We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year at the Golden Stag”
Review of Hotel Golden deer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Golden deer
Ranked #276 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“New Year at the Golden Stag”
Reviewed January 15, 2009

Arriving at the hotel we were a little disappointed at the lack of luxury in the room but we soon warmed to its charms. Its a very traditional, quaint place and although I have seen some of the problems about noise we didn´t have problems. We were 4 couples and had rooms at all four points, including overlooking the road.Our particular room was no 21 and it was a haven. The beds were comfortable but we asked for another duvet. This was only personal preference, the duvets we had were very light and we are used to heavier. We had a single duvet each originally, even though the beds were placed together as a double!
The rooms were very warm but that was very welcome as it was freezing outside. The shower was great, powerful and plenty of hot water. Nowhere to put toiletries though and the hairdryer we were told would be there wasn´t. We soon got one after asking at reception, along with extra hangers - we only had 4!
Breakfasts were really good and the staff were very pleasant and accomodating. We found this the case with all the staff we met-even the young lady who met us with hot drinks, a smile and rolls at 6am when we had to leave early.

Ask at reception for use of the laptop, free for the first half hour. Was also given a small cake and coffee free of charge whilst waiting for this.

In all the hotel and the staff were great but the location is superb. Its just off the Old Town Square-near the astronomical clock so on the spot for most things. Our best location so far after 3 visits and we will definitely stay there again.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank lovesusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    111
    31
    12
    12
See reviews for
51
98
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Arrived late and tired at the hotel, only to find that the "quiet" room that we had requested consited of one directly over the street, with drunken fights and shouting going on until 4.30am. Prompltly at 6.30am the refuse collectors started work, so we had a total of two hours sleep. We were unable to move that night, even though we reported the noise immediately upon entering the room. The room that we moved to next day overlooked the courtyard and was on the ground floor next to the main door, so had noise form people returning and slamming the door until 4.am on the remaining two nights of our stay. Then obviously refuse collection at 6.30!

The rooms are clean but spartan - this hotel is two star at best.

We left exhausted after 3 days only to be told that if we wished to pay by credit card there would be a hefty surcharge. We were glad to get away from the place.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKtraveller22Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcountry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2008

This isn't the cheapest deal you can get in Prague but it isn't expensive either so it really is worth spending a few extra pounds to stay here.

Four of us went and the rooms were great - really large and airy with wooden floors and minimal but characterful furniture. The bathrooms were good, the hotel has a great sense of space and there is a friendly atmosphere.

The location is faultless. Right in the middle of the Old Town, you can explore the main sights on foot.

I know several people that didn't have the best time Prague. I think this is probably due to many budget hotels being located in more built up areas. This hotel was worth every penny as we woke up every morning surrounded by stunning architecture and right in the middle of things (though we didn't experience any street noise inside).

  • Liked — Great room and great location
  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivegazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2007

returned from 3 night stay,hotel ideally placed,food good clean rooms bathrooms new and modern,only accept cash no credit cards.prague is sooooo expensive now £3 per pint of larger so take plenty of cash.
hotel very well placed for everything

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank kumala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Terrific location--right near the Old Town square. The room was decent size, and overlooked the courtyard, so we didn't hear street noise (some rooms do face the busy street leading to the square). We did hear the deliveries and the hotel staff--who start work really early--because sound echoes up in the courtyard. There was a little too much heat at night, so we had to leave the windows open. Earplugs helped. (I imagine this room is quite warm in the summer.)
The shower was good, plenty of pressure and hot water. The furnishings consisted of two single beds with nightstands; a small wooden table and 2 wooden chairs; a minibar; a tiny wall-mounted televison (with only one English-language channel: CNN); and an armoire. The beds were not comfortable--like lumpy army cots, with flat pillows. The hotel was very clean, and the desk staff spoke enough English for us to manage (tho we asked for extra bed pillows and got extra duvets instead). The hotel claims to have wifi, but we didn't try it. The breakfast was very nice: fruit, eggs, pastries, cereals, yogurts, etc., and the coffee was okay.
Overall, it seemed a little pricey, but we had a great time!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the beds
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeepot/NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

The Hotel Golden Stag is in a prime location near the Old Town Square, Municipal House and Powder Tower. The staff was friendly and efficient. All spoke enough English to understand what we wanted.

The lobby was nice with a cafe bar. The breakfast was very good. The room was clean but somewhat sparten. The bed felt like an army cot and some of the usual hotel accessories were missine. i.e no place to put your suitecase except the floor, no soap tray in the shower. The street noise was a bit loud at times. My wife and I did not sleep well there.

The place is historic built in the 1300s.

We were asked to pay in cash and that we could obtain case a few steps from the front door at an ATM.

The only reason I am rating this hotel as above average is the outstanding location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2007

This is a super little hotel for the money. The rooms are clean and neat with fresh clean bedding. The beds aren't the most comfortable I've ever slept in but absolutely fine. The reception area is very quaint, with lovely staff who were very helpful. Our bedroom was a moderate size (the smallest type possible) and overlooked the small central courtyard. You will inevitably hear some outside noise, but that has to be expected staying in the centre of the tourist area. Get a little further out of town if you want total peace and quiet!
The maids came into our room to make the beds etc quite late in the day rather than in the morning, and did a fine job.
Breakfast was typical European style - a small selection of pastries, cereal, yoghurts and cheese and meats. There are only about 8 tables in the breakfast room, but I was there last week and didn't have a problem getting a table.
The only down side of this hotel is that there is no air-con and it was 33'c outside!
All in all, a great little hotel - very quaint and without the creature comforts you may want, but fantastic value for money in an excellent location.
I'd go back, and my brother is going back next month for his 3rd time!

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — No air con
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizajanec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#209 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
#339 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#126 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#305 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#82 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Golden Age
Prague Golden Age
#289 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden deer

Property: Hotel Golden deer
Address: Shtupartska 598/6 | Celetna 11, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel U Zlateho Jelena)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Golden deer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming little Prague hotel, situated in a unique historical building from the year 1366, excellently located next to Prague's Old Town Square. We offer spacious rooms with all necessary amenities, free Wi-Fi internet access, local atmosphere and personal attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Golden deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing