We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, friendly staff and would visit again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Ranked #49 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location, friendly staff and would visit again.”
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We spent one week at Domus Balthasar from July 5th. The hotel itself is located perfectly just a couple of minutes walk from Charles Bridge in really beautiful surroundings. Eventhough the hotel is so central it is very peaceful particularly at night time. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, we had our 18 month old with us and nothing was too much trouble for them, which makes travelling with a small child much easier. We booked a suite which was very well equipped and spacious, with high ceilings and always very well maintained and clean. One small problem is because it's such an old building there is no air con but then the weather was unusually warm. Overall an excellent stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ned1Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    110
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
48
269
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The hotel we love it. The location is perfect board the Charles Bridge. The charming rooms and no noise and good breakfast. The only downside is that there is no lift.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msegura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I have used Tripadvisor for years to book, but this is my first time actually reviewing a hotel. I will admit that I am a very tough critic when it comes to hotels, I am not one for roughing it! My husband and I took our 13 month old daughter to Europe to visit my brother and his family (who also have a little one - 16 months old). We took a trip to Prague and all stayed at this hotel. It is a quaint little hotel in a perfect location. Very close to all the attractions, plenty of restaurants within walking distance and amazing views from the minute you step out the door. The hotel staff was amazing, they set up cribs in the rooms for us, helped with directions, recommendations for restaurants that would be child friendly etc. Breakfast was included at the Bohemian Bagel, which is fantastic and connected to the hotel. We stayed in one of the suites, which are extremely spacious, huge bathrooms, refrigerator, wet bar, and range top. This is an old building that was redone so there is no air conditioning, but even though it was close to 90 degrees when we went, it was comfortable at night in the room. They also provided a fan and there are big windows which open. The only drawback is that there is no elevator, so if you can't climb stairs or carry luggage up (although the staff is more than willing to carry luggage and help in any way), you may want something else. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagoskeptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Really nice hotel in a perfect position in the center of Prague history. Everything is within reach by foot. Rooms are clean and well designed with a mix of modern and medieval architecture characteristic of the old town houses. Free wifi connection also is present. Personnel is really kind and ready to help for any request. Breakfast is served in a linked café where you can taste the typical bagels. Last but not least the price is competitive. I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerFila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

My husband & I stayed 4 nights at the Domus Balthasar Design Hotel in the attic room. The room was very clean, cozy & just what we were looking for. The reception staff were friendly & very helpful. The airport transfers were great and right on time. Breakfast was included in our room rate at the little cafe downstairs & it was splendid. They also offer a great lunch menu there too. The location was excellent, right by Charles Bridge and so many more attractions. My husband and I cannot fault this hotel in anyway! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Ginger_Macs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in the UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

My husband and I just had 3 days in Prague staying at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel. We have done a lot of travel and would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Prague. Mona and the rest of the team were very kind. All of the staff spoke to us happily in english and could not be more helpful. The room was EXTREMELY large and clean and had the most wonderful view. Plus it is right next to Charles Bridge you could not get a better spot. Loved my stay here!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunky2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We loved our recent return visit to Prague. After much surfing, we hit on the Balthasar, mainly due to the excellent comments and feedback left. We have to add our own.

The room was magnificent, and all staff were welcoming and helped make our stay very special. The site is just right, near enough to all the sights without being noisy.

We will definitely stay here gain on our next visit to Prague. Thanks!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottinghamMartian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#78 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#79 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#51 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#17 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Property: Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Address: Mostecka 282/5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#102 Family Hotel in Prague
#112 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle. Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. Please notice our historic house uniquely located within an UNESCO listed World Heritage Site does not have an elevator. Due to a lower ceiling Attic double rooms are not recommended for people taller than 1,80 m/6 feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing