We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most terrible hotel I've ever been”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Sibelius
Ranked #44 of 369 Prague B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Стокгольм, Швеция
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most terrible hotel I've ever been”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Most terrible hotel I've ever been. Water was broken, the fridge and ventilation fan in the bathroom were terribly noisy. I had to sleep in the corridor between 2 rooms next to the toilet. I booked it via CentralR.com who took a deposit which was not couted in the final bill. All contacts and efforts to get money back are useless. Never ever go there!!!! Terrible country, terrible people with stupid Soviet mind and no responsibility. The General manager of this hotel, Tomáš Lev (remember his name and try to avoid contacts)!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bumbastik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomasLev, Manager at Aparthotel Sibelius, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Tripadvisor members,
my name is Tomáš Lev and I´m general manager of Hotel Sibelius. I would like to expalin to you what really happened in Hotel Sibelius during the stay of Mr. Bumbastik staying in our hotel from 28.7. to 30.7.2011. He has reserved hotel via CentralR.com (on-line booking engine) and he has paid deposit of 10% ( 21.6€) to CentralR.com as their commission. The rest of payment for the room was 122.40€ which he had to pay in the hotel.
Due to unexpected water accident on July 29th (one water pipes burst and flooded one floor and floor below; we were lucky it wasn´t guest floor) we had to close water supply for whole house for 4 hours. We have apologized to all our guests, offered them alternative possibility to use showers and bathroom in our Hotel Orion, which is just 20 meters from Hotel Sibelius and nearly all accepted it with understanding that such problems occur from time to time anywhere. Only Mr.Bumbastik had a problem with this fact, so we have offered him two options. He can stay in our hotel and pay at the reception reduced price of 50€ for each night (more than 20% discount), or we can arrange for him another hotel with higher quality and same location for the same price.
Mr. Bumbastik decided to stay in our hotel Sibelius under the discount price conditions and finally paid just 100€ for whole stay.
Few days later Mr.Bumbastik get back to us via email and required another discount and compensation. He was very angry that we don´t accept any another compensation.
Hotel Sibelius is few years after reconstruction, so there is no noisy fridge or ventilation. Apartment no. 34 (the apartment where Mr.Bumbastik stayed) has over 40m2, and there is bedroom, living room with kitchen and bathroom with access from small floor and is really large, so Mr. Bumbastik didn´t sleep in any corridor next to the toilet as he mentioning.
You all can try our hotel and see where the true is.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon in our Hotel Sibelius.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
33
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

The location is not that central , about 10 minutes walk from Nemesti Miru metro station and 45 minutes to Old Town Square . Also the neighbourhood didn't seem very classy after nighfall . The rooms very pretty big , and standard 3 stars looking . The room was in an attic and the hotel blocks is shared with private homes . The only problem witch the room was a leak from one of the windows . The breakfast was rather poor and served in nearby hotel Orion , about 100m away .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragos05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful week in Prague and stayed in one of the apartments at Hotel Sibelius in the lovely, leafy, tree-lined Vinohrady district. The accommodation was fantastic, our flat was very spacious with a fully equipped kitchen and dining room, a lounge and seating area and a huge bedroom also with seating and a table. Double doors could be opened throughout the three main rooms so you make it completely open plan or separate the rooms depending on your requirements. There are plenty bars and restaurants in this quiet, residential area – the food and drink was very reasonably priced and well off the major tourist route. However, there was a handy tram stop close to the hotel and an underground station nearby if you wanted quick access to the Old Town or the castle area. We just couldn’t fault this place and would go back in a flash – would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BogsideBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

I've just returned from Prague and i must say it's a wonderful city. As for the Sibelius Aparthotel, only good things come through my mind. The location is great, in a residential area which is quiet and very charming. You can get to main bus and subway stations in a few minute's walk, or you can just walk for about 20-25 minutes to the National Museum. The staff is pretty helpful and the cleaning was daily. The surroundings are great as you have a few small coffeeshops and restaurants at about 100-150 m. I would recomend the hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bogdanangheluta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

We booked for three nights and ended up staying five because we liked this place so much. It was nice being able to cook for ourselves sometimes and helped our budget.

The hotel was clean, quiet and had comfortable beds. The rooms are cleaned every day although we make use of this (we only changed our towels).

The location is two metro stops from the old town and there is a tram stop a block away. It was really easy to find the hotel and really easy to get around.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorpsebrideZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

This was a city-break type of vacation (3 nights), so the location was important to us.
The aparthotel is located in a quiet part of the town, 400 meters from the subway station and an hour walk away from the Prague Castle; so we had plenty of time to visit the hot attractions by foot (there is tram station really close by if you don't want to walk) - I found out later that google street view is available.
The Sibelius building has only apartments (I'd say less than 10 apartments), and so the restaurant where breakfast is served, is located in another building (Hotel Orion) which is close by.
The kitchen is fully equipped (fridge, micowave, electric stove).
There are some restaurants and cafe close by.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariusc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Good beds, good breakfast, good neighbourhood and clean. That's about it with the good part. The bad part was that no one came to clean the room in 3 days, until I had to go ask for some clean towels. It's a bit far from the metro station, but really close to the tram station. And it's very spacious but very unfriendly as it has no carpets and little furniture.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ioana_mik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#248 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
ApartHotel Susa
ApartHotel Susa
#232 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Family Lorenz & Coffee House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Wenceslas Square Hotel
Wenceslas Square Hotel
#11 of 369 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Praha 8
Davids Apartments
Davids Apartments
#24 of 369 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Praha 8
Hotel Frydl
Hotel Frydl
#16 of 369 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Sibelius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Sibelius

Property: Aparthotel Sibelius
Address: Jana Masaryka 194/39 | Prague 2, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 369 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Sibelius 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated Aparthotel Sibelius in a quiet area of Královské Vinohrady, just 5 minutes by walk to the ,,A" line metro station ,,Náměstí Míru" and 5 minutes ride by public transport to the city centre. In the close surrounding sufficient number of gourmet restaurants, lively bars, typical Czech beer pubs, shops, as well as all kind of services can be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Sibelius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Sibelius Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing