We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for the real 3 start hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alton
Ranked #257 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great value for the real 3 start hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

Clean, comfortable, aside from noisy tourists and entertainment, takes only 20-30 min walk to be in the historic center, or only 2-3 tram/subway stops. Highly recommended for cleanness, good rooms, nice reception and breakfast included.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    114
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
42
62
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed at the Alton over the Valentine's weekend. The hotel isn't much from the outside, but the rooms are spotless, the breakfast excellent (eggs, sausage, cereals, fruit, breads, cakes etc) and the location is brilliant. The hotel is just around the corner from metro stop I P Pavlova and within minutes you are in the centre of Prague. The metro system is first class, easy to understand and very, very cheap. We paid very little for this hotel and couldn't believe the value for money. Make sure you compare prices on the hotel comparison sites rather than booking directly with the Alton or a travel agency as the prices vary dramatically. We paid just over £60 for three nights and some sites quoted as much as two hundred. If you want a very cheap, clean place to stay without bells and whistles, you can't go wrong with this place. We were very pleased and we can be quite hard to please! As for Prague itself, it's quite small in comparison with other capital cities, which made everything easy to get to and access. The old centre is beautiful, especially when covered in snow. Places to eat and drink are plentiful and very good value in comparison to the prices we pay in the UK. The old streets in the castle area are very pretty and meals/drinks are cheaper than around the Old Square. If you go in Winter, make sure you take shoes with a very good grip. The streets are all cobbled or tiled and people were slipping and falling all over the place! When we arrived at the airport we bought a 3 day travel pass for 300 Czech Korona each(approx £10 each) this gave us access to all forms of public transport throughout our stay. Catch bus 119 from the airport to where the bus terminates (it begins with a D, takes about 20 mins) and get on the metro into the centre of Prague. It couldn't be more simple. The cost of a cab is apparently £30 one way. Make sure you visit the old Jewish centre, which is very moving considering the fate of the Czech Jews during the Holocaust. The Pinkas Synagogue lives as a memoral to over 80000 murdered Jews and there are exhibitions throughout the Jewish area that are highly educational but also act to remind us of what this community has suffered over the centuries. Try to endure the Furnicular Railway that takes you up to the only green space in Pargue that overlooks the city (magical in Winter) and instead of getting the railway back down, walk down as you will go down some lovely streets and arrive at the castle. We will be returning to this lovely city next Winter as the snow definately makes it more magical. We didn't see any evidence of the Stag/Hen parties that we were warned about and I'm sure that this is because we didn't seek out the busy bars etc. Prague has something for everyone and is perfect for a romantic getaway. The Alton was a perfect base.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Derbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURNLEY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

good clean hotel , rooms cleaned daily,continental breakfast, as much as you want, always fresh ,the breakfast room which was a bar on other reports is now just a coffee and internet room at night ,underground and tram at the door, good local cafe,mexican,irish bar mcdonalds kfc supermarket within 100 yards.If going to Prague agian would be in this hotel for sure

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BurnleyBinsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

Just back from a 4 night stay at the Hotel Alton and i have to say i was delighted with it. Helpful reception staff, great hot buffet breakfast served from 7:30 til 10:30 every morning with lots of choice and all very fresh.
Location wise you couldnt ask for better, 100 yds from I P Pavlova Metro station. We got the 119 bus from the airport to Devika, onto the metro, one change of line and jobs a good un. Max 1 hr from airport to checking in, ideal especially at a quid each for a ticket!! Just get your 26CZK ticket (75 minutes) from the desk at the airport and wait outside for the 119 bus (about every 10 mins)

Hotel is about 7 or 8 minutes walk to Wenceslas Square, with a nice few bars on route should you need a drink ;) It was 30 odd degrees when we went so the more stops the better!
Bandito's Mexican is only a few hundred yards away and has happy hr 16:30-18:30 where Pints of Budvar are 25CZK instead of 35, so a pound a pint.

Hoping to go back in winter and will definately be staying at the Alton again, no doubt.

Prague itself is fantastic, so clean and relaxed atmosphere, i had one of the best meals i've ever had at "Sherwoods" Argentinian fillet of beef in a port and onion sauce, top notch.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steevio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, Surrey, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

We chose the Alton, because of its location and price. We were not disappointed. The hotel was exactly as described on their web site, and I feel that other reviews were generally correct, with one eception: The Continental Buffet Breakfast Buffet was one of the best that I have encountered in a tourist hotel. The selection was enormous - I can't think of anything they could have added. The hotel is about 40 yards from Pavlova Metro Station, and the tram stops. The number 22 tram took you to so many useful places, it was frequently used. The combined metro/tram ticket is only CZK100 per 24 hour period, which is excellent value, and is bought at the Metro station. The easy access to all places together with a nicely run hotel made it an ideal choice

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John11_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

This hotel was just right for a short break, near the metro, good value and clean. It looks recently decorated with carpets looking fresh. Photos on the hotel's own website are a fair representation of the hotel, possibly with the exception of the breakfast room, which was more pleasant and open, despite being in the basement.
The buffet breakfast was very good, with some cooked options and plenty of other choices including fruit, juices, cereals, meats and cheeses, breads and pastries. It was completely self service with all items replenished right through to the end by inobtrusive staff.
Our room was quiet with a good shower room and no disturbance. It was a bit on the small side, but perfectly adequate. We did notice that some rooms appeared to have just sky-lights, as shown on the hotel's photos.
The standard of service at the hotel was excellent with friendly reception staff who recommended an excellent restaurant nearby. There is a small lounge at the front of the hotel where a vending machine is available for hot drinks, and cold drinks can be bought from reception but there are plenty of shops nearby. The empty fridge was handy and will suit many guest better than a stocked mini bar with lots of unwanted items.
The hotel is on a busy road, but this isn't really an issue unless you are at the front and want to open windows, but this is the case in many a city hotel.
All aspects of this booking were completely successful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bunny19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

The Hotel Alton proved to be a perfect base for our 3 night break in Prague.
It was very easy and cheap to get to via public transport from the airport, the metro station being only yards from the hotel entrance.
The trams are also next to the hotel, but we only used them once as we were able to walk easily around the city from the hotel. Luckily we had lovely weather for our entire stay. Even the castle area was not too far on foot.
The staff were extremely helpful, and the room clean with very comfortable beds. Although on a busy street we had no problems at all with noise.
The breakfast was fine with plenty of choice.
Would highly recommend this hotel for a reasonably priced city break in Prague.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jule.F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#148 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Praha 2
Tivoli Hotel Prague
Tivoli Hotel Prague
#248 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Praha 2
Ankora
Ankora
#264 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Ambiance Hotel
Ambiance Hotel
#167 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Lunik
Hotel Lunik
#191 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#290 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton

Property: Alton
Address: Legerova 62, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#193 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alton 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Alton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing