We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning boutique hotel in the right location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ranked #20 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

You could not get any more central in Prague than this hotel, directly on the Old Square. Definitely worth emailing the hotel in advance to arrange transfer from the airport - the concierge has a dedicated email address on the web site and replied in English within the hour. Chauffeur driven car costs about £30 for the half hour drive from the airport. The Old Square location means it is 5 minutes walk from trams or buses but certainly not a problem as you are in the heart of the city and most attractions are within walking distance. Hotel staff were all fluent in English and nothing was too much trouble. Stunning boutique rooms in an extremely well renovated old building. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

618 - 624 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

Beautiful hotel with a lovely ancient ambience, located right on the main square of the old town and yet incredibly quiet and private!
Rooms are very spacious, ours had a view on the Tyn Cathedral steeples, really gorgeous.
Breakfast is great, service is excellent, staff very friendly.
It could do with new carpets, but excellent for all the rest.
We would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veleno88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our stay at the Ventana started on the wrong foot with us leaving our backpack, containing a couple of thousand Euro in cash, our passports and IPad in the back of a dodgy taxi from the train station (beware train station taxis - it is cheaper, and safer, to book a hotel car). The staff at the hotel got on the phone immediately to the police and then the Porter (Patrik) suggested we return to the station to see if we could find the driver. We arrived back at the station with Patrik to meet with the police just as the dodgy driver returned to his lair to check out his goodies - about an hour after we had originally lost the bag. So, amazingly, we got it all back! All staff at this hotel went all out to make our stay absolutely fabulous. We had a loft room overlooking the Old Town Square that was beautiful. Breakfast was really good and the best location in Prague. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Merry Christmas all staff!

Room Tip: Loft rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night to see the Christmas markets.

Perfect location, 60 seconds from the Old Town Square!

We stayed in a loft room but were upgraded to a Junior suite for no extra charge. Our room was clean spacious and boasted a view of the Square.

Breakfast was good with hot and cold options available.

Would I stay here again? Definitely.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Based on prior reviews of this hotel in TA we have just spent 4 days in Prague using this hotel as our base. It has to be the perfect location to stay, within 50 mtrs of Old Town Square. Facilities/Staff/Breakfasts good, but to improve each room needs a tea/coffee/kettle. This is not hotel where visitors sit in the bar and drink, there are plenty of noisy establishments for that type of entertainment elsewhere. Restaurants are easily accessable within 10mtr walk and on Main Square possilby 30/40 to choose. The young lady receptionist was very helpful in booking trips & taxis (we would recommend the Folklore evening for value & typical Czech entertainment). We would also recommend booking a collection taxi from the airport to your hotel before travelling through www.prague-airport-transports.cz they meet you "by name" at the terminal and return you for a very reasonable price; don't use the yellow cabs (we got ripped off in town when out on our own). Xmas markets were publicised in 2 squares, well forget Wenceslas Sq it is a non event; Old Town Sq much better but not up to German (Cologne eg) standard. If you want International 5star hotel & prices then this is not for you, if you want quality/friendly/local/location/peace the Ventana is perfect.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Firstly : This hotel is about one minutes walk to the Old Town Square, Right in the middle of the action, but just far enough away from the crowds, so no noise.
Secondly, Very nice building and very well decorated,

Now for some facts:

- No tea/coffee making facility in the room
- No Iron/Ironing board in the room
- No Alarm clock
- Only one warm blanket for two beds
- Free bottles of water, but after first night, the bottle opener vanished
- Some parts of the paintwork need touching up
- Room is too hot - Had to open the windows, even at -4c outside Even after we turned
down the heating
- Breakfast is abysmal for a 5 Star hotel. The only HOT things on offer came from one
serving dish - Frankfurter sausages/Burnt hard fried eggs/Greasy bacon/Too runny
scrambled eggs.
I asked the waitress if I could have two poached eggs, but first the waitress could not
understand English and secondly I was told no. The chef could not make them....
AMAZING that a chef in a 5 star hotel can not make poached eggs! Worse was that I
was told that there were enough eggs already!
- The FREE afternoon tea was simply 1 tea bag and 1 tea pot of hot water
- I asked the receptionist if she could book me a Czech restaurant for Fri and Sat, but
was advised that they were all booked. I stood 10 feet away and called myself and
somehow managed to book the same restaurant. Did the restaurant not like this hotel or
did the receptionist simply not call them and lied?
- The beds were not very comfortable.
- No restaurant and the bar had no atmosphere. Only two of us in there in the evening.
And this was the penultimate weekend before Christmas!


*** This is a very nice hotel, and would certainly recommend as a hotel close to where it is all happening, but certainly not in the same league as any major 5 star hotel.

If you have been to a five star hotel, then you will notice the difference straight away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BakerBoyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventana1, Manager at Ventana Hotel Prague, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your response and assessment of the stay at Ventana Hotel Prague.

We apologise, if your stay was not as you desired, but your opinions and comments says, if anybody is looking for the problem, he can find it.
Much of the comments stems from the fact that you didn´t ask at the reception and bar. Really just ask, and hotel staff organise everything for guest satisfaction.
Your reservation was made for Superior room category where we offer double bed only. Even though you have not informed us, you traveled two gentlemans, we immediately upgrade you to a higher category Deluxe room for free where is possible to prepare twin beds.
Coffee and tea facilities is not really a part of all the rooms, but complete equipment can bring barman to you r room in minute. Or, till midnight is possible order all from hotel bar. Just ask at the front desk or bar. But for this year will be coffee and tee facilities in all rooms.
Iron and iron board not standart equipments with rooms, on request hotel porter bring to you, or you can use the hotel services of ironed.
Each room has a temperature control and heating can therefore regulate the temperature in the room. If you do not understand this system, hotel porter comes in and with pleasure explains how to reduce heating and blowing warm air. If is still for you too hot in room, yes, the best way I s open window.
The hotel offers a hot breakfast variations in Frankfurt and Bavarian sausages, bacon, eggs. Poached eggs are on request and the chef is happy to prepare them for you. Just ask the staff clearly. On asking prepared chef eggs and all to taste ala carte. Regarding the comments on bacon, yes bacon is really greasy, it is bacon.
Every afternoon, we offer from 4 till 6pm hours five o´clock tea. Everyone gets really teapot, tea bag and water and waiter offer homemade cake, etc. Untill now nobody complained that they can have afternoon tea for free.
Hotel reception gladly reserve for you dinner in many restaurant, but it is possible that at the moment the restaurant is really full and can not accept hotel reservation. Of course can happened, when you go around restaurant and ask for free table, they can find table for you.

Thank you for your review and comments, which certainly will use them to improve the comfort of our guests.
We wish you more satisfaction during your traveling.

Regards,

Tomáš Kolařík

Operation manager
Ventana Hotel Prague

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Again booked following research on Tripadvisor. Was not disappointed.

Hotel a little difficult to find by taxi with the one way systems, easier on foot - right opposite the Tyn Church. We received a friendly welcome and shown to our deluxe room which had great views (on 2nd floor), overlooking the square and the Astroninomical Clock and Tyn Church. Bed very comfortable, although we somehow had two single duvets, which I didn't like and struggled with.

Plenty of choice for breakfast and helpful waitress service.

Would recommend for a visit to Prague - you cannot beat the location!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheshire_Cat_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 646 in Prague
3,342 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#119 of 646 in Prague
896 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#51 of 646 in Prague
2,080 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ventana Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ventana Hotel Prague

Address: Celetna 600/7 | entrance – Stupartska 2, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#16 Family Hotel in Prague
#18 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#48 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $135 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ventana Hotel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star luxury boutique hotel Ventana is located in the historical heart of Prague at the Old Town Square opposite the Old Town Hall with it's Astronomical Clock. The hotel is surrounded by the so called Kings Road and the Tyn Cathedral. The Art Nouveau palace with high ceilings offers 29 comfortably furnished rooms overlooking the Old Town. The most interesting places in Prague are only a short walk away from the hotel. The Charles Bridge, the Wenceslas Square, the Old Town Square, or the Parizska street with all the famous designer and brand name stores are just a few steps from the Ventana Hotel Prague. The attractive combination of the strategic location and the exceptional background of the Ventana Hotel Prague draws attention of demanding clientele. The hotel is an exclusive partner of Moet Hennessy - Louis Vuitton and the guests include owners of a number of major global brands such as Ermenegildo Zegna, Massimo Ferragamo and Christiano Corneliani. Also the former president of the Czech Republic Vaclav Havel honoured the hotel with his visit. The friendly and personal approach of our staff provides a professional service that will ensure you a pleasant stay in this beautiful boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ventana Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Ventana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing