We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old hotel in the Old Town”
Review of Hotel Golden Deer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Golden Deer
Ranked #268 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Golden Deer on Celetna Street, is perfectly located in the heart of the Old Town. A very warm welcome, a spotlessly clean room in an historic building, with surprisingly modern plumbing, and a hearty breakfast to start the day. This was our experience, and one that we intend to repeat!
Marvelous value, too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 268 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

Clean, good hotel with large room in the center of the Old city. Great location. Large bathroom, good clean lovely bedroom. Very good breakfast. Staff is very friendly. Disadvantage: there is no elevators, you have to upstairs and downstairs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for the past 4 years. It is across the main square from the clock, just behind the church. The bedrooms are large and aired, with old fashioned furniture which fits in well with the building. Prague has many things to see and do. You can start at Wenceslas square and do any of the yellow umbrella tours, these are a must. The full day tour is great, takes around 6 hours and you walk quite a bit but you see the castle, go on a boat and a train and have lunch, it's really interesting. I would highly recommend this hotel as a perfect base in a very pretty city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because we wanted to be in the center of town. You can't get much more in the city center then this hotel. We choose a two room "suite'; it was really large. Odd bathroom...you needed to climb up about 5 steps. No standup shower, just a bathtub with a shower hose. You might want to take some slippers to the hotel, because of the old wooden floor. Big downside to the hotel....no air-conditioning. June/July 2012 has been very hot in Prague. We only had one fan for our very large room. I would stay here again in the spring/fall/winter. I like my AC. I would have to think about staying here again in the summer.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We loved this hotel. It's not luxurious but it's clean, decked out in antique furniture, right in the centre of town and they make their own cakes!
Breakfast was nice, the staff were friendly and helpful, and we were able to go home to the hotel in the afternoon and freshen up after a full day of sightseeing in Prague because the hotel is in such a great location.
We read a lot of reviews saying it was noisy at night due to the proximity to the Old Town, and yes, it was a bit loud at times, but this did not taint our stay at all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night as I was sitting a university exam in Prague. The hotel was a charming old building and my room had lovely high ceilings and was tastefully decorated. However, the best thing about this hotel was the staff: they were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend at this hotel and I would definitely recommend it to everyone. The location of the hotel is great , it is right in the city centre near to all main sights , the staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and cosy with large comfy beds. We also enjoyed the delicious home-made breakfasts and desserts, especially my favourite cheesecake was georgeous! :) We are looking forward to every next visit to Prague and hotel U Zlatého jelena!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#135 of 648 in Prague
494 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis
Metamorphis
#193 of 648 in Prague
674 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 648 in Prague
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#270 of 648 in Prague
207 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#210 of 648 in Prague
354 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#142 of 648 in Prague
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Deer

Address: Stupartska 598/6 | Celetna 11, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel U Zlateho Jelena)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $27 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Golden Deer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Golden Deer is a very charming little Prague hotel, situated in a unique historical building from the year 1366, excellently located next to Prague's Old Town Square. We offer spacious rooms with all necessary amenities, free Wi-Fi internet access, local atmosphere and personal attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Golden Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing