We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town
Ranked #226 of 672 Hotels in Prague
liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here from 15th Oct to 19th Oct 2012 (5 days). Room large with big bathroom, Clean towels and new toiletries daily.Requested extra pillows and they arrived minutes later (amazed). Problems with shower which was also repaired straight away. Staff on reception spoke good English and were friendly. Breakfast basic but adequate.
The location was a little off putting ---- it look us a good 20 mins to walk into city for the first 2 days. We then realised if you took the cobbled street way, it's reduced to about 10 mins.I advise good walking shoes or trainers as all roads and pavements are cobbled, HEELS A NO NO!!!
I suggest you request a non smoking room if you don't smoke......as our room had a slight stale ciggy smell. (that's the only negative comment I can make).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub T, Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear hotel guest,
on the behalf of all hotel team I would like to thank you for your stay at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town and for your review on our hotel services. Your review and comments are very important to us as guidance for the further possible improvement, therefore I would like to give you a personal gratitude in putting up our attention to these issues.
Sincerely
Jakub Trapek
hotel director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    285
    107
    36
    20
See reviews for
74
289
34
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hadleigh, Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is very poor value for money. The room was small. The cups and glasses were not changed or cleaned for 2 of the 3 days we stayed there. The kettle was contained some sort of soap which frothed up and almost filled it when we boiled water in it.

We arrived on a mild Friday afternoon in October, and were blown away by the heat as soon as we walked into to our third floor room which was described as "a Superior Double". The first thing we did was to open the windows wide to try and let some heat escape. I then looked at the "Heating Control Box" on the wall and read the clear and easy to understand instructions on how to (a) reduce/increase the room temperature and (b) how to increase or decrease the fan speed. I reduced the heat from 23 degrees to 16 and waited hopefully for the temperature to drop. Nothing happened. I tried again. Nothing happened. We phoned the front desk and were told they would adjust it. Nothing happened. We went down to the front desk and asked what could be done to reduce the temperature. "Open the window" we were told. "It is the heating season now, all heating centrally controlled"
My wife and I were drenched in sweat attempting to sleep. We opened the windows, but were kept awake by the continuous traffic noise on the cobbled streets, trams and police and ambulance sirens all night long. We asked next morning if we could be moved to another room. No, was the answer.
On Saturday and Sunday nights, we again got no sleep because of the heat and noise.
That was bad enough, but my experience in the bar when I went down to get the free WiFi access at 10.55pm and tried to buy a drink was "you can have a drink but you must take it to your room"!!!! The bar closes at 23.00. The only other residents seating in the Free WiFi area is a single 3 seat sofa in the lobby just inside the main entrance door which is opening and closing continuously as guests come and go. What century are these people operating in??
We paid £250 for a room for 3 nights. What a waste of money. The staff are unhelpful, bordering on rude. I suspect that they have been poorly trained and that the concept of being helpful in problem solving is totally alien in their work ethic. I will recommend to any of our network of family, friends and acquaintances to avoid this hotel like the plague.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sixties-Icon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub T, Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear hotel guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at your hotel. It is always beneficial to hear from our guests and receive their valuable feedback about our hotel. I certainly agree that the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel when you were a guest in our hotel does not represent the level of service we strive to provide. Our maintenance team should pay bigger attention to a malfunction of the thermostat in your room. Resolving of the issue took more time and we were unable to fix in during your stay. Please, accept our apology.
I appreciate your feedback regarding a housekeeping issue as well. I have discussed every issue in your letter with our head housekeeper. She will be addressing these matters with her staff and is committed to ensuring that these problems will not occur again. We hope you will consider this an isolated incident and that you will continue to stay at Clarion Hotels for quality accommodation and services in the future.
with kind regards
Jakub Trapek
hotel director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Put this hotel in Topeka, Kansas and it is your perfectly average Choice hotel property. It has everything you hope for in a hotel but isn't over the top in any way with the following exceptions. Location-ideally situated for anyone who is looking to see all of the major sights in Prague. Customer service, friendly staff throughout the hotel who made it a point to either make you feel welcomed or ensure you enjoyed your visit to this magnificent city. Continental breakfast-while others have complained it is crowded, there are overflow areas and though it wasn't an issue for us, I suspect if you grab a coffee and wait 5 minutes, you will find a seat.

Room Tip: There is a 24 hour convenience store on the same block as the hotel. Also, there is a supermarket...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaunr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub T, Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for highly recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and for taking the time to share your feedback. I sincerely appreciate your kind acknowledgement of our level of service, breakfasts and friendly colleagues. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring your next visit will be another fond experience.
Sincerely
Jakub Trapek
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here during a work conference and thought the standard of the hotel was excellent. After informing them in advance of my requirements they catered very well for a Gluten-free diet, bringing out a seperate plate each meal time and providing a wide range of gluten free snacks at the breaks. The front of house staff were friendly and didn't make me feel awkward about having special dietary requirements (it made me laugh when they brought out a HUGE plate of GF biscuits, sandwiches and fruit saying "Diet food"!). My room was spacious, clean and had super views out over the rooftops of Pague. It was well situated, close to the river and just a 5 minute walk from the centre of town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mairi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub T, Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for spending your valuable time and giving us feedback about your stay at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town. I am happy that you found our rooms and restaurant comfortable, our level of services superb and our staff very warm and professional. To offer any type of special diet meal is our standard. Thank you for recommending our Hotel to TripAdvisor.
We certainly look forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.
Yours sincerely
Jakub Trapek
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Frinedly restaurant staff, helpfull reception clerk, great location - all you can wish....5 minutes to the city centre, 5 minutes to shopping mall Paladeum..we will be back :-) next year! If I have to find any negatives: small pillows. Tutto ottimo!

Room Tip: Have a river view with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub T, Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town****. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate your kind acknowledgement of our staff and level of service. For your information reagrding the pillows, we allready agreed investition for the next year and we will replace all of them in completely different quality. Thank you for your positive rating. We certainly look very mich forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jakub Trapek
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaves, Portugal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you book ahead this hotel can be an excellent choice. First, the location is perfect. The Vltava River is a few meters away and the dock where the tour boats start and finish their voyages is five minutes on foot. There is a tram stop, Dlouha trida, five minutes away on foot and the Nemesti republiky metro stop for line B is five to ten minutes away in front of the Palladium shopping center, which is also convenient for shopping and eating. Walking slowly the Old Town Square is fifteen minutes away. The hotel is located in a quiet area so you can take walks at night without feeling the stress of the large crowds near the center. Just around the corner from the hotel is a main avenue, Revolucni, which has a tabacco shop for buying your transport tickets and a well stocked supermarket.

As for the hotel itself I was happy with the room, the service, and the breakfast. Our room, number 605 on the top floor (there are six floors) was much larger than a typical Ibis room and had light coming in on two sides. There was a beautiful view of the rooftops looking towards Old Town Square. The bathroom was large and clean and there was plenty of room for our suitcases. There was a small frigobar and a safe for keeping passports and extra money. There was also a coffee making machine and a variety of coffee, including decaf, and teas for that early morning pep-me-up.

As for the bed, yes there were two single beds put together and the mattress was perhaps firmer than some people are used to, but I would prefer a firm mattress to a saggy one. Finding the pillows too soft we asked for two more and they came immediately.

The staff at the front desk was always helpful and went out of their way to make reservations for the musical events and the different tours we took. As an English teacher I always pay attention to the language skills of workers in these situations and at least at the front desk the English was good. Some of the staff in the Benada restaurant and the girls serving at breakfast, on the other hand, could benefit from an intensive course in English. An example was the waiter at the Benada restaurant who could not carry on a simple conversation.

Breakfast, which was included in the rate, was fine, for me at least. There was a variety of hot foods, including bacon and scrambled eggs, sausages, and even pasta. There was even excellent oatmeal (porridge), which is rare in these restaurants. There was a large variety of breads, cakes, and pastries and the cold cereal section had four types of cereal, including sugarless muesli. Coffee was not fantastic, but from a machine coffee is rarely of the quality of Starbuck's or Costa's so one doesn't expect it to be so.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub T, Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us and receive such a positive and warm and very detailed review of your stay.
We are most appreciative of your ackowledgment that our hotel services and facilities far exceed your expectations.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor, I look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town**** in the very near future.
Sincerely,
Jakub Trapek
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hotel is located in an excellent place in the old town and you may walk everywhere in the center. Tram and bus stops are near. Very short trip to Palladium shopping center and Old Town Square.

Service was businesslike and good. Room was ok and overall clean and tidy, but the fitted carpet was stained. Couldn't open the windows and some periodic weird noise from the street (stayed in the 1st floor). Overall grade 4- (four minus) in scale 1-5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soikku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakub T, Manager at Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for spending your valuable time and giving us feedback about your stay. I am delighted to read that you were impressed with stay with us. It is very motivating for me and my colleagues to read such a positive words.
Once again, thank you for highly recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor. It was certainly our pleasure to ensure your stay was as relaxing as you have so warmly describe. I certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Sincerely,
Jakub Trapek
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Clarion Hotel Prague City
Clarion Hotel Prague City
#136 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Casa Marcello
Hotel Casa Marcello
#163 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#132 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#72 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Clement Praque
Hotel Clement Praque
#66 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town

Property: Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town
Address: Hradebni 768/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Business Hotel in Prague
#182 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#215 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Prague
Clarion Hotel Prague
Prague Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing