We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Julian(Prague)
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$124
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$197
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$675
$483
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$195
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$257
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Unitas Hotel(Prague)
$182
$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$269
$232
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveler rating
482
201
32
11
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
482
201
32
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcome basketold townboutique hotelbunk bedspavlovaminute walkmetro stationmini fridgeyour luggagedouble roomwould definitely stay here againshower headmain sightstop floorpublic transportationcity centrewenceslas square
Filter
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 728 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2008

Again, you fellow Trip Advisor reviewers were right on the money!

Miss Sophies was great!!! I really wasn't sure what to expect, but we were not dissapointed!

LOCATION:

Fabulous, Fabulous, Fabulous. Close to all transportation (one block) and is perfect for Prague. It's far enough away from the tourist sites so you can break away, but close enough to easily walk. Very close walking distance to pretty much any of the major attractions or areas.

ROOMS:

Very modern, very minimilastic, very streamlined. This is not a luxury room. It's basic and clean, but VERY comfortable. The beds were fabulous. If you are the type of person to want to spend a lot of time in your room, this is not for you. It's certainly not large. We were in Room 9 with 2 twin beds and an ensuite WC. The bathroom is just fine, although the "rain" shower head and the temperature setting was a bit fussy. Oh, the "motion detector" lighting in the bathoom drove me crazy. Sometimes it would cut on of off unexpectedly.

SERVICE:

They could not have been more helpful or friendly. The young staff is eager to answer your questions about Prague. Their English was excellent and they all had a very witty sense of humor. There are to internet terminals (very fast) available for free in the lobby and there was hardly ever a wait. This was very nice. The front desk sells postage stamps, subway tickets, etc. Also, you can make VERY VERY cheap int'l phone calls from your room. Was a great connection too.

THE CROWD:

It's a hostel, but easy to forget it. Feels more like a brand new modern budget hotel. There were all types of people- young, older, etc. And they were from everywhere. Most spoke English.
There was a lounge downstairs, but hardly anyone was ever there. This is not an overly social, loud, or "party" hostel. It's pretty quiet.


This place is very different, but in a refreshing sense. You'll like it. I would defiently return!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GEOFFS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

Very clean & modern bathrooms (best hostel shower ever). Rooms also very clean but no reading lights so difficult if people in your room are sleeping. Kitchen/lounge in basement is well equipped and a good place to chill and free internet is a bonus. Not a very social hostel but a great place to catch your breath and with metro so close by its a convenient location to check out the best of pretty Prague.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lizardoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

We stayed at Miss Sophies in August 2007. I had originally booked a double room but we were upgraded to a fantastic apartment in the building opposite the hostel. Everything that has already been said here is true - the apartment was trendy, modern,clean, spacious and extremely well located for exploring Prague. There was also a little Mexican restaurant right next door where we had several sunny breakfasts of cinammon toast! I would most definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bluecat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

Miss Sophie's is a delightful hostel with a friendly staff and good location.

Our room and bathroom were super comfy, clean and attractive -- much more than you would expect from most hostels. Our view was nice as well. The lounge downstairs has a communal kitchen, big sofas and free wireless internet. We felt relaxed and happy during our entire stay.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank neelytb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We stayed at Miss Sophie's in May 2007 on a friend's recommendation and after reading glowing reviews of the hostel on Tripadvisor.

We found Miss Sophie's easily with the directions from the hostel website after we had trained in from southern Czech Republic. The hostel is a short 5 minute walk from a major train station and roads are well signed, so it'll be easy to find the hostel (print off the directions from the hostel website and you can't go wrong)

We booked a double room with private bathroom facilities and were blown away at the quality and value we received. Although no bigger than any other hostel room, the bedding was amazing with clean and comfortable sheets and pillows. The bathroom was all polished cement and glass and had the most luxurious shower head the size of a dinner plate and amazing pressure! It proved to be the best shower we had during our entire time in Europe! The hostel also provides towels which are replaced each day by the sweet and polite housekeeping who also clean the bathroom each day (I suggest for everyone to leave a few crowns in the room as a tip to them as they are lovely and often get overlooked in hostels).

The hostel is about a 10 minute tram ride to the centre of all the action and is opposite a little Mexican restaurant which can get a bit rowdy on weekends with English stag parties, but it's nothing compared to what some would be subject to in hostels closer to the city centre! Just a couple of blocks down the road from the hotel is an amazing micro brewery which also provide fantastic Czech cuisine. Try the various flavoured beers - there are around 8 to choose from. Perhaps avoid the banana beer... Order smažený sýr at least once during your time in Prague - a fried cheese dish which is so amazing I still crave it 9 months later!

The hostel also offers free Internet access, which is fantastic and just adds to the overall value. The kitchen and common room are well equipped, but lack a bit of atmosphere. In all our time there (3 nights) we bumped into two other people in this area, even though the hostel was booked out. There is also a quiet little courtyard just next to the reception area, perfect for reading or writing postcards. Staff of the hostel are also polite and helpful. Ask them for train and tram tickets which they sell at reception.

Overall, this is the best hostel I have ever stayed in, although a little far from all the action. If you're happy to jump on a tram every morning to enjoy Prague's sites, then you can't go past Miss Sophie's. The only drawback is the lack of restaurants and bars in the area, making enjoying evenings out a little harder as there was always a lot of walking involved. If you want to fully enjoy the powerful Prague nightlife and somewhere a little more convenient, perhaps look for something closer to town, but don't expect any other hostel to be able to compete with Miss Sophie's!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robynab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews