We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Golden deer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Golden deer
Ranked #271 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

It's only just occurred to me to do a review on this lovely place, despite having visited it at least 3 or 4 years ago! I found it online and booked it for myself and two friends for a three day break.

It really has retained all of it's old charm, dating back to at least the 13th century and was absolutley perfect. Excellent value, huge rooms. very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was also very nice in a pleasant room with lots of choice of bread, eggs, cold meats etc

Our room opened onto a long terrace with big shuttered windows that went right across the building. There was a bedroom and then a large room with put up bed, and then steps down to a bathroom with jacquzzi bath.

I would not hesitate to recommend this place in a central, but quiet, part of Prague.
My sleep quality was only poor because i found it hard to sleep after telling ghost stories!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mer2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    109
    31
    11
    12
See reviews for
51
95
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed over Christmas for 5 days and couldn't have found a better hotel. The location was great and in a lively area. The room was very clean and wam. It was also surprisingly spacious. The best part was that the staff was incredibly cheery and helpful. The airline lost our baggage, and the staff at the hotel took care of locating it and making sure it got to our room. That was way above and beyond the call of duty, and they did it with a smile. And on top of all of that, it was the best priced hotel I could find in Prague. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Halmooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

We stayed in a 2 BR apartment at the Hotel U Zlateho Jalena in August. The location of the hotel is tremendous as it is just steps away from Old Town. The staff was absolutely wonderful, always friendly and smiling. Breakfast was superb.It was quite hot when we visited, but the fans provided helped cool the room down, and we were comfortable. The two bedroom suite was very large. The decor was very basic,, but adequate. The location and helpfulness of the staff more than made up for the bland rooms. Free internet was also a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eissasn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

We came to Prague for a mini-break this September. We booked into the U Zlateho jelena hotel and were pleasantly surprised by the location, hotel ambience and friendliness of its staff. The room was spacious, very clean and overlooking the courtyard. Given the central location, the streets can be noisy, but we were not too bothered. The hotel is a closed structure and one can chose between differently situated rooms, if one notifies the reservation department in advance. With the not-so-nice weather, we have spent quite a bit of time in the hotel cafe bar drinking excellent coffee and feasting on the homemade cakes and pastries. We were a bit skeptical at first since the label ´homemade´ usually means deep frozen and reheated but then we noticed during breakfast that the girls actually do everything on the spot - from peeling the carrots for the delicious carrot cake to preparing the chocolate mousse served with one of the fruit tarts. And we were lost! The breakfast was very rich and included some of the homemade cakes and pastries as well. Not a good option for losing weight but definitely an excellent choice for a getaway in a romantic city and a lovely hotel in its heart!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Excellent location very close to the astronomical clock which is well worth watching. The hotel room was very spacious and clean as was the bathroom although there was only a shower, no bath. Breakfasts were good and if anything ran out you only had to ask the staff and they would bring more. All the staff were helpful and contrary to what we have read in other reviews we had no problem with noise at night. We also chose the Ultimate 6 hour tour of Prague, which was very good value - do wear comfortable shoes for this tour.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iomtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

Loved this hotel in building built in1366! Just a short block from the Old Town Square, the location could not be any better for sightseeing on foot in Prague. While the room was extremely large, it was lacking in a few things--no alarm clock, no facial tissues in the bathroom, poor light for reading and non-functioning remote control for the TV. Still it made up for these shortcomings with its charm and location. Particularly liked the courtyard where you could sit and have coffee or a drink. Nice, helpful staff. No lift so had to climb 2 flights of stairs to reach our top floor room. Great breakfast buffet in a pretty little cafe.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pesca7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed here at 'The Golden Stag' (hotel-u-zlateho-jelen) in June early this year for a hen weekend. The rooms are large (big enough for a pre-drink session with 10 girls) staff are very welcoming and helpful, rooms were clean and comfortably and the breakfast was nice.....with very little choice. The location was absolutely spot on!! Close to bars and restaurants.....not too noisy but still in the heart of the square. I would not fault this hotel at all and would definitely stay here again.
Best restaurant.... Cowboys!! http://www.kampagroup.com/en/restaurant.php?rid=8

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saunders81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#215 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
#335 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#126 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#309 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#90 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Golden Age
Prague Golden Age
#294 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden deer

Property: Hotel Golden deer
Address: Shtupartska 598/6 | Celetna 11, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel U Zlateho Jelena)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Golden deer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming little Prague hotel, situated in a unique historical building from the year 1366, excellently located next to Prague's Old Town Square. We offer spacious rooms with all necessary amenities, free Wi-Fi internet access, local atmosphere and personal attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing