We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for couples on a budget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tyl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tyl
Ranked #251 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for couples on a budget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I booked a mini break last Valentine's Day at Hotel Tyl. We had a small budget so the hotel was good value for us - location fine, reception staff helpful (they recommended a great tour of the city), breakfast buffet each morning. The only downer is we expected a double bed but got two singles pushed together! If you're looking for an affordable room, we'd recommend Tyl.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,
thank you for choosing our Hotel Tyl for a romantic citybreak in Prague. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and that the hotel met your expectations.
Do not heistate next time to mention your bed preference and we will do our best to assign you a room according to your wishes.
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    281
    105
    25
    18
See reviews for
83
319
39
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very nice smallish hotel in good location; not far to walk to Wenceslas Square or the Old Town. Receptionists very helpful. We visited 18-22 December and had a lovely time. The Old Square had a lovely market with the best Xmas tree ever, shimmering in gold. The Saturday night in the Old Square was lovely with various entertainment acts; Prague's traditional dancing and songs, great young male vocalist entertained a large crowed, Japanese traditional entertainment Act was great, etc., many varied acts, so good we hardly felt the below-minus temperatures. Love the buildings in Prague, Charles Bridge (where we saw 3 weddings) and plenty of places to eat at reasonable cost. Would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Hotel was very warm and comfortable. Take coat hangers - we forgot and only 3 supplied!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rareynolds2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you very much for your lovely feedback!
We are happy to have welcomed you in our Hotel and it is very nice to read that you loved the city so much. Prague is always beautiful butn under Christmas time it has a very cozy and romantic atmosphere made of lights, music and smells of mulled wine and all the good things that you can find in the various stands in the squares.
Thank you also for appreciating our hotel, we apologies about the coat hangers in the room. Please next time do not hesitate to address any request to our 24/7 available front desk and if possible they would meet all your wishes and requests.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed in this hotel 6 days.So what is good and bad:
Good:
Friendly staff.
Location is really good.
Breakfast is ok, but after 8am sometimes poor.
Bad:
Wifi is terrible, no possible to do anything in internet, either check email.
Double bed was a 2 mantras together, not a single king size.
Nothing inside(tea, water or else), if you need kettle you need to ask it.
Sauna not for free and have terrible price.

This is normal hotel for simple people, but not a 4 star.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for sharing your feedbacks with us.
It saddens me to read that some aspects of your stay were not totally positive: we have been starting working on the improvement of the breakfast service to increase its quality, presentation and offer.
The difficulties with the wi fi are now solved by our IT, please next time feel free to address any problem or difficulty to our staff who will gladly assist you, report the problem to be fixed as soon as possible.
It is very useful for us to receive guests'comments and we are sure that yours definetly will help us to focus more on our services.
I take the advantage of this response to wish you a happy new year!
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
337 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

There are a lot of things I really like about his hotel. It's location was fabulous as it sits right by major tram lines with easy access to anywhere in the city. They provide a free breakfast which rivals any of the breakfast buffets I've had for 8-12 Euros elsewhere. There is free internet for all the guests (though it isn't fast enough for using beyond simple browsing). There is an empty fridge in the room! This was great for getting water and other drinks. The service from the front desk is great. I asked for a 9:30 wake up call not wanting to miss breakfast which ended at 10am (much later than most places) but I missed the call. At 9:55 they called me again saying they would hold breakfast for me if I wanted to hurry up. The next morning, I accidently left the phone off the jack so they knocked on my door for my wake up call. Overall, a great experience here.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put on the top floor as they have slanted windows and all you can see is the sky rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liquidmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
what a lovely review!
Thank you very much for the feedback, it is rewarding for us to read that you had a good stay in our Hotel Tyl and that you were satisfied with our services and staff.
I will share this review with all the staff, and I am sure all of them will be very happy of it.
On behalf of all of us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back one day!

Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

the reception was lovely and only too kind to help us book tours and pub crawls as well as tell us the best places to go of an evening. the room (401) was very spacious including a moderatly sized bathroom. The bathroom was a bit grimy but not too bad. The breakfast was ok but dont worry if you miss it. Not a bad selection but people seem to be im a rush to grab everything. there are plenty of places down the road to get food including 24hour KFC. It is in a very nice area which is very close to I.P Pavlova station. All in all it was a great stay and we will be back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Semptyshshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for your nice review, we are happy you had an overall positive stay in our Hotel Tyl.
I am sorry to read that you did not evaluate our hotel to meet a 4 star hotel category and we woiuld be grateful if you could contact us at your convenient with any suggestion, idea or advice. We know the importance of giving voice to our guests and listening from them how their hotel should be. We hope to hear from you soon and we wish you a very good day.
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was well located for lots of good bars, but was in no way a four star hotel. The room was pretty big but also basic, and the decor was dated and a little scruffy.

However we stayed for 2 nights just before Christmas for €88, which was excellent value and made the trip affordable, so really we can't complain. We kind of knew it wouldn't be up to too high a standard by the price so we really weren't too disappointed.

Prague was a really cool city, which is quite large and sprawling, so we walked a long way but it is interesting to walk around and we always seemed to be close to a coffee shop, café or restaurant for a rest and they all seemed to have free wifi.

We would both thoroughly recommended a trip to Prague, and this hotel is fine for a cheap stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for your review about Hotel Tyl.
It saddens me to read that you found your room to be dated and scruffy. Please feel free to contact us directly with the room number you stayed and we will definetly have a look at it.
The hotel decor is in Bidermeier style and rooms have antique piece of furniture.
We are happy you found the hotel to be in a comfortable position to stroll around Prague and enjoy it at its best.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly for any further comments you wish to share, we are at complete disposal and thankful for our guests´ feedbacks.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for a shot city break.
We wish you a great and prosperous 2014!
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel is situated in a square which had market stalls and a Xmas tree and all the trees had lights also.

It is in a very central position and the 22 tram will take you to most of the places of interest. Just around the corner is the Hop on Hop off tourist trip stop.

The reception staff at the hotel were so helpful - they had details of the trams, and tickets. Also lots of tours both day and night. Their English was brilliant and they were so helpful and polite.

The Breakfast was buffet style and good - plenty of choice of cereal, bread and jam, meats and various other savoury choices in cold - the hot selection was scrambled egg, which was replaced regulalrly so nice and fresh, smoked sausages and a veggie option. Plenty enough to fuel the hungriest person!

The rooms were warm, clean and spacious with plenty of comfort - bathroom with hairdryer, clean towels daily.

All in all a great experience and will be returning here next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for sharing with us your wonderful review on Tripadvisor!
I am very glad to read that you had a positive expereince and I am thankful for the nice words you used. I will forward it to the staff of the Hotel and I am sure that they will all be very grateful and looking forward to welcoming you next year.
Do not hesitate to contact us for any further inquiry, we will ove to assist you personally this time.
In the meantime we wish you a wonderful beginning of 2014!
Best regards,

Elena Sartori
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#284 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Praha 2
Alton
Alton
#248 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Praha 2
Green Garden Hotel
Green Garden Hotel
#74 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Lunik
Hotel Lunik
#197 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Praha 2
Clarion Hotel Prague City
Clarion Hotel Prague City
#128 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Praha 2
Beranek
Beranek
#266 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tyl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyl

Property: Hotel Tyl
Address: Tylovo namesti 668/5, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#167 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tyl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tyl is a four-stars hotel situated in the city centre, only 300m from Wenceslas Square and near other great historical and architectural monuments and buildings like the National Museum and the Congress Center.Hotel Tyl offers 33 luxurious rooms. Rooms are fully equipped and individually designed with antique furniture and high quality textiles to create a romantic, elegant and pleasant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tyl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tyl Prague
Tyl Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing