We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a hostel?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Ranked #112 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I have stayed in my share of hostels around the world, whether in shared or private rooms; though a "senior", I have no problem with their mostly young clientele and have found them often just as good as, or better than, budget hotels.

But Miss Sophie's is something else! When I entered my private single room, I was amazed at the - no other word for it - elegance of the decor and fittings. This was a hostel room? The bed was wide and comfortable, the bathroom was spanking clean and gleaming. Downstairs there is free internet and subway tickets are available at the front desk. It is a short walk to a subway station just two stops from the Old Town and there are cozy bars nearby. I loved coming back to the room after a long day touring.

Two minor drawbacks: Unlike most hostels, it does not offer breakfast so that you have to provide for yourself, but there are food shops in the area they can point you to. And the warmth of responses from the front desk staff can vary depending on who happens to be on duty. (Not that it is ever unfriendly, but it can be just short of curt at times.) But no question that this is where I would book again if I come back to Prague.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
1  Thank arthil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (695)
There are newer reviews for Miss Sophie's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 419 of 695 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2010

First off- Miss Sophie's is definitely a nice boutique hotel and not a hostel. However, the price for a night is hostel price- so you will get the best of both worlds! We stayed there for 3 nights in a private room on the 5th floor. We were very pleasantly surprised to find ourselves in a huge room with a king sized bed, 3 skylights, couch, and a small kitchenette complete with stove, microwave, and mini fridge. It was about a 20min to the main square but there was a subway stop right outside. My only complaint would be that the staff was not the most helpful- they answered all our questions but were very vague with their responses (we asked for a recommendation for a good restaurant and they named us about 10 different streets to try). I would not hesitate to recommend Miss Sophie's to anyone I know. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeanTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

My husband booked a trip to Prague as a surprise for our first wedding anniversary and i think he did a fantastic job in booking Miss Sophies. He knows that i like boutique style hotels but also appreciates that on a city break you rarely spend much time in the room, so no point in spending lots of money. Miss Sophies is the perfect choice for this. The hotel is situated 15 minutes walk from the very main centre, but is by no means out of town. There are many good bars situated nearby and these are easily found on the maps that they have produced for guests.

The guys on reception were very friendly and we checked into a room on the top floor. Rooms not huge but bathroom very good size with walk in shower and huge shower head. Plasma TV and cool lighting, not much more than that but we didn’t really need anything else. Beds were good size and even though it was a double bed, we had our own duvets which i actually really liked! Towels changed each day.

The hotel is also a kind of hostel, as some rooms allow people to book into a mixed room. So I expected to see lots of backpacker student types but there were none. The hotel doesn’t serve breakfast but there is a comfy room in the basement with sofas and a kitchen where you can cook although we didn’t bother. Free Wi-Fi and taxis called from reception arrived quickly and were cheaper than hailing one. Bags can be safely locked up if your flight isn’t until late in the day.

Prague is lovely and lots to see although we walked it all in one day. Recommended bars and restaurants would be Kampa Group’s Cowboys with roof terrace, and Hergetova Cihelna overlooking the river. The Pub is a cool bar where you can reserve a table and pull your own pints from it. Most places expect to pay UK prices, local beer is very cheap, wine a bit more.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shangri-lada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

A modern hotel, catering for the international crowd rather than locals, with simple but pleasant rooms and no frills.

I was travelling with a friend so we chose a room with one large double bed and one rather narrow single bed; there was not a great deal of space to move around, but it was fine for a couple of nights.

No meals, not even breakfast, but there is a simple kitchen in the basement.

The staff are friendly and speak English well.

The location is in a quiet side street in the Nove Mesto. It is close to the edge of the Stare Mesto, though a longish walk to the main sights.

The wifi (encrypted, ask for the password) works well enough. It dropped out two or three times, but I was able to use Skype without problems.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed at the 'Sophie's' in September, 2009 and had a great experience. Apartment was very quiet at night. This was very important for me. Location excellent, everything within walking distance!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much there and would recommend it to anyone that wants to stay at a cozy place in Prague.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ep125478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Location was good a block away from the subway station with easy access to the historic centre. I stayed in the building across the small laneway which is also part of miss sophie's. All the facilities ie the kitchen and small lounge area in the main building were accessible.

I had a shared room with 4 other people which was fine as the room was large and a big plus: no bunk beds. The rooms were clean, the beds fantastic with an under the bed drawer storage which made packing/unpacking so much easier. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emv80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We had an amazing time in Prague. The buildings, the weather, the people, the food. It was all awesome. Mis Sophie's was a complete surprise. We booked the accommodation online and were wrapped to be given such a divine room. We did a bit of walking as it wasn't in the immediate centre of Prague. It was a good 10-15 minutes walk, but it was worth it. Free internet, friendly staff, downstairs kitchen where you could lounge about and/or cook. If you walked a few blocks you could easily find small supermarkets. The apartment had a great kitchen and bathroom. It was very spacious and fresh. Our apartment was situated across the street from the main building of Miss Sophie's but that didn't matter, in fact it was quieter. Check out my photo of the room layout, you'll see it has loads of space. I'd definitely book visit Prague again just to stay here and experience the city and sites. Mind your feet on the cobblestone streets, there are so many types of stone, it's very beautiful, but can be hard to walk on when all you do all day is walk the streets.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thermocafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#66 of 648 in Prague
2,189 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 648 in Prague
1,637 reviews
Praha 5
Aparthotel City 5
Aparthotel City 5
#5 of 648 in Prague
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#154 of 648 in Prague
2,959 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Boutique Hotel Seven Days
Praha 2
Hotel 16
Hotel 16
#7 of 648 in Prague
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miss Sophie's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Sophie's Hotel

Address: Melounova 3, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $74 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Miss Sophie's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miss Sophie's offers boutique hotel accommodation right in the heart of the Prague Nove Mesto (New Town). Our recently renovated rooms (2015) are an ideal option for a quick getaway, romantic escape, business trip, or just for those who want quality accommodation and service for their stay in Prague. Miss Sophie's is a short walk from Wenceslas Square and the National Museum, with great public transport connections nearby as well. All rooms include air-conditioning, rainhead shower, TV, safe, tea/coffee, phone, towels, hair dryer, toiletries and more. Also on offer is free wifi, keycard security access, elevator, airport shuttle service, friendly knowledgeable staff and a wonderful breakfast (and bar) at Sophie's Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Miss Sophie's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miss Sophie`s Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing