We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ranked #21 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This boutique hotel was everything you'd expect it to be with the added benefit of being around 100 metres off the old square. However the breakfast was only just passable (the cooked breakfast was tepid) and the bed was very uncomfortable.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here with my partner in Jan 2013, after choosing it based on TA reviews. I cannot fault anything at all about the Ventana - the staff were supremely helpful from start to end, organising several airport transfers for us (arriving at different times and delayed), late breakfasts, extra pillows etc. We stayed in a Junior Attic suite, which was beautiful - split level, with a gorgeous 'new style' 4 poster,views of spires and towers, private balcony, well stocked mini bar, readily replenished free tea/coffee/water. It was also very good value at €120 per night for the room inc breakfast.

Location was perfect - just off the Old Town Square, so we walked everywhere, including to several nearby recommended restaurants. Breakfast was varied, with good quality products. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Attic suite, and book direct via email!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This review is mainly for the hotel, but I wanted to mention quickly about the taxi from the airport. For your first visit to Prague with no private transport, it is well worth getting a AAA yellow taxi from the airport to your hotel, it costs around 550 to 650Kc for the first trip, they offer a 47% discount card if you used them to take you back to the hotel. This is well worth collecting saves a fortune. Our return trip to the airport cost 300Kc.
This is our second visit to Prague, but the first time staying at the Ventana Hotel. I must say the my husband and I were thoroughly impressed for many reasons.
Firstly the hotel location is fantastic, to be less than 2 minutes from the astronomical clock, for the price of the hotel and the added extra of the hotel having a 5 star rating this is a bonus.
Secondly the hotel is very grand, on arrival we were greeted by the concierge, who was dressed to high standard and was very pleasant. He took our luggage to the room after checking in at the desk and then showed us some quirky features to the room. First impressions the room was very clean, tidy and stylish. The reception staff were also very helpful and friendly, nothing seemed to be too much. The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh bedding and towels. Every morning we were given 2 complimentary bottles of water and 2 chocolates (which I only had one of due to my piggy husband).
Thirdly the breakfast buffet, this is a standard continental breakfast, everything from cereal, sausages, bacon, eggs and fruit to champagne! All the food was fresh and stocked up well. There were no complaints from my husband as he stays away a lot for work this is a good thing. The library area was very pleasant, we read a previous comment which mentioned a lack of atmosphere, personally I thought this was a little harsh as the library area is meant to be a quiet place to retreat. There are plenty of books, a large TV and a computer with free internet, If your holiday revolves around staying all day in the hotel and not going out and about to explore the wonderful things that Prague has to offer maybe this hotel isn't for you.
Another comment mentioned that there is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, well no there isn't but you can have as much tea or coffee you want FREE at breakfast and between the hours of 5-7pm they also offer FREE tea and coffee to relax after a busy day of sight seeing. Again we don't travel all the way to Prague to drink tea and coffee in the room, especially as the hot chocolate is delicious and cheap!
Well I think this sums up how much of a fantastic hotel, the staff were exceptionally attentive and that our stay there was very pleasant. We will be booking another stay at this hotel for September 2014 for sure.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vixie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this gorgeous hotel whilst exploring Prague. The lobby area is small and dimly lit and quite deceiving as the rest of the hotel is beautifully lit, spacious, modern, gorgeous.

The room was stunning. The bathroom huge with heating under the marble floor. The amenities were very nice.

There is no restaurant in the hotel, however the room rate included a breakfast and that was very nice with a lot of choice.

It is within walking distance to many of the main attractions of Prague, and close to many restaurants.

It is also a very relaxing and quite place to stay

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our 1st visit to Prqgue and we could not have been luckier with our choice of hotels. (Thank you to all previous TripAdvisor reviewers!). The Ventana is an old, historic hotel a 1/2 block off the Old Towne Square (which made it quieter during the December holiday market festivities). Prague is a great 'walking city' and the location of this hotel/Old Towne Square is perfect for walking in any direction! (Even the Prague Castle on the other side of the river is only about 30 minutes by foot.)
There is no restaurant for lunch/dinner at the Ventana, but the buffet breakfast included with your room left nothing to be desired (including morning Mimosas!). The choices were plentiful and most days we were never even hungry again until late afternoon. There is also a small bar open for guests during afternoons & evenings. Our room (#25) was simply furnished, but huge compared to most European hotels. Bathroom was also quite large with modern amenities and a large counter for spreading out. (I hate not having vanity space when staying somewhere for more than a couple of nights.) ALL staff we encountered we're very helpful and gracious (even when I blew out the power in our room with my American-wattage hairdryer...oops!!) Emailing with the staff to arrange airport transfers & obtain restaurant recommendations was quite easy. Definitely would stay here again & highly recommend to others...

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel have a view of the Astronomical Clock and only foot traffic below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent 5 great nights here on our recent Prague trip. Fantastic location within walking distance of everything. Large comfortable room and ensuite. Welcoming staff and a friendly atmosphere. No restaurant (other than breakfast) but no shortage of places to eat within 100m of the front door. If we go to Prague again we'll stay here for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin58_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Ticks all the boxes: location (just a short stroll from the old square and 'the clock'), comfort (small and well appointed - far more intimate and preferable to sprawling business hotels), nice breakfast (7 til 11 to suit both early birds and late risers). We were there off season but I imagine it stays quiet throughout. We didn't hear a thing outside. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay again

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gemstar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 646 in Prague
3,339 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#118 of 646 in Prague
894 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
2,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#51 of 646 in Prague
2,080 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventana Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventana Hotel Prague

Address: Celetna 600/7 | entrance – Stupartska 2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#16 Family Hotel in Prague
#19 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#48 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $136 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ventana Hotel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star luxury boutique hotel Ventana is located in the historical heart of Prague at the Old Town Square opposite the Old Town Hall with it's Astronomical Clock. The hotel is surrounded by the so called Kings Road and the Tyn Cathedral. The Art Nouveau palace with high ceilings offers 29 comfortably furnished rooms overlooking the Old Town. The most interesting places in Prague are only a short walk away from the hotel. The Charles Bridge, the Wenceslas Square, the Old Town Square, or the Parizska street with all the famous designer and brand name stores are just a few steps from the Ventana Hotel Prague. The attractive combination of the strategic location and the exceptional background of the Ventana Hotel Prague draws attention of demanding clientele. The hotel is an exclusive partner of Moet Hennessy - Louis Vuitton and the guests include owners of a number of major global brands such as Ermenegildo Zegna, Massimo Ferragamo and Christiano Corneliani. Also the former president of the Czech Republic Vaclav Havel honoured the hotel with his visit. The friendly and personal approach of our staff provides a professional service that will ensure you a pleasant stay in this beautiful boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ventana Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Ventana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing