We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Tyl”
Review of Hotel Tyl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tyl
Ranked #250 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Tyl”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The location of the hotel is ideal for us as we did not want to be in the centre of Prague. Traveling around Prague is so simple and very cheap compared with the UK. To walk to the centre can take between 20 - 30 minutes depending on your walking speed speed. The hotel is clean and the staff were very friendly and coped very well with tourists that did not speak their language. The room we had had en-suite and TV with a dual aspect over looking the square. Breakfasts were in the basement floor, self service with a good selection of hot and cold food. Overall if we were to go back to Prague we would certainly try and stay at the Tyl Hotel again.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the second floor at the front of the hotel. The tram noise may have been less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive and warm feedback.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for appreciating the hotel locstions, room, breakfast service and our irreplaceable staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Prague again in the future.
We all look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Tyl in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    284
    106
    26
    18
See reviews for
85
322
39
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We chose this Hotel as the base for a 3 day trip which included going around Prague and a trip to the O2 to see Muse.
We found the staff to be extremely helpful and the Hotel to be bright, clean and eyecatching good value.
The room was a good size and everything inside was presentable, the bathroom was a very nice size with a very nice shower, the breakfast was a buffet style with plenty of choice and plenty for everybody.
The location is very convenient with Trams , buses and the Metro (which runs like clockwork) (get yourself a ticket for a period of time as it will save you time and money) all within seconds of the Hotel.
We will definitely be going back to Prague and staying in the same Hotel sometime.
If you are looking for a place to stay then look no further than this place, you won`t regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,
Allow me to thank you for your beautiful review about Hotel Tyl. I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you came to enjoy the Muse concert. Thank you also for such nice words for our staff. We know the importance of it and we are constantly focusing on developping a very firendly relationship with the guests, before and during the stay.
Thank you again for your kind feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you and your friends back to Prague on your next visit to the Czech Republic. Do not hesitate to contact us directly for any future inquiry.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgaum india
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is located next to I.P.Pavlova Metro Station in Prague. Old city is very close by and can be walked down if needed. We did the whole city on foot from here and returned to the hotel by metro. KFC and Mcdonald's are right next door. It is just 2 metro stops away from Prague Main Railway station and you can carry your luggage easily from the station.
Rooms were large and very comfortable with spring mattress. Toilet was clean. There is a gym also. The breakfast was good but not great. Not many hot items. We were even arranged an early breakfast as we had to checkout early. Overall a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and the window did not have a few. Rooms at the front can provide good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashokraonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,
Many thanks for your feedback.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we are very grateful you chose our Hotel Tyl and you found it a comfortable solution.
We thank you for your comments and we will take into consideration your opinion about the breakfast. We try to give a pretty wide choice covering all tastes of our guests
We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future and guarantee you another good stay with us.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great hotel, very convenient for sightseeing, helpful staff, in a breathtakingly beautiful city.

On this our first visit to Prague we stayed at the hotel Tyl with another couple. The staff were friendly, courteous, informative and helpful, booking us in on a boat trip and organising a taxi back to the airport for us at the end. The hotel room was very comfortable and had extremely effective double glazing which completely blocked out the noise from outside so that you would never know you were overlooking a busy street with trams going past. We all slept extremely well. The bathroom was spotless and the shower hot. The only downside was that there were no tea or coffee-making facilities in the room, although these could be obtained in the small bar in reception. A returnable deposit is required if you want to use the room safe.

Breakfast, served down in the well-appointed basement, was more than adequate to set you up for the day, offering cereals and yoghurts, tea, coffee and fruit juice, bread, cheese and ham, cooked sausages and scrambled egg, rolls and honey, fresh fruit and sweet brioches. There were numerous cafes and restaurants in the immediate vicinity so eating out was not a problem at all. Beer is very cheap compared to English prices.

Prague itself is a gem of a city and easily accessible from the hotel using the excellent integrated transport system. Tram 22 to Prague castle runs around every 7 minutes from a stop which is lietrally one minute's walk from the hotel. 3 minutes takes you to the metro station (IP Pavlova). You can use the same ticket on either mode of transport and both systems are easy to negotiate even if you don't speak any Czech. English was readily spoken in most bars and restaurants, but not necessarily elsewhere. We were very struck by the cleanliness of the streets.

In addition to the standard tourist areas such as Old town square, the castle, the Jewish quarter and Charles bridge (all easily accessible and well worth a visit), the rest of Prague was a wonderful place to wander round with something new to discover round every corner. We particularly enjoyed our guided tour of the Klementinum (near Charles bridge) which apart from being a classical concert venue is also a museum of astronomy with breath-taking views of the city from the roof. Sadly the John Lennon wall in the Little town is now virtually painted over by subsequent graffitti.

All in all, a fabulous 3 nights - we shall most definitely return to this wonderful city and its very friendly people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank serendipity555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,
Many thanks for your gracious feedback. We were absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we are very grateful you chose our Hotel Tyl for your first visit to Prague.
We pride ourselves on the service and facilities we provide our guests and this is only made possible by the great team we have at our Hotel Tyl.
Thank you for all the details and useful information you mentioned in your review, they will be very useful to many future guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once more in the future and for any inquiry do not hesitate to contact us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of a European Road Trip so I only stayed here for 2 nights, we were a group of 10, check in was efficient, and the receptionist Elena was very helpful, we were asked for a 50 euro deposit for each room which was a surprise as it did not state that this was needed on the website; we did however receive all of it back.

The lobby was really nice, the rooms were really big and were clean, I thought the bed was too soft, however most of the group said they were comfortable. The bathroom was a good size, the only problem we all found was the shower head was too low and you had to hold it above your head.

The hotel is in a great location just behind Wenceslas Square!
Prague is my favourite destination to visit so next time I visit the city I will definitely consider staying here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are truly glad that you chose to stay with us it feels like you enjoyed Prague and our Hotel Tyl to the fullest . It is a pleasure to hear that our property was chosen for the European Road Trip, it sounds like a very nice adventure.
We hope that you will come back and visit us and this wonderful city in the near future.
Do not hesitate to contact us for future eventual inquiries.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Expect to be asked for a 20 euro deposit to cover mini bar,located in s
a quiet area with plenty of bars and restaurants close by, 20 min walk to old town. Breakfast nothing special .15 minute walk to main station.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbmstot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for posting your comments about your stay on Tripadvisor.
Your comments and feedbacks are essential to improve the quality of our services and to guarantee the guests´satisfaction.
We thank you for your contribution and we will forward them to the department in charge.
We hope to welcome you to Prague and to our hotel soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend for my honeymoon and can't praise the hotel enough. Our room was huge- more like a suite and the bathroom had separate shower and bath. Our room was serviced everyday with fresh towels and everything was spotless. The staff were great - spoke fantastic English and were very helpful. Breakfast was buffet self-service with plenty of choice. Massive bonus was the unlimited free wi-fi! Location was lovely - far enough from the noise/hustle and bustle but still within a 10 minute walk of the main attractions. Thank you for a very memorable and enjoyable stay!!

Room Tip: If your visit is for a special occasion, mention it when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena_Sartori, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Tyl, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam

I am truly glad that you chose to stay in hotel Tyl on such a special occasion it feels like you enjoyed Prague to the fullest and had a great experience. It is a pleasure to hear that we stood up to your expectation and we proud for our team in hotel Tyl as well. We hope that you will come back and visit us and this wonderful city in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#284 of 649 in Prague
524 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Lunik
Hotel Lunik
#222 of 649 in Prague
354 reviews
Praha 2
Alton
Alton
#257 of 649 in Prague
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Tivoli Hotel Prague
Tivoli Hotel Prague
#251 of 649 in Prague
484 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#194 of 649 in Prague
368 reviews
Praha 2
Beranek
Beranek
#272 of 649 in Prague
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tyl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tyl

Property: Hotel Tyl
Address: Tylovo namesti 668/5, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#167 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tyl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tyl is a four-stars hotel situated in the city centre, only 300m from Wenceslas Square and near other great historical and architectural monuments and buildings like the National Museum and the Congress Center.Hotel Tyl offers 33 luxurious rooms. Rooms are fully equipped and individually designed with antique furniture and high quality textiles to create a romantic, elegant and pleasant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Tyl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tyl Prague
Tyl Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing