We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose something else!!”
Review of Pension Tara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pension Tara
Ranked #179 of 660 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Varese, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Choose something else!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

the rooms are not those showed in the pictures. they are ugly old rooms, with wore out bed linen and towels. internet is included but it never worked in 4 days of stay. I have slept in dorm-beds in hostels that were nicer. Location is ok but u can find better places in Prague for this price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    39
    29
    13
    14
See reviews for
14
24
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We organized a trip with 20 people to Prague and this was our stay for 4 days. Since we were young and broke, we chose this pension as it was recommended to us. We were given two 4-bed rooms and two 6-bed rooms.

The accommodation is VERY basic, but at a great price (we paid approximately 80eur for 3 nights). Really, don't expect too much for that price! While the rooms themselves weren't the cleanest places, the beds were fine. There is a fridge, a kettle and a private bathroom in each room.

The location is great and since we only used the rooms to sleep and shower, it was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had a lot of problems there. First night, no hot water, second night, no electricity for us. Third night, no hot water again. When we wanted complain about that, nobody was on the front desk any night. Bathroom was very dirty. It needs ASAP a make over, the whole building. Very bad service aswell. The only good point was the location, but i wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chongomongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

At first, we had been SERIOUSLY put off this place when looking at reviews on here, but we'd booked anyway and prepared ourselves for the worst...

We stayed here for 3 nights and LOVED the place! Sure, it wasn't the cleanest place in the world, (few stains on carpet etc) but that didn't bother us. Sheets, towels, cutlery, plates etc were all clean.

Staff were great, we originally booked 2 separate rooms for 6 of us, and we asked if we could swap and stay together as a group and they arranged that for us. Our room was MASSIVE! it had a en suite bathroom and shower, a hallway with a kitchenette, a main room with 2 single beds, a room off this with 3 single beds, and another room off the main room with a double bed. We had plenty of space and this makes such a difference when there's a big group of you.

We weren't bothered by the staff once like we had been in other places on our trip. We had freedom, and we could smoke in the rooms which was a plus for us.

They provide you with a kettle and some other basic cooking equipment.

The place was really cheap, and the own the restaurant next door and gave us a discount on food and alcohol upon arrival (although the restaurant is slightly expensive for our budget backpacker taste - however, it was good food and we appreciated the discount).

unexpectedly, this was one of my favourite hostels on my european travels!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

My family and me went to Prage for vacation and took this place. This Pencion is the best. Good location and very good price.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rodboricua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I have been to this hostel 3 different times visiting prague. The reason why I choose this hostel is simply because of the price and location. The standard is not good, but if you only are looking for some place to sleep and take a fast shower its good enough.

The staff is friendly, as well as helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StigD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Golden Age
Prague Golden Age
#283 of 649 in Prague
171 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#177 of 649 in Prague
537 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
At the Old Lady (U stare pani)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#277 of 649 in Prague
200 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension Corto
Pension Corto
#52 of 361 in Prague
146 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#79 of 660 in Prague
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Tara

Property: Pension Tara
Address: Havelska 505/15, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 660 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Tara 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pension Tara is situated in downtown Prague, just two minutes from the old square with magnificent views. The pension Tara offers many tourism services for a very affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Pension Tara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Tara Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing