We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but not easy for larger groups”
Review of Smetana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Smetana Hotel
Ranked #92 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in early May with 40 person group... This is an excellent hoel in great location.. however not good for larger groups as bus cannot come very close to hotel.. and in the middle of the night we had to rent several taxis to bring us to the hotel.. plus pay 100E for the hotel to hire a minivan to transfer all our luggage... The hotel is beautiful the staff is very kind and helpful.. breakfast is very good... dinner was ok.. had a run in with one of the waiters who was extremely rude/.... negative is that there is no real lobby or drink bar to sit and relax with friends in the late evening. Highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling alone or as small family.. rooms are very large and fabulous... groups.. stay away as there are easier options in Prague.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marko1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PragueLucie, Generální ředitel at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Chicago,

Dear Valued Guest from Baltimore,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your recent Prague visit.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the entire team of Pachtuv Palace. I will discuss your issue with the waiter toghether with the restaurant manager and seek for an immediate improvement. It would be really helpful if you could get in touch with me and give me more details about it.

I will be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace soon

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed in this gem for four nights and could not have been happier. The location is ideal--walking distance to all sites and scenically located next to the picturesque river. Our room was lovely--good size, extremely comfortable four poster king bed, large windows that open!, table and two chairs for coffee/espresso, which by the way is in the room and is DELICIOUS. A historic building, it is charming and has a boutique hotel feel. Lovely bathroom as well. Breakfast was delicious and reasonable (we ordered a la carte). Here's a big plus--the concierge staff was fantastic. We asked them for help with dinner reservations, train schedules, taxis. They were especially helpful in helping us figure out how to get to Konopiste--about an hour by train outside the city, plus a 1.5 mile walk (thank you to Thomasz--spelling?). Everyone staffing the concierge desks were helpful. You are greeted with a glass of champagne when you arrive and from there, everything continued to be perfect!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Baltimore,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your recent Prague visit.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the entire team of Pachtuv Palace.

I will be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace soon

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed in this beautiful hotel in April this year. The location is perfect. Just by the bank of Vlatava close to Charles Bridge. It was our first time at the hotel. It used to be a mansion for an aristocrat and Mozart stayed there when he was in Prague. The rooms a sumptuous with a very comfortable four posted bed and a closet of kitchenette. The size is huge, even for a double room. We were lucky to have a room facing the river. We were treated with the most amazing sunset every evening. Just breathtaking. The staff couldn't be more helpful and the hotel restaurant is good. Will definitely go back there whenever I'm in Prague. Oh, and the price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms 401 or 301. Lovely view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anab85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Valued Guest from London,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your recent Prague visit.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the entire team of Pachtuv Palace.

I will be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace soon

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Spent four nights in this lovely hotel in Prague. From the moment we were welcomed with a glass of bubbly until we departed we were happy here. The accommodations exceeded our expectations for a hotel in Europe. We took took a junior suite with a river view. The bedroom was large and comfortable. The living room area was huge! The bathroom was clean and modern. The place has the feeling of 'Old World' elegance with modern convenience. Unlike previous experiences in Eastern Europe the air conditioner worked as programmed, not preset (too warm) by the hotel. It was very quiet with no traffic noise.
The location couldn't be better. Centrally located near the Charles bridge we were in walking distance of all the tourists sites and restaurants.
The hotel restaurant was very good. You have to pay for breakfast but we found their "American" or "British" breakfasts quite complete and reasonably priced so we didn't search for alternatives elsewhere. We also had one of our dinners here and it was also very good.
The truly exceptional thing about this hotel was the staff. They were extremely helpful to us. Our concierge Pavla was absolutely delightful. She recommended excellent restaurants and made reservations, she booked tours and concerts and was always available to give directions and advice.
My wife and I are seasoned travellers and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank kelsymontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Montreal,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your recent Prague visit.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the entire team of Pachtuv Palace.

I will be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace soon

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

It is a nice 3 star hotel, nothing more than that! The concierge/s and the rest of the staff couldn't be less helpful!! Anything you ask from them they make you feel they are making you the biggest favor!! In order to get to your room you have to go through a restaurant that is always having events so you have to get through a bunch of people! We asked the concierge if she could suggest to us a Spanish restaurant and she said, "yes, there is a good one crossing the Charles Bridge that I don't know the name but is there" no attempt whatsoever to give us directions or find out the name and, do you know how many restaurants are on the other side of the bridge? Hundreds!!! We walked around unsuccessfully for more than an hour!! The room was big but frugal! Don't go there if you are looking for a good, nice five star hotel because you are not going to find that. The only good things about it: location and internet, but for the price you are going to pay there you can get a much better deal anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PragueLucie, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Pachtuv Palace Hotel as your Prague destination stay.

We very much appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback with us, thus making a contribution to our on-going effort to improve the services of our hotel. In this respect all comments from our guests are helpful and valuable for us.

We were very sorry to learn that some aspects of the quality of the hotel did not meet the usual standards of Pachtuv Palace.

The team of Pachtuv Palace will do its best to improve on the quality in the future. We are sorry that we could not satisfy all your expectations this time and very much hope that we will have the opportunity to provide you with better service during your next stay.

We shall be very pleased to welcome you to the Hotel Pachtuv Palace again.

Yours sincerely,
Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed in a deluxe room. The room was really big, even came with a four poster bed and coffee machine! Number of English TV channels are limited for a 5 star hotel. Location is great, really closed to Charles bridge and Old town square. Something funny happened, One of the combination locks on our luggages was changed after the room was cleaned. My husband managed to guess the new combo. It was very odd consider the lock wasn't new and we had never accidentally changed the combo. Nothing was missing from our bags though.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dorami-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Australia,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your recent Prague visit.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the entire team of Pachtuv Palace. I am little confused about the situation with the locks on your luggage, if you wish to discuss this incident further, please contact me directly.

I will be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace soon

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed there two weeks ago. The hotels location could not be better, a few short blocks from the Charles Bridge and the river. Even though the building is older, it is furnished nicely with traditional furniture, not the typical euro-modern stuff. Well not entirely true, the bathrooms were very modern with all the latest stuff and well done. The WC is in a separate small room, nice.

The staff was just outstanding. One of our travelers in the group developed a health issue and the staff on a Saturday called all the hospitals in the area to find a walker for purchase. In additional, they sent a bellman to buy it . . . A true miracle for my friend and our group.

The staff in general was very friendly and most welcoming.

No doubt, I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BVI_my_favorite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest from California,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your recent Prague visit.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the entire team of Pachtuv Palace.

I will be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace soon

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 646 in Prague
1,242 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#37 of 646 in Prague
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#88 of 646 in Prague
3,315 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 646 in Prague
2,435 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smetana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smetana Hotel

Address: Karoliny Svetle 34, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Pachtuv Palace)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#59 Family Hotel in Prague
#81 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $148 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Smetana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smetana Hotel (formerly Pachtuv Palace) is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smetana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing