We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is 100%”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Tara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pension Tara
Ranked #160 of 663 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location is 100%”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

I have been to this hostel 3 different times visiting prague. The reason why I choose this hostel is simply because of the price and location. The standard is not good, but if you only are looking for some place to sleep and take a fast shower its good enough.

The staff is friendly, as well as helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StigD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    37
    26
    12
    14
See reviews for
13
22
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Usak, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Before I visited the Czech Rep., I searched a lot about the places both cheap and comfy. It was the high season so I thought I was a bit late for this. I had a reply that Tara had vacancy for 3 (a single room and a double room) and I paid immediately. As I checked from their internet site, it seemed alright to me. When we reached Prague, we found the street where Tara located but it took so long to find the reception. The receptionist was a kind woman who explained me that they did not have room for a single person until the next day and we had to stay in the same room with my other collegues even if I didn't wanted to. The price is fair and the location is excellent for sure. Also, the price did not include breakfast or any other meal or any other drink. You have to climb so many stairs to reach the rooms so my advice is don't take heavy bags with you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hookahpipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in this hostel. We had to walk up 4 flights of stairs to the very top of the hostel for an attic room. Some of the lightbulbs didn't work and the shower door couldn't close but they were the only problems we had. We had a great stay in the very centre of everywhere we needed to go to. There was some level of noise at night but it was nothing that could be helped. It was only because the window was open and it was too warm not to have the window open.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScealtaSaoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

Great location and a cheap price.

However I found the room I was in to be very shabby - the rooms could do with some real updating and refurbishment. Scrappy bits of carpet, sheets didn't quite fit the beds. I was allocated a room overlooking the market below - due to the temperature and lack of air conditioning in the room we had to keep the windows open which meant it got noisy around 6am when the market started being set up. Also not the easiest place to find either as it is hidden behind a cafe/restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

Hi
Just few words about Pension Tara;
- horrible
- smelly
- no character
We usually travel on a budget and choose budget accommodation but that was not a very enjoyable experience. The room we have stayed in was very old with manky old pillows and stinky carpet; not at all as shown on the pictures on the website. maybe we've been unlucky and got the worst room in the hostel but I wouldn't risk it if I was you!
Coffe making facilities with no coffee!
The only good point was the location; Prague was beautiful!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

As others have noted, the stairs are daunting, the place is old, and there are some doors and lighting to navigate your way through. I stayed alone at a rate of 1,200 crowns, which I thought would be a reasonable price for a single in such a good locations. It was adequate at best, but compared to similar properties in Prague, the rate is pretty competitive for an en suite. I was not asked to pay up front; I was told I could pay at check-in, checkout or whenever. I paid the day before checking out, and dropped my keys in the mailbox since I was gone before the reception opens at 9 a.m. The staff was all very friendly and accomodating - no complaints at all there.

My "single" I assume becomes a double when there are two people staying there. There were two very-much single beds, which were quite old. A cheap table and two cheap chairs, which were too low for the table. A fridge (would have been appreciated if I needed it), couple of glasses, utensils, chunk of soap, bath towel and bath mat. The room was clean and the bathroom was perfectly presentable, tough the shower was tough to handle as the shower device is handheld with no wall-mount.

My room (43) was in the middle on the top floor, so there was minimal noise from outside or from the neighboring rooms. As there's no TV and no WiFi, I got to bed early and woke up early after a sound night's sleep. Since it's just a minute or two from the Old Town Square, I got to enjoy the gorgeous expanse before the throngs of Dolce-clad Italian schoolboys and packs of German retirees, etc., descended upon it starting at about 9 a.m.

Back to the Tara - I wouldn't recommend it as it is nothing special other than the age of the building and the good location. If you have a day or two in Prague, it's a good hub though as you can enjoy the city's central historical areas without having to use anything but your two feet.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TokyoTravelNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothwyn,PA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

I was in Czech Republic for business trip for 2 weeks. I had the first weekend off and went to Prague. Found this Pension, Hotel Tara. I would call it mom and pop hotel. There was a little side check-in room. Then they led me up the 2 flights of stairs and iron gates. Then I realized this not your typical "Holiday Inn". It was more of a converted apartment building. Half the rooms were for the hotel next door and seemed like there were tenants in the other rooms. I had a great ledge to look out over the street vendors. The room was basic no TV, two beds, 1 single and 1 double, on the floor. The blankets towels and chairs were minimal. I had a small fridge and table, coffee pot and radio. The bathroom was across the hall. It seemed like a movie set room from the 50's or 60’s," kid runs away to the city and finds the cheap motel. Writes the great novel and become famous. The location is unbeatable, 2 minutes from Wenceslas Square, 1 minute from Old Town Square and maybe 4 minutes to Charles Bridge. If you’re looking for 5 star service, no way. This room is for made for the person looking to explorer the City of Prague not in there room watching TV.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc_wats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Golden Age
Prague Golden Age
#298 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#82 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension Corto
Pension Corto
#54 of 370 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ritchie's Hostel
Ritchie's Hostel
#134 of 663 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension Karlova
Pension Karlova
#50 of 370 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel King George
Hotel King George
#61 of 370 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Tara

Property: Pension Tara
Address: Havelska 505/15, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 663 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Tara 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pension Tara is situated in downtown Prague, just two minutes from the old square with magnificent views. The pension Tara offers many tourism services for a very affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Tara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Tara Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing