We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Prague
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,520)
Filter reviews
1,520 results
Traveler rating
1,255
224
26
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,255
224
26
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft room old town square tyn cathedral the main square perfect location glass elevator high ceilings astronomical clock top floor breakfast room large bathroom sitting area lovely hotel small hotel star hotel street noise breakfast was delicious
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,520 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the Ventana for several days in August.

What we liked. The location could not be better. Just off the main square. The rooms were clean and for the most quiet, given the location. Beds comfortable. Staff friendly. All good as mentioned in other reviews.

So why the rating of 3.5?. For one thing, as others have noted, I would not classify the Ventana as a 5 star luxury hotel. Not by the standards i know from frequent travel in Europe and Asia. So maybe our expectations were a bit too high.

Breakfast buffet is satisfactory, but somewhat limited in terms of selections and quality for a 5 star property. We stayed in a 4 star hotel outside of Prague following, which provided a much better breakfast. Especially if you stay more than a few days, it is pretty much the same everyday.

In our room we found just two 330ml bottles of bottled water. Temperature outside is 90. Smallest bottles I have ever seen at a luxury property. The 4 star hotel provided 2 1000 ml bottles. And most 5 star properties would have multiple bottles, Not a problem we went to the store across the street and bought more. Hardly 5 star service for the price you pay. Little things like this.

We stayed in the loft rooms on the 4th floor. Echoing a few other reviews, now that I understand, I would not recommend spending the extra money for these rooms. The top floor windows from our bedroom room look out on the roof of the hotel, not on the square. I believe this is the case for most of the rooms, as we had asked to change, and were told it was pretty much the same. The sitting room downstairs is comfortable enough, but the only windows are small and very high up on the wall, you have no views.

We had a nice enough time in Prague, and the hotel was fine for a first visit, but if we had to do it again, we would pay a bit more and choose one of the better five star hotels that are in Prague.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tribecatravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventanahotel, Manažer at Ventana Hotel Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear don,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Ventana.

We are very sorry while being so glad to learn that you liked to be right off the Old Town Square and location could not be better, that you found our rooms clean and quiet, that bed was comfortable, friendly staff and satisfied with our breakfast while rating our property 3 over 5.

Complimentary water is not given only upon arrival to the rooms but is given every day after daily cleanning. Ventana hotel staff is easy approachable and looking forward to accommodate your wishes to your satisfaction.

We apologize for any inconvenience and you are welcome if you decide to return to Ventana. We will work on doing better.

Best Regards,

On behalf of Ventana team

Hamdin Günes

Duty manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having great expectations of this Hotel we were a little surprised on arrival to be allocated an attic room.
So it was with a little trepidation we opened the door to our room however we were very pleasantly surprised, the room was lovely, spacious very modern and well designed but where was the bed? The bed was situated on a mezzanine floor reached By an oak staircase and was very large and comfortable. Result
The hotel itself is in a great location in the old town two minutes walk from the main square. They only offer Bed and Breakfast but there are literally dozens and dozens of restaurants within a 10 minute radius offering every variation of cuisine at reasonable prices.
The breakfast offers both hot and cold choices all of which are tasty and of good quality.
All of the staff are friendly and helpful and able to point you in the right direction whatsoever the request.
This was our first visit to Prague and we loved it. The city is vibrant and very cosmopolitan with numerous entertainments and attractions. The architecture is wonderful and varied with very little graffiti compared to Rome for example.
We will definitely return.
Tip
Pre book your Airport transfers on line and fix the price as even official Taxis tend to overcharge tourists.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 525glennm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventanahotel, Manažer at Ventana Hotel Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Glenn M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Ventana.

We are very glad that we meet your expectations and I would like to especialy thank you so much for your detailed review full of lovely words about our property. We are really pleased. It is so big pleasure for us to have honour to accommodate you at your first visit to Prague.

You are the most welcome to Ventana when you travel to Prague next time.

Sincerely Yours,

On behalf of Ventana team

Hamdin Günes

Duty manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

The hotel is old but very well kept. Extremely clean. Breakfast was decent, service very good.. The entrance of the hotel has a few steps and heavy door to open to get in. I had to call for help with the luggage as there was no one stationed at the door. The location was just off the square, a few steps to all the restaurants so that was terrific. The hotel lacked amenities and for the price of the stay a little disappointing.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68MaryBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventanahotel, Manažer at Ventana Hotel Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 68MaryBay,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Ventana.

Firstly I would like to apologize for any inconvenience. We are very sorry to learn that we didn't meet your expectations and you found our door to be heavy. We do have a bellman helping with luggages. If he is helping to some guest and at that moment would arrive the next guest, we are keeping stuff at lobby and he is comming back very shortly.

We are very glad that you found our hotel to be very well keept and extremely clean. That you found our breakfast to be decent and our service was good. We are happy that you enjoyed aswel to be right by the Old Town Square.

We hope to welcome you back soon at Ventana and we will work on doing better for your satisfaction.

Kind regards,

On behalf of Ventana team

Hamdin Günes

Duty manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

This hotel had it all for us - spacious room, comfortable bed, wonderful breakfast (could have stayed eating there all day) and a great location just by the old Town Square and convenient for so many other places - couldn't ask for more. Courteous and friendly staff also.

Date of stay: April 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank myview3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventanahotel, Manažer at Ventana Hotel Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sally,

Thank you very much for takind the time to share your experience at Ventana.

We are very glad that we meet your expectations. We highly appreciate your lovely comments about our property.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

On behalf of Ventana team

Hamdin Günes

Duty manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019 via mobile

This is our second stay at this hotel and it is fantastic. Great breakfast in the morning, clean rooms, friendly staff and phenomenal location in the center of everything. The picture I posted is the view from our bedroom of the clock tower and main square. Love this hotel!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 895loum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventanahotel, Manažer at Ventana Hotel Prague, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

Dear Lou M,

Firstly I would like to thank you very much for your beautiful review. We more than appreciate your kind comments.

It is a big pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed being with us and that you had a memorable experience.

You are the most welcome to Ventana while you are next time travelling to Prague.

Sincerely Yours,

On behalf of Ventana team

Hamdin Günes

Duty manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews