We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“a beautiful property in a quiet, safe location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 668 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“a beautiful property in a quiet, safe location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband, teen granddaughter and I stayed at the Alchymist Grand Hotel for 3 nights recently. We were impressed by everything, the location, the actual building, the hotel's publc rooms, guest rooms, and mainly the courteous attention we received from all the staff. The buffet breasfast, which is part of the price of the room charge, includes almost anything one would want from yougart to eggs and meats. Between five and six pm, there is a complimentary wine and cheese tasting in one of the pretty lounge areas, very enjoyable and popular. We ate at the hotel restaurant on the first night, The food, service, and atmosphere were all great and I would recommend it. There were a few Czech selections on the menu as well as the usual international choices. Two of us got the Czech specialities and were happy with the choices. In the guest rooms there were complimentary bottles of water. Every staff member we met was friendly and helpful, and all spoke very good English so we didn't have to struggle with our Czech phrase books and Iphone translator. We had a memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lindylouVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,418
    139
    28
    18
    3
See reviews for
177
1,017
68
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our college daughters over the summer. The staff was superb and couldn't have been more helpful. The concierge even contacted the airport in Barcelona and found my daughter's computer which she had forgotten at the security checkpoint. Their recommendations of restaurants and tours were perfect for us. They truly worked to make sure that our stay was enjoyable. I can't say anything negative about their service. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

LOVED our stay at the Alchymist. Beautiful, historic property on the quiet side of the river and away from the tourist beat. I loved staying there and appreciated the top notch service and warm welcome. Giant loaner umbrellas came in handy! The breakfast buffet was awesome. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Averycre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiburon
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

three blocks from the St Charles bridge that goes into "historic" area. Across the street from US Embassy, so very heavy security if you are in a car. 4 long blocks to the real Palace on top of the hill. The room was huge. The Staff excellent. Spent 3 days there and visited the Christmas markets daily. Really hopping place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edwardTiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a gorgeous boutique hotel with flowers, fountains, a quiet courtyard, lush sitting rooms, gothic ceilings and a very quiet, relaxed ambience.Completely quiet. The location near the palace, cathedral, Charles bridge, and other sites is perfect. The rooms (and bathrooms) are plush and pampering. Their daily complimentary wine and cheese are delicious.First class all the way. But the special feature is indeed the incredible level of service and consideration given to the guests. The staff are professional and able to accommodate your every request, yet warm, kind, friendly, smiling, and relentlessly cheerful. These are just nice people! Our every whim was smoothly and seamlessly met. They took care of everything. During my previous trips to Prague I stayed at the Four Seasons hotel, for which I have nothing but praise, but in future trips I am staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loren55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in September 2013, the hotel is located on a quiet street near the US Embassy. Absolutely fascinating conversion of a large mansion into a luxury hotel. The service here is every bit of 5 stars, from the moment you arrive at the property you are swarmed by staff looking to attend to your every need. The rooms are excellent, spacious, and very well appointed. The hotel serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner in its very good in house restaurant. They even have an in house bar where they will treat you to a cigar and a nightcap until 2 in the morning. The property is walking distance to all major sites of Prague and close to many excellent cafes and restaurants. An absolutely tremendous experience that anyone would certainly enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel so you aren't disturbed in the morning by the the traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saiklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem in the heart of Prague. Great location,fantastic attention to detail and amazing service. Each part of this boutique hotel has a unique charm. The staff is beyond helpful.the rooms are immaculate and well appointed. The hotel is quiet and has an intimate feeling. The food was superb. I would recommend this hotel very highly. The front courtyard has the feeling of an Italian villa. It's a great spot for drinks and is very relaxing. You are within walking distance of all the old city attractions ad it's set back away from the street which makes it a very quiet location in the center of all the fun.

Room Tip: Room 107 is at the end of a hall with a courtyard outside. Very quiet and elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel
Aria Hotel
#8 of 668 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,541 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#2 of 668 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 668 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 2,598 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#14 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing