We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #394 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We chose this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel is just three tram stops from Wenceslas Square, about a twenty five minute walk.Not being in the centre means it is a lot cheaper. It is not a large hotel, about thirty five rooms. We had requested a room on a high floor due to reading about the noise of the trams. We were given a room at the front on the fourth floor, it was a good size, clean, very comfy twin beds and the bathroom had an excellent shower. We did hear the trams at night but after being out all day and tired they were not a problem to us, but if you are a light sleeper ask for a room on the side.

The staff on reception were friendly and helpfull, we arrived mid morning, knowing we could not book in untill two o clock. We were allowed to leave our cases in the luggage room which was locked for security, recieved some local knowledge then went off to explore. On our departure we were again allowed to leave our luggage as we had an evening flight.

The breakfast was adequate with a selection of cerials, hams, cheeses, scrambled eggs sausage and an assortment of breads. There is a good selection of restaurants nearby including the hotel restaurant and bar, again here all the staff were very friendly.

Transport in and around Prague is very good, trams and buses run every few minutes. We arrived on a Jet2 flight from Manchester and to get from the airport to the hotel was very easy. Before you leave the terminal buy a three day ticket from the transport kiosk, 310 Czech Koruna about £10.50, this you can use during your stay. Get the 119 bus outside the terminal, make sure you validate your ticket in the machine on the bus or it could be a large fine and travel to the terminus at Devicka, cross the road and get on tram no 26 to Husinecka, the hotel is up the hill on the right hand side.

Room Tip: side high rooms would be quieter corner rooms are the largest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank PeterM3039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 397 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2011

This was my first trip to Prague and I went with my work. The hotel is basic but since we only used the hotel for sleeping and showering I found it satisfactory.

2 important points to make:
Firstly, the carpet in our room was stained in places, and my friends told me the same thing about their rooms. I didn't really bother me, however, not everyone might be so forgiving.

Secondly, the location. The hotel is located at the top of a hill and it is a good 25-35 minute walk to Charles Bridge which is where most of the sights are in Prague. However the trams do run past the front of the hotel and you can use these if you find it hard walking alot.

The breakfast is not great. Of all the continental breakfasts i have had i found this to be the most unimaginative, and i actually broke the golden rule of eating out whilst on holiday, i eat at an English pub (the shame) because i needed a decent start to the day. However, there are some really nice restaurants and bars right next to the Hotel so theres always somewhere to go.

All in all the hotel was good. The room was clean (apart from the carpet), it had a lovely shower, and the beds were really comfy.

I would visit definatly visit Prague again, but i would prefer to pay the extra and stay in a more central hotel.

One last tip - Since Prague is a very historic city do not were trainers. After 4 days of walking my feet were aching. Invest in some decent walking boots and your feet will love you for it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angusmcwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvetaF-Manager, Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Dear guests
Thank you for your review.It is very important for us to improve our service.Satisfied guests are our aim.
Thank you.
Fojtíková Iveta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We booked this hotel thru' the travel agents, reading up on the hotel we were a tad worried, but upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised. The receptionist was polite and helpful (as were all of them that worked on reception), we booked into our room no problems but a little bit disappointed that we had a low floor - noise from the trams wasn’t too bad though as we were worn out from sight seeing-but as there were three of us we had a lovely spacious room. The carpets were stained, but the room was clean, warm and tidy. There were 3 good sized radiators in the room with thermostats- the heating and hot water goes off in the afternoon for a few hours - so we were able to turn them down during the night, yes the rooms got that warm! 3 comfy Beds with lovely big pillow and a heavy bed cover. We took our own kettle as there were no Tea-making facilities, but there is a fridge for use (it doubled up as a mini bar but we didn’t bother with that as it was a little bit overpriced) and we drank the Tap water with no ill effects. The TV was limited to 1 English speaking sports/news channel and a sometimes English music channel, so take your laptop and a few DVDs if you got a child to entertain of an evening. Breakfast was a variety of cold meats, cereals, cheese, bread rolls, smoked sausage & rice/boiled potatoes/pasta. Tea, coffee and juices. We used the trams for the duration of our stay and the stop is just down the road-as is the shop where we bought the tickets, we got the 24czk which lasts around 60/90mins from being validated, and then got the return tickets from the metro station. It’s around 3 stops into 'town' this will get you to republic nameski, then just a short straightish amble thru' the cobbles streets to the square where the famous Clock Tower is. It was also quite easy to get to the 'other side of the Charles bridge' to see the Kafka Museum, Lennon Wall etc. AnyHoo back to the Hotel, I thought it was a good location, friendly staff, clean and a pretty good price. Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: ask for a High Floor to avoid noise from the Busy Streets Take your own Tea Making facilities take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank harrythespyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I went to the Victoria Hotel for 2 nights with my fiance and my parents, we had all read the reviews and were a little apprehensive, however booked a bargain trip & were all looking forward to our stay.

We were very pleased with the hotel, we arrived at lunchtime and the very friendly and helpful receptionist (I'm guessing the one in the reviews has since left!!) kept our luggage for us & said we could check in at 2pm, so we had lunch & a few beers in a nearby restaurant which was fab (see the review on trip advisor & this is the website - http://www.uhoudku.websnadno.cz/) We checked in and had lovely rooms - yes the carpets are rather stained through previous guests disrespect, but the room was clean, spacious, warm and comfortable, the trams were noisy but what do you expect for the location, they certainly didn't spoil our stay.

We caught the tram into town, £12 bought us a 3 day pass for the bus, train & metro and included getting from & to the airport, quite a bargain - 5 mins on the tram into town. Another good recommendation is the pizzeria across the road on the corner, lovely pizzas and reasonable priced too. Free wi-fi in the reception area which was handy in the hotel, and a reasonable breakfast to start you off for the day (cheese, ham, bread, rolls, cereal, fruit, yogurt, tea, coffee, juice, fruit teas, sausage, hot egg, hot rice, salad etc.).

The receptionist was very helpful all through our stay, and again on the last day we were able to store our luggage until we flew home later on. It took about an hour from & to the airport by bus & tram.

Definitely recommend, definitely go back - a good area to stay in too as the prices are far cheaper then in central Prague.

Room Tip: Go for one of the larger ones on the front of the hotel that has 3 aspects facing out, they are bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HampshireGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This was our 2nd trip to Prague staying this time for 5days.We arrived to early for check in, but went for ameal across the road in the pizzeria.
The room was spacious and had aircon, it looked over the main tram route but we were so tired from sight-seeing this did not cause a problem. It took us approx 25mins to walk to the centre, however if you took the tram it was only 3stops away.
WE WOULD STAY IN THIS HOTEL AGAIN, STAFF WERE EXCELLENT AND HELPED US WHENEVER WE REQUIRED IT
HIGHLY RECCOMEND THE PIZZERIA ACROSS THE ROAD

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odonnell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvetaF-Manager, Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Dear guests,
Thank you for you possitive expression.we are looking for your next visit in Prague and our hotel Victoria.
Best regards.
Fojtíková Iveta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Not bad single room (with wi-fi), good breakfast and not bad location.
I like it and I'll stay here in next time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We initially booked in Gloria hotel but when we arrived we had to move to Victoria hotel (same hotel company, 500 meters away) since there was no room for us.
When we arrived at Victoria hotel we had our room without problems.
Anyway Victoria hotel is a good compromise between price and quality: rich breakfast, good rooms and it's easy to get to the city center by tram (10 min approx).

While we were waiting for our room a French couple has been sent away since their room was "not available" [they booked the room 3 months before and already paid]. The hotel offered them a different accommodation in another hotel very far from the city center (and only a free taxi run) or a 50% refund.
Is it due to overbooking?

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tripp4PerGatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
City Partner Hotel Gloria
City Partner Hotel Gloria
#379 of 646 in Prague
459 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#352 of 646 in Prague
199 reviews
Praha 3
Ostas
Ostas
#366 of 646 in Prague
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio
Praha 4
Globus
Globus
#553 of 646 in Prague
430 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#111 of 646 in Prague
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Seifertova 617/26, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $29 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing