We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel zlateho jelena”
Review of Hotel Golden Deer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Golden Deer
Ranked #276 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2011

This hotel, is good for a budget holiday, as it's location is one of the best, just behind the Old town Square. It is a very basic hotel, but if you just want bed and board it is great, The breakfast was a bit sparse, and bacon and eggs cold,
The staff were friendly and always spoke.
So if you want a basic budget hotel close to the centre , then book here.
Oh one other minus point , in our room the plug didn't fit the plug hole., but shower fine

Room Tip: Steps are uneven so, anyone with a problems walking ask for a groundfloor room as there are no lifts...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheesycharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Golden Deer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 262 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2011

I stayed in room 35 with my partner from the 22nd Nov - 24th November and I found it very easy to find as it was right next to Swaroski in the Old town just 2 seconds off the Old town Square. It took 45 mins to get to the hotel from the airport via the 119 bus then the metro then walking. It is a fantastic location as most sights are walking distance from the hotel which meant we hardly ever used any public transport. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and we got a 2 keys for the room and the hotel. The first key was for our room and the second key was for the main door for the hotel as they close up the reception at 11pm. They main key meant we could leave and come back without any hassle. The room itself was very spacious, the decor in the room is very vintage with a dazzling chandlier and old style wardobes and drawers. It was quite an authentic feel. I did have a problem with outside noise however because we were so exhausted from our day of sightseeing and walking around that at the end of night I slept really well which meant the outside noise did not disturb my sleep. We got the room with the Jacuzzi which was so relaxing when you got in at the end of the night after being outside in the cold. And the towel radiators were always on so the room was always nice and toast which was great! However I would advise to take a supply of toiletries as there was only 2 bars of small soaps and 2 sachets of shampoo/showergel. The total price for the 2 nights was 3106 Kc but we also had two drinks from the mini bar as well so that boosted up the price a little. Also they do not accept credit cards so bring cash to pay for this hotel. Overall this hotel is very pleasant to stay in and I would reccomend staying here if you like the authentic Czech feel rather than a modern chain of hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenye-east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This is a very nice hotel, very clean and nice interior. Fantastic location - right behind the Tyn Church. We did not have WIFI signal though in our room, which was a bit frustrating since we had to go down to go online...

Otherwise the people are VERY VERY nice, and great hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belobr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

In the middle of prague, excellant for pedaestrians, near to all sights, friendly and qualfied staff, clean and stylished old building, "yes" you're in the centre-you hear people in the night and morning, we'd like to come back- see you in hotel 'u zlateho jelena'
als koelner habe ich mich redlich in englisch bemueht und kann nur schreoben: das hotel war joot!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amedif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I was skeptical when I booked this hotel, but there was a review that I had read that made me feel confident we were choosing the right place to stay. And we were not disappointed. Our room was huge, with a balcony that overlooked Celenta Street. The staff was always pleasant and happy to help in any way they could. The breakfast that was included with the cost of the room exceeded our expectations. The only problem we had was with the WIFI. We were in Building A, 2nd floor and the WIFI did not reach us. We heard that from a few other guests who were in our building and other buildings. We had to access WIFI in the reception area. We would recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I with my wife spent 7days including the New Year in this hotel. Despite I've ordered and paid for superior double room with Jacuzzi they move us in the usual double room without Jacuzzi. We didn't understand this at first and only next day asked them to move us to corresponding "spacious” superior room. By the way at the room we spend first night was extremely cold, probably it was something wrong with radiator. Last 6 days we indeed spent in spacious room with Jacuzzi, but Jacuzzi was very small and suitable only for man of average size.
Ordinary buffet breakfast in the nearest building can be rated as “good enough” with sausages, beacon, eggs and simple cookies; but we suffered from the lack of high quality tea. Do not count on internet in your room, because it works only in lobbies and halls, probably due to old thick concrete walls, which actually gives you a feeling of old Prague.
But this place have one superior merit: the location is great!, very close to The Old Square of Prague! If you going to see all historical places of Prague this hotel is very convenient for this.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loki_Precious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is just steps off of old town square and the tourist center of the city. we were 3 guests and a 19 month old child. the room we got was HUGE and had a great view of the bustling street below. I was super happy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicaraguadiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#137 of 648 in Prague
478 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#203 of 648 in Prague
540 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#279 of 648 in Prague
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#221 of 648 in Prague
346 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis
Metamorphis
#193 of 648 in Prague
657 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#70 of 648 in Prague
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Deer

Address: Stupartska 598/6 | Celetna 11, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel U Zlateho Jelena)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $76 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Golden Deer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Golden Deer is a very charming little Prague hotel, situated in a unique historical building from the year 1366, excellently located next to Prague's Old Town Square. We offer spacious rooms with all necessary amenities, free Wi-Fi internet access, local atmosphere and personal attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Golden Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing