We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food in Prague”

V Kolkovne Restaurant
Ranked #1,069 of 6,454 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Reviewed May 1, 2019

This pub/restaurant was recommended by our hotel in Prague. It is usually very busy so you will need to book. The food is good and traditional Czech and the service on the night we went was adequate. We were advised by our Hotel that the service can be hit or miss and after being there I can understand this. However the night we went there were no complaints. The prices are reasonable and the food is served quite quickly. This is worth a try if you are in Prague.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 3,282 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2019

During our three-day stay in Prague, we ate here twice and loved it. The restaurant can get a bit crowded, so it might be a good idea to make a reservation in advance (we didn't - tip: don't give up if you see all tables are reserved but instead ask one of the waiters for the table, there is a good chance you'll get it despite reservations), but we didn't wait for food for more than 30 minutes. Our waiter was very friendly and polite, and the food was great, with big servings and more than reasonable prices (especially since the restaurant is located in the city centre). I would definitely recommend it, and I would definitely eat there again.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alanacro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

This review is only about the service since we left without ordering after beeing treated incredibly bad. The waiter was very rude, seemed annoyed to have to deal with customers and reacted even agressively at our order that didnt seem specific enough for him. In years of traveling around the world I've never had such a situation, truly unforgettable but in the wrong way. Sorry but there are 1000 of places in Prag where you will be treated nicely even if you don't speak the language.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Aunt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

Recommend in Lonely planet guide, never lets me down then saw recent trip advisor reviews, went anyway and loved it. Need a reservation after 7 so went early and got a table. Food and beer very authentic and got very busy, nice atmosphere.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Odyssey120573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

Reserved when passing by for a dinner at 18h, and based on recommands looking out for traditional dishes in nice interior.

Waiter was helpful in getting us to our place and in choosing dishes. Prices are reasonable, quality okay.

The bill mentions (in capitals) TIPS AREN'T INCLUDED, but we ware aware after reading several travelling guides about the average 10% tips... So, actually we had no problem with this common habit of waiters pointing ot for this. Must admit it doesn't seem polite, but when travel guides mention this is common, one forgets often to add a fee during payment.

Would come back or recommend this place; make a reservation in front to have a good place.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GerHei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed V Kolkovne Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to V Kolkovne Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing