to sleep at night its perfect. would certainly stay there again and definately recommend to friends!! oh and the road is busy but not actually as noisy as mentioned before!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Legie for 8 days in 2011. Initially I was a bit put off by the industrial-style appearance and the dormitory look to the lounge. However, they offer a filling breakfast buffet that would please most diets and the employees are friendly and helpful. The hotel is right beside the I. P. Pavlova metro stop and is a short walk to the old town.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Across the street from the subway and walking distance to shops, restaurants and tourist areas.The hotel itself looked like an old communist buidling-very blah and institutional. Not as clean and updated as other basic hotels in Europe, but it had all the necessities. The elevator fits 3-4 people tops and is quite scary and sloooow. The food was terrible. I loved Prague but unless they renovate I would definitely stay elsewhere in the same area if I ever go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alley3898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The hotel is situated 100 meters to the subway station I.P. Pavlova - good, but on the cross of two big roads with a lot of cars... There aren't air conditionres in the rooms, so you should always keep windows opened and "enjoy" noise... :-( Also hairdryer is on reception only.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#137 of 649 in Prague
699 reviews
Praha 2
Pension Brezina
Pension Brezina
#349 of 649 in Prague
302 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#395 of 649 in Prague
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Tivoli Hotel Prague
Tivoli Hotel Prague
#256 of 649 in Prague
494 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sunrise
Hotel Sunrise
#225 of 649 in Prague
216 reviews
Praha 2
ABE Hotel
ABE Hotel
#314 of 649 in Prague
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legie

Property: Legie
Address: Sokolska 486/33 | Nove Mesto, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #446 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legie 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Legie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legie Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing