We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot for a perfect stay in Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Ranked #50 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a perfect stay in Prague”
Reviewed October 19, 2006

We stayed at the Domus Balthasar for four nights while in Prague for a friends wedding. The hotel was booked through the wedding organisers, and it was the perfect place.
The couple getting married had one of the suites, equipped with kitchenette, a while we had an attic room with wooden beams and huge windows.
The hotel was incredibley romantic and tastefully decorated and laid out. I know hotels are not everything when you visit a new place - because you tend to spend most of your time out and about but this hotel made all the difference to our stay. Perfect!

  • Liked — The look of the rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Careful of missing the front door! It's easy to walk straight past
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Apple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    110
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
48
269
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2006

We couldn't think of a better location for a week's stay in Prague. Just a short block from the #22 tram and steps from the West end of the Charles Bridge. Our room #5 was terrific: a very comfortable bed, a huge room and windows all around, totally quiet when the windows are closed The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, including those in the new dining room, a lovely spot that is also a wine bar in the evening. The usual breakfast offerings are supplemented by a full "English Breakfast" on request, and the cappucino was excellent.
We had beautiful September weather so heat was not an issue. Be advised, there is no elevator in this small hotel, so you'll work off some calories if your room is on a top floor.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank goodneighbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2005

A Modest facade gives way to the most welcoming small reception area with down to earth, friendly staff.
Ascending the stairs (no lift), the tasteful interior fit-out hinted at what was to become our room.
On opening the double doors onto our vast first floor room, we were welcomed by the most wonderful, spacious accommodation, wonderfully decorated, hi-fi, heated bathroom floor!. Perfect. As for a Room with a View, 50 metres from one of Charles Bridges' towers looming over us through the snow, a week before Christmas couldn't have been planned better.
Definitely will be back soon.
Also must say that the food and hospitality of the Czech's was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2005

The hotel is in the centre of Prague, close the the castle and a the end of Charles Bridge (so its just a short walk to the Jewish Quarter and Old Town). Its modern without ruining the charm of the building and has really friendly staff. The room was lovely, really clean and has a views of Charles Bridge. Breakfast is served in a bakery under the building and is excellent. Recommend the hotel without any reservations (although if your going drinking you might want to stay in a different part of Prague - night life is limited).

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Claire_murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2005

We booked one of the loft rooms after reading the reviews here, and we were not disappointed, at all. It certainly isn't suitable for anyone with mobility problems, but we loved it. It's quiet, clean, warm, tastefully decorated without seeming pretencious, and best of all it is in the exact place we would have chosen. Right on the castle side of the Charles Bridge, with most of the places we wanted to visit a walk away. Breakfast at the Bakeshop was great - you could choose two dishes from a choice of 6 (waffles, eggs, meat & cheese, croissant etc). I saw some guests had moaned about it being disorganised, but I think of it as laid back. It's a lovely coffee shop to have close by - so much better than the usual depressing breakfast buffet.
This was an ideal place for two frazzled parents to spend a few days totally relaxing

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kizzylew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego california
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2005

You will not do better on location that this hotel, downside is carrying your luggage up the flights of stairs especially if you are on the top floor, but the room was quiet and spacious with contemporary style furnishings that would have suited a more modern property,however we really enjoyed this little find in Prague with the best loaction you can get. breakfast was 5 stars.....Go check it out for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank pojomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2005

This hotel is in a perfect location. The rooms are spotlessly clean, modern and tasteful. The staff were very obliging and the complimentary breakfast in the cafe next door was excellent.
A couple of negatives are that there are a lot of stairs(no lift) so would not suit some users. Secondly, no air conditioning, we were on the top floor and the room was exceedingly hot at night. There is a fan but that is noisy as was trying to leave the windows open. I would say this hotel would be perfect for cooler months and I am sure that for the superior quality the above factors may be acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kathy_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#78 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#80 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#51 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#17 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Property: Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Address: Mostecka 282/5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#102 Family Hotel in Prague
#112 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle. Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. Please notice our historic house uniquely located within an UNESCO listed World Heritage Site does not have an elevator. Due to a lower ceiling Attic double rooms are not recommended for people taller than 1,80 m/6 feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing