We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class; excellent service & location”
Review of Smetana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Smetana Hotel
Ranked #93 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Our visit here was outstanding. Our flight from the United States arrived early in the morning at 9:00am but they were aware of the early flight and allowed us to check-in this early which we've never been able to do on a trip to Europe. This got the trip off to a great start and the room was then outstanding. We had a high-ceiling, large room with kitchen and sitting room with huge tub. This was the largest room we've ever had in Europe and we've stayed in nearly a dozen hotels. They cleaned the rooms wonderfully, had bath robs and slippers, and the location was ideal. Easy walk to everywhere and beside the hotel was a great restaurant called Schoolhouse. Overall, five star spot.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank cipock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Valued Guest from San Antonio,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your recent Prague visit.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the entire team of Pachtuv Palace.

I will be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace soon

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Long weekend for my wife and I without our three year old daughter. Decided to splash out a little more than normal so went for this hotel. So glad we did. Have room 207 which has views across the river, Charles Bridge and Prague castle. Massive room, two bathrooms and mini kitchen hidden in a wardrobe. Was only disappointed that the dinner cruise promoted by the hotel in their evening letter they put on the bed each night was not actually available this time of year.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank martint9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your recent Prague visit.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the entire team of Pachtuv Palace. I am sorry about your dissapointment with the dinner cruise but I would like to inform you that the issue was on the site of the provider who cancelled the cruise unexpectedly without informing us. On the other hand, I am happy that this little incident didnt ruin your stay and I saw you leave our hotel happy with the overal stay.

I will be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace soon

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel is located less than 2 blocks from Charles Bridge, and only four from Old Town Square. The staff speaks fluent English, and provides phenomenal service. The wifi was fast and had a strong signal, and the bed was very comfortable. My only complaint was the parking at check-in, but thankfully the valet takes your car to a secure garage about 10 minutes away from the hotel so you don't have to worry about it getting bumped into on the curb. Beautiful view of Charles bridge and the Palace from the room, make sure to ask for the river view when you make your reservation. It also has a lovely courtyard if you don't want the river view.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, Charles bridge is lovely at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ooklish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Seoul,


I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for having choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your stay in Prague.

We very appreciate that you shared your experience with other travellers among the Tripadvisor community.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be happy to share your comments with the team members.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again.

Lucie Dagan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel located just next to the Vltava river at oldtown. very close to Charles Bridge. Trams 18, 22 towards Praha castle are passing by.
Rooms are spacious and cost reasonable for their quality.
The only thing I disappointed about is sevice and attitude of employees. They are not very helpful.

Ah. There were two rooms, one of them was too cold to sleep well after long journey with lots of tiredness.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank mskhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for having choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your stay in Prague.

We very appreciate that you shared your experience with other travellers among the Tripadvisor community.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your overal stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I was very concerned while reading your comment about our service and the unhelpful staff. I will definitely appreciate if you share more information about this issue so I can take the necessary measurements. You can contact me at my email ldagan at mamaison.com I will be looking forward to hear from you.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again.

Lucie Dagan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is the first time I visited the beautiful city and on top of that, i had a great stay in this city too. The location of the hotel is perfect. Minutes away to Charles bridge and train station. The hotel staffs were friendly and helpful. Even serve champagne when we checked in. Wifi is very strong, room is clean and tidy. In the evening, the chamber maid will come into the room and make the bed for us to tuck in. The hotel have comfortable bed too. Is highly recommended hotel in Prague.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsf_tan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Singapore

I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your stay in Prague.

We very appreciate that you shared your experience with other travellers among the Tripadvisor community.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again.

Lucie Dagan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is our 2nd visit since we were married there in 2011 and it gets better. This time we returned with our 3 teenage sons and the staff there upgraded all our rooms with magnificent views and a 2 bedroom suite for the boys fit for royalty. Thank you Pachtuv Palace for all your attention to detail and for the beautiful upgraded rooms. It was my birthday whilst there and a card and bottle of champagne were waiting for us on arrival with a bowl of fruit for the boys room. Location is just perfect and helped us in particular as our youngest son sprained his ankle within an hour of arriving and was struggling to walk great distances-thank you again for the care here and bandages etc.
Our all time favourite hotel-we will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but obviously the ones with views of Charles Bridge are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Mrs. Jo,

I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your stay in Prague. We feel honored you decided to celebrate such a special occasion as your Birthday with us.

We very appreciate that you shared your experience with other travellers among the Tripadvisor community.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again.

Lucie Dagan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have just returned from a truly wonderful 3 night break staying at the Pachtuv Palace in Prague. This was a a really special trip for my and my mother and made extra special with a free upgrade to a stunning waterfront suite. The staff were lovely, the hotel perfectly situated close to the old town and just by Charles Bridge. The hotel organised a trip to the opera with was amazing and were on hand to assist in every possible way. A massive thank you to all the staff, we hope to return one day!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with a waterside and castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooseandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Cranbrook,

I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for having choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your stay in Prague.

We very appreciate that you shared your experience with other travellers among the Tripadvisor community.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you and your mom enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again.

Regards from sunny Prague,

Lucie Dagan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#44 of 646 in Prague
1,220 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#34 of 646 in Prague
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
InterContinental Prague
InterContinental Prague
#98 of 646 in Prague
2,755 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#97 of 646 in Prague
3,384 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 646 in Prague
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smetana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smetana Hotel

Address: Karoliny Svetle 34, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Pachtuv Palace)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#59 Family Hotel in Prague
#82 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $175 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Smetana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smetana Hotel (formerly Pachtuv Palace) is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Smetana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing