We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, reasonably close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town
Ranked #262 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I have to agree with some of the other reviews of this hotel. The staff on reception were rather surely. However, the advice they gave was sound and their directions were spot on.
The hotel is situated within walking distance of most of the sites, and only a stone's throw from the nearest tram stop. The room we had was clean and perfectly adequate. It had a lovely view of the river.
There was a good selection of hot and cold food at breakfast.
We pre-booked our taxi transfer to and from the airport. I would recommend doing this as it was so convienent.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phewtorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion004, Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2010

dear customer,
I apprecite you are giving us your opinion. As you mentioned all the good things, I must say I am glad to hear that. As for our front desk people, I believe we have improved a many things and you have given us more strength to keep working on it by writting your comment. Thank you for that.
Kind regards
Miroslav Soucek
managing director
Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 685 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

1 Night in September 2010

Location 10-15min walk to the Metro station. Short 5-10min walk to the central square of the old town. Tram stops one street away on the major street.
Tea/Coffee and minibar facilities included
Breakfast was included, hot/cold/pastries.
Wifi only in public space on ground floor. Payable wifi in rooms. There is one included computer to use on the ground floor.
Overall a good hotel. Suppose to be 4 star has all the facilities though a little worn out. Location could be a little better, but it does the job very well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prozerran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion004, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2010

Dear customer,

I really appreciate your time spent telling us all your opinion on Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town. Let me thank you for your comment on our hotel and say there is just one misunderstandig in what you are writting. It is about the internet connection you have mentioned. There is a wi-fi connection in public areas of our hotel and it is free of charge. There also is cable (lan) connection in all rooms and for our guests it also is complimentary. So no payment is charged for this service.
Kind regards
Miroslav Soucek
managing director
Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Hotel is good, room is spacious and comfortable, beds are very good and comfortable though the double bed is actually combined of two singles. My wife says that walls need repaint. Location is fine, access by foot to the main attractions takes 10-20 minutes. Bus and trams aren't far and service is frequent, waiting less than 10 minutes. A single ticket is valid for 75 minutes and costs 26 CK, a daily ticket (24H) costs 100 CK. Our room had a balcony (not all rooms have one) which was quite useful during the nice evenings. Internet comes via an RJ45 cable. Suggest you bring your own cable, the cable in our room had a broken connector.
Breakfast is good, but area isn't very spacious and during peak time can't accommodate all the guests. Come early if you wish to secure your own table. Otherwise, you can join others and have a chat.
Front desk is in general helpful though we had two strange incidents: In the first we got completely wrong information about the route of Tram No. 8 and we almost missed our guided tour. In the second we asked about the route of Bus No. 133 which runs in the street just in front of the hotel. The answer we got simply puzzled me: How should I know? Do I need to know the routes of all the buses in Prague? Those two incidents were with males in the front desk. It must be said that experience with the ladies in the front desk was far better. My recommendation: Come informed to the hotel and don't rely too much on the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We chose this hotel as it was a special anniversary due to its location and that it was a relatively small hotel. We researched and booked this hotel through Expedia 6 months prior to our trip. We selected a superior room and booked our own transport to and from the airport. On arrival were given room 417 which in our opinion was not superior as it was basic and you could barely walk pass the end of the beds. We tried speaking to the receptionist whose attitude was dismissive and very unhelpful. We then experienced problems with the air con and again tried speaking with the same receptionist who thought being sarcastic was good customer care "what temperature do you want then". After the console being replaced the temperature in our tiny room still remained the same 24.5c which was not only very uncomfortable during the day but unbearable at night even with the windows open. Although the hotel's location was good for sightseeing, if we had not prepaid we would have found alternative accommodation around the corner which seemed more spacious and reasonable, than our supposed 4 star superior room. On our return we contacted Expedia and in a nutshell agreed with the Hotel stating our room was superior ,see pictures attached and judge for yourself., they look nothing like the rooms shown on the hotel website. Also they did not post our traveller's review about the hotel on their website, just the grades. We were offered £30 compensation and some vouchers for a future break but we will not be booking through Expedia again and they don't seemed bothered about that either . You make your own mind up.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Doghandler995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We have spent a weekend with my wife in the Clarion Old Town in order to celebrate our 10th wedding aniversary. The hotel is located just 5 minutes from the famous Old Town Square, but in a quiet street. The reception was a little bit unfriendly at the checkin, the room was OK, but the bed a little bit short -if I were 2 metres long, I would have problem with it. The view were very nice from the balcony, and we get a bottle of champagne and a fruit basket as a gift from our hotel for the anniversary - it was very-very kind. The high speed Internet which is free of charge was very useful.
The breakfast choice is OK, the minibar choice is bigger than I've ever seen. Altogether it is a nice city hotel, I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salesman973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Booked delta vacation 6 months in advance, paid in full 6 weeks before travel, called hotel direct one week ahead to confirm. On arrival at hotel our group of 10 were told, sorry-they were holding the rooms for a bigger group. Hotel Clarion in Prague were rude & obnoxious. Would not allow us to call Delta. Shifted us to a back alley hotel 20 minutes away. Finally called Delta to resolve this. We were told that Delta was willing to refund our hotel price, we were free to find our own hotel. In Prague, Czech Republic, most do not speak English.
Staff at the Hotel were very rude. They moved us to another very very poor quality hotel. Miseable experience
Delta's customer service in our case was miserable
Delta's star rating is very questionable, or they do not do their due diligence.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kindin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion004, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2010

Due to a reservation mistake we had to move the customer to an alternative hotel. The customer talked to Delta Travel in US (there is no office of Delta Travel in Czech Republic) directly from our hotel. The hotel the customer were relocated is Best Western Hotel Kampa- four star hotel in very center of Prague. We were contacted by Delta Travel next day again. We had called Kampa Hotel and left message to the customer to offer return to our hotel since the customer didn’t like the alternative hotel. The customer didn’t return the contact.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This is the third time I've stayed at this hotel. And overall I'm verry satisfied. Nice staff, nice clean rooms - and the perfect location. Just one little thing this time. We had booked a "smokers" room (about 4 months before our stay) - and we had payed about 1000 czk extra, to get a smokers room. But when we arrived, there was no smokers rooms available. At the frontdesk we were informed, that they would get an ashtray to us, and we were allowed to smoke. The ashtray never came, even if we mentinod it a few times at reception. When we checked out, we mentioned it again - but didn't get any refund. When I came home, I contacted Expedia, but they couldn't (or wouldn't) help me. I will probably stay at this hotel again - and will probably NOT book through Expedia.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Clarion Hotel Prague City
Clarion Hotel Prague City
#127 of 648 in Prague
617 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#141 of 648 in Prague
1,155 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Casa Marcello
Hotel Casa Marcello
#170 of 648 in Prague
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#75 of 648 in Prague
540 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Metropol Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town

Address: Hradebni 768/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#117 Business Hotel in Prague
#201 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#215 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $73 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Prague
Clarion Hotel Prague
Prague Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing