We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Odense
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Honeymoon”
Reviewed September 2, 2007

It is hard to imagine a better place to stay in magical Prague. We arrived very tired after our wedding, and this hotel was the perfect place to rest and savour the wonderful memories.

The staff was very professional and friendly all the way through, and the service was without question of the highest standard.

We must also highlight the interior: No matter where you looked it was a unique experience--the combination of original 1600-styled architecture mixed with the very personal, gaudy style is definitely unparalleled. But the amazing thing is: It works! You must see it in person to truly appreciate what we're talking about here.

We loved our room (could hardly leave it!), appreciated the delicious, homemade prailines laid on the bed every day, and can only recommend sleeping in a four-poster bed. Pure royalty!

Take a look in the basement while you're there--it's a world of its own. Even if you do not plan to receive the deeply satisfying and very qualified massages (we had a balinesian massage for couples--highly recommendable) or use the spa etc., the exotic Indonesian style everywhere is worth your time.

The breakfast buffet was varied and really yummy. So was the dinner food, but one thing that may be worth mentioning is that the sea bass we had at the Aquarius Restaurant was a little bit boring for our taste. However--we come from a sea nation, so we probably have special expectations; so we won't hold that against them;-) It is probably good advice not to order fish in a country without a coastline.

Another important thing is the central, yet quiet, location. It's in the Embassy District (Mala Stranska) and only five minutes walk to the Charles Bridge. A very lovely part of the city.

A vision of the owner is that the Alchymist should not only be a hotel but a home for the guests; we can only say that we had exactly that experience while staying there. Thanks!

  • Liked — Interior and the four-poster bed!
  • Disliked — Nothing to mention here.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HPL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,532
    148
    29
    19
    3
See reviews for
197
1,089
73
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2007

W e stayed in the hotel for 4 nights 29th Aug-2 Sept and simply didn't want to leave. We've stayed in many other hotels and the Alchymist without doubt is the finest ever experienced. It's grand and opulent but not stuffy. The interior is OTT with gold ormolu everywhere yet it's not offensive to the eye. You can dress up or down and neither would feel out of place. Importantly for our honeymoon, the bed was extremly comfortable! Foor to ceiling mirrors added an extra touch..... The service is impeccable from the management team to the daily maids - nothing is too much trouble, staff are friendly, polite and decorous.
breakfast is a cornucopia with a wide variety of choice including an a la carte selection e.g. salmon and caviare.
We ate dinner in the hotel on Saturday and had a personalised service. The food has a mediterranean influence and is presented to a standard which could rival any top hotel in the world.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Prague who wishes to experience the finest in boutique hotels whilst also offering the very special atmosphere Prague ambience of times past. We can't wait to return for our 1st wedding anniversary!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

The attention to detail in this hotel is second to none. From the moment we arrived to the time we left nothing was too much trouble. Staff were freindly, courteous and everything you requested was dealt with immediately. The breakfast included smoked salmon, smoked halibut, various cut meats in fact everything you could want for breakfast. We were invited to cheese and wine tasting at the hotel and chocolates were left in our bedroom on each evening!. The only critisism I could give this hotel (and this is purely a personal thing) the swimming pool is not very big in fact they would have been better to make it a jacuzzi / spa pool. On the whole, this hotel deserves the 5 stars it holds.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Swimming pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2007

This beautiful boutique hotel cannot be faulted in any way and can only be complimented as to its warmth, charm and character.
The service from the extremely professional and friendly staff was exemplary.
The décor and size of the rooms was way above other boutique hotels we have stayed at.
A 5 star superior hotel that has achieved its goal of perfection.

  • Liked — Its perfection
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JodieBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

This was the most disappointing hotel experience of my entire life. I took my family to Prague for a first visit and were terribly disappointed at our choice of hotels. When we suggested that the room offered was inadequate for our family, the rude and unconcerned staff (counting bills and coins on the reception desk in front of us) offered absolutely no assistance - NOT EVEN A BLANKET and we were forced to book a second, over-priced room. When we said we would not stay the second night, we were informed we would be charged nonetheless for the second night in contradiction of their online policies. After agreeing to stay as a result and in order to resolve the problems with the first room, we were forced into a larger, more expensive room (Royal Suite?) that did not have bedding for the pullout bed, did not have many of the promised amenities and was accompanied by concert-level partying in the adjoining rooms late into the evening. The Alchymist is a put-together fabrication with painted-on exterior that lacks the caring soul of a real hotel. Beware the gilded exterior.

  • Liked — to upset to appreciate anything about the hotel
  • Disliked — rude and unconcerned staff, feeling of being trapped and ripped off during the stay
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
20 Thank JJBDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2007
I would like to strictly react on the facts used in the review. Mr. XY arrived with confirmed reservation for two adults without giving a prior notice about taking his two children with them. This of course affects reservation conditions:
Room type/price/availability
At the check in our front desk staff informed Mr. XY that his reservation is only for two adults for a deluxe room where even if we could do miracles, we cannot add two extra beds in this type of room.
Reservation Manager came down to offer alternatives which were not many. Hotel was on 99% occupancy that day.

Fortunatelly we had one deluxe room cancelled the same day and we offered that for the first night at the same price of the reserved room.

For next day we had only Royal Suite available which we offered at very special price of 80 EUR supplement, this suite costs 600 EUR. Mr. XY got it for a price of 270EUR.
I am very sad to hear that we RIPPED OFF Mr. XY because this was not the case in any shape or form. We tried to solve the situation in the best way for customer satisfaction and upon availability of the hotel. The comment about NO asisstance from Reception is not corressponding with the situation where Reservation Manager, Receptionists, Housekeeping Manager and Maids were running up and down in a full hotel to find the arrangements for this unexpected matter. Thank you for understanding, Veronika Choteborska- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We just came home from a trip to Europe which concluded with a five night stay at the Alchymist. We usually stay at hotels like Claridges in London, the Splendido or San Pietro in Italy, etc., so we had very high expectations for the Alchymist. We selected it over the Four Seasons and Mandarin Oriental in Prague because it seemed to offer the same level of comfort but with local charm and a small hotel environment based on an article in a travel magazine and the almost unanimously positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We saw it as a bit of a risk compared to the sure thing of the Four Seasons or Mandarin Oriental, but that risk paid off in spades. We had just come from the Adlon Kempinski in Berlin, which had gotten such compelling reviews, and while it was comfortable and fine, the Alchymist blew it away. The rooms were very comfortable, the staff very friendly, and the decor of a piece with old Europe. As my wife said, she would never decorate our home in that style, but it was wonderful to stay amongst such decoration, as it was indeed 'over the top' but done with style, taste, and elegance. The location is perfect, close to everything but not in the heart of the tourist crush, which was a blessing, especially in August. The spa is a nice amenity, although it is not yet run as smoothly as the rest of the hotel. Having stayed there now, I am somewhat shocked that hotel does not have more prominence in the guide books since now that I have seen all of the high end hotels in town the Alchymist is clearly one of the top three hotels in town, and on a par with the Four Seasons and Mandarin Oriental (which are nice, but why would you want to stay in a hotel that could as easily be in San Francisco as Europe when you are inside when there is such a high class local alternative with such flair?).
United States

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank GreaterExpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

We travelled as a family to Prague for a 5 night stay. We had arranged an airport pick-up through the hotel. From the moment we were picked up we felt very special. The hotel is amazing, extremely spacious, welcoming and so close to everything you would want to see in Prague.
Travelling with two teenage children the free internet connection was a real bonus - they were able to check in with their friends on a daily basis!!
The rooms are very well appointed and extremely comfortable.
Breakfast was extremely good with a wide choice each morning.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
The children made use of the pool and my husband had a thai massage, both of which were extremely good.
The wine and cheese tasting is a very nice touch as well.

  • Liked — The fact that it was OTT!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SablesWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 649 in Prague
1,734 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,585 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#13 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing