We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchantment in Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Albertson, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enchantment in Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We spent three days in Prague at the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa and were very happy with our experience. The hotel is on a quiet street, but the location is excellent; it is close to the Prague Castle and the Charles Bridge. The breakfast was fantastic, the staff was attentive to our needs, and the afternoon wine and cheese was a nice way to unwind before going out to dinner. The baroque setting and the professional staff added to the experience. A special thanks to Martin, the concierge, who was very patient with our questions and helpful, too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EEscobar_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,504
    147
    29
    18
    3
See reviews for
194
1,069
72
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Alchymist is a true five star hotel. My wife and I recently spent two nights in Prague where we upgraded to a Junior Suite at the Alchymist (24-26 July 2014). The room was elegent and immaculate. The staff was superb and the location of the hotel is ideal. Situated at the base of the castle, the hotel is a short walk from most attractions. At night, we took a very affordable cab to our restaurant on the other side of the river; since it was July, it was still quite warm at sunset and my wife likes to wear heels at night (not great on cobble stone). The hotel also features a pool, sauna, and steam room which was ideal after long walks through the city. The last bonus feature that we loved was the complementary wine bar at 5:00 pm every evening. We made a point to finish sightseeing each day to leave us time to Spa and get dressed for the wine and cheese.

We will certianly look to stay at this hotel again during our next trip to Prague.

Room Tip: While surrounded by attractiions, the hotel is on the same block as several embassies and therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelF1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa is close to everything you want to see but quiet and set back away from the large tourist hotels. The staff was incredibly warm and genuinely friendly and helpful. As in any conversion of an older structure the 40+ rooms and jr. suites each have their unique flavor and decoration. We stayed in a junior suite with a balcony looking over a green courtyard. Our bedroom was on a level lower than our sitting area, convenient for different schedules and the occasional work requirements. The bathroom was well appointed and spacious for a conversion. Not withstanding the small number of rooms, the hotel has well designed amenities. The breakfasts included local produce and cheeses as well as a complete selection. The restaurant food for room services and meals were delicious and there is a charming courtyard where lighter fare is served most of the day. A delightful hotel and wonderful staff in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKNYC12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had booked for a minibreak in Prague and wanted to treat ourselves. We stayed in Junior suite and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome and cared for - the service was exceptional and the room itself and the hotel environment were fabulous. This was exactly what one would ask for in a boutique hotel - personalised spaces, individual service and a fantastic, central location near the Charles Bridge and the Castle. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We booked the Junior Suite, which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelybecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

A very quiet location, just a couple of steps away from the castle and the Charles bridge -which is a real relief during high season! The service is just perfect, the room scrupulously clean with a baroque decoration that fits just well with Prague. I definitly recommend it!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nenelle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
503 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Loved this Hotel from the start with the charming reception area and staff. The staff had organised my prior requests. The decor is lavish, oozes with style, with emphasis on comfort with mirrors in abundance. The complimentary wine and cheese tasting each night was very generous. However, it would have been good to have some information about both the wines and cheese. the bedroom had a small (for a couple) but comfortable bed and other details such as quality coat hangers.But oh dear! oh dear! forget the image of luxuriating in white fluffy towels...I thought that it was insulting to be provided with almost threadbare robe and towels. Room service was of a high quality, I can recommend the traditional duck dish. The Spa was in the historic cellar, a very nice facility, however the towels were also old. the Spa staff seemed to stay in their little office and expected guests to "find" them. I wanted to have lunch and also to operate the spa, on both occassions I had to find the staff who were deep in personal conversation...not attentive enough. The location is fantastic - next door to the American and Irish Embassies!

Room Tip: your own terrace (well shared with one other room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grimrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

My Fiance and i stayed at this gorgeous hotel 2 weeks ago on our first visit to Prague. We came for 3 nights and enjoyed our visit very much. The hotel is very well located in the Mala Strana side of town, a short walk from the beautiful castle, the Charles bridge and other touristic sites. each room in the hotel is a bit different, with beautiful antique furniture and a tasteful design. the hotel is quite, with a charming spa in its basement level, a small and refreshing swimming pool and convenient showers and locker rooms. The Restaurant is gorgeous and the food is very good - though pricey - and they even make their own chocolate pralines, which they offer after dinner or on the beds with their turn down service. The breakfast buffet is rich and varied and the service at the hotel is superb! everyone was very nice and helpful and we felt welcome. i would recommend this place to anyone wanting to enjoy prague from the comfort and beauty of a great boutique hotel, to me it really made a difference!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 1st floor and it was quiet and lovely. 3rd floor rooms might have a reclining ceil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrCarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#13 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing