We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Balkan Experience”
Review of Restaurant Jelica

Restaurant Jelica
Ranked #1,090 of 6,449 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Neighborhood: Hlubocepy
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Hlubocepy
Reviewed March 24, 2019

If you want to experience the true Balkan taste in Prague, Jelica is the place to go - Very authentic atmosphere (including the waiters in traditional clothing), beautiful garden and food to die for. Plenty of Balkan barbecue meat, fish, lamb, stues... and all is sevred in decent big portions. Pleasant staff will try accomodate and make a visit to Jelica a memory worth keeping. Prices are in the mid-upper range, but it's worth it. I particularly recommend pljeskavica and cevapcici, accompanied by kajmak. Possibly the best Balkan restaurant in Prague.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JansenAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 128 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2019

So my stomach really is not weak but when we were visiting with a connected stay in their own air bnb I ate "Gulasch" the first day at Jelica. Unfortunately something about it seemed to be iffy so I had to throw up a whole night and also felt sick very shortly after and the food was not digested at all! We speak German, English and a bit of Czech and Spanish but it seems they do not or only very reluctant....
Horrible first impression for people thinking this could be Czech cuisine but after all it´s not even a Czech restaurant so that´s that :D

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019

Nicely decorated interior and a huge choice on menu. We ordered traditional Pljeskavica, it was meat filled by meat and cheese. It was quite good. At the restrooms we had difficulty to find out which one is for man and which one for women. Service was not very friendly.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HanaDufkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

Very tasty food amd big portions, we ordered veal broth and fish soup, mixed grill for two and plejscavica. It was more than enough for four. All was very good (just chicken was little bit to dry). Decoration is original, we felt like in balkan house.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Justyna_bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

We were staying at Jelica apartmans, so we had our breakfast and dinner at the restaurant. It was a real pleasure to eat and have a few drinks in the evening in that lovely, peaceful, green garden, away from crowded city center. The food was very good and the staff funny and frendly, so we really enjoyed every moment of our staying there.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Nuvoletta_bg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Jelica also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Restaurant Jelica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing