We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of Smetana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Smetana Hotel
Ranked #83 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here in November for 3 nights whilst in Prague. We were greeted by friendly staff and offered either water or a glass of bubbles whilst we checked in.

The hotel is very individual and the room was great, very spacious and with lots of character. The 4 poster bed very comfortable and a nespresso type coffee machine is a nice touch.

Considering how close the hotel is to the Charles Bridge and the very large nightclub there the room was always quiet. The staff were also kind enough to advise on places to eat and they even booked a table for us.

If you do stay at the hotel just along the road is the Hemingway Bar which has a great atmosphere and does many cocktails....its advisable to book though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DynamicAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Valued Guest from London,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace as your Prague destination stay.

We very appreciate that you shared your review regarding your recent stay with other travellers and also making a contribution to our ongoing effort to improve the services of our hotel.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the team of Pachtuv Palace.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again,

With warm regards,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,465)
There are newer reviews for Smetana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

Thank you Pachtuv Palace for a most lovely stay! We'd booked a junior suite and were upgraded to an executive which was stunning; complete with kitchen and extra loo. Staff were ultra friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived until departure, and even included a foody apology from our waitress for a little delay bringing our breakfast- she brought us fresh fruit pancakes with heavenly ice cream. The location was great, with two central courtyards that were beautifully lit to emphasise the different sculptures as night fell. We will definitely be coming back to Prague in the spring, and the Pachtuv Palace will be our first choice for staying.

Room Tip: We were a little cold on our first night until we discovered the big faux fur throw next to the bed...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenRowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Helen from Widnes,

I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for having chosen the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace as your Prague destination stay.

We very appreciate that you shared your review regarding your recent stay with other travellers and also making a contribution to our ongoing effort to improve the services of our hotel.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially your upgraded room, our team members and our location, and you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the team of Pachtuv Palace. This will in turn inspire all of us to seek to improve on quality and to continue to provide excellent service to our guests in the future.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again,

Sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the airport to be met by our very smart driver who was there waiting for us everything was just perfect. He called ahead to say that we were on our way so that check-in was all ready and prepared, the service at front desk was friendly and efficient, and our room - Wow! We had booked the Executive Suite with the Fresco ceiling (room 102) as it was our Anniversary, and we were expecting something special but the room really blew us away. Really large suite (three separate rooms), amazing decor, beautiful bathroom, supremely comfortable bed (we thought that the bed was a little firm at first but after two gorgeous nights sleep we changed our minds - really comfortable! This room is in the old part of the hotel towards the back so no view, but for me this didn't matter, an amazing room, tremendous service as good as any hotel in the world, great location right in the centre close to Charles Bridge, and an unforgettable Anniversary.

Room Tip: The two Executive Suites are really special; one has an amazing Frescoed ceiling (102), and I believ...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Mark from London,

I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for having chosen the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace as your Prague destination stay. We are very honoured you chose our hotel for such a special occasion of yours as the wedding anniversary.

We very appreciate that you shared your review regarding your recent stay with other travellers and also making a contribution to our ongoing effort to improve the services of our hotel.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our transfer service, your room, the overall service and our location, and you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the team of Pachtuv Palace.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again,

Sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed for four nights in December and loved this hotel. It was walking distance to all the main attractions, located on the river near the Charles bridge. We received an upgrade and had one of the executive suites, it was the size of an apartment. Separate living/kitchen/dining, 1.5 bathrooms and a big bedroom. The room was clean, had all amenities and free wifi. Staff were helpful, check in/out was easy. Would stay here again, we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pial255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest from Melbourne,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at Pachtuv Palace with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially the location, your room and and our reception staff.

We very much appreciate your recommendations and trully hope we will have the chance to welcome you back at Pachtuv Palace soon.

Sincerely,
Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed here only one night unfortunately. We had arrived after a long international flight and the hotel was very gracious! They poured us a beverage upon arrival, took our luggage and asked us to have a seat while they checked us in to this lovely hotel. The rooms were large and the bathrooms were really nicely re done. I took a bath and it was huge! All amenities were available with views of the river from two huge French windows. The patio and courtyard looked great although it was a bit cold for us to enjoy them. Walking distance to everything really. The castle is farther but if you have the time and energy its walkable too. School restaurant is nearby if you have an early flight and want to catch breakfast before take off. They have a really nice driver/car service to and from the airport that is pretty comparable to a taxi or another private service. Overall it was a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest from Seattle,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at Pachtuv Palace with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our check-in, the room and the location. I will make sure to pass your positive feedback onto the team.

We trully hope to have the chance to welcome you back at Pachtuv Palace soon.
Sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We come to Prague every Christmas and this year was our 8th year. This is the first time we have stayed at Pachtuv Palace and it was wonderful. It was our 46th Wedding Anniversary and we were upgraded to a suite with four poster bed which had all been decorated with rose petals and we got a bottle of champagne and canapes on arrival. We had views over the Vltava River and Prague Castle. The suite was very comfortable with all amenities including a mini kitchen with hot plate. The staff were so friendly and could not do enough for us. We also used the hotel car for pick up to and from the airport which was great. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is just off Charles Bridge and about a five minute walk to the Old Town Square. We will definitely use this hotel next year when we return to Prague for our 47th Anniversary.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoppy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guests from Scotland,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for reviewing our hotel here on the Tripadvisor and also choosing Mamaison Pachtuv Palace for such a special occasion of yours as 47th wedding anniversary! We feel very honored to be part of your special moments.

We are happy that our hotel met your expectations and you were especially happy with the room, our anniversary treatment and our staff members. I will definitely share your compliments with the team.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back for your 48th!

With warm regards from Prague,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The room features a king size, 4-post canopy bed with a spacious bathroom and amazing views of the Charles Bridge and the castle. The location is steps from the Charles Bridge and within an easy walk to the main sites of Old Town Prague. We ate an amazing dinner a block away at School with the recommendation of the conceirge at the hotel. The staff was very helpful throughout our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel and would return on a future trip to Prague.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "view" room (409) and were glad to have such a stunning view of the Charles...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Brandon from Colorado,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at Pachtuv Palace with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially your room and its views of the Charles Bridge, the location and our concierge suggestions and overall service provided by the reception staff.

We very much appreciate your recommendations and trully hope we will have the chance to welcome you back at Pachtuv Palace soon.

With kind regards from Prague,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 647 in Prague
1,145 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smetana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smetana Hotel

Address: Smetanovo nabr. 20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Pachtuv Palace)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#73 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#82 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $221 - $645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Smetana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smetana Hotel (formerly Pachtuv Palace) is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smetana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing