We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Ranked #67 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2008

One of my favourite hotels in Prague, in fact one of my favourite places anywhere. The combination of historic charm and modern elegance is outstanding, helped by thoughful touches such as high quality audio hi-fi in every room.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank king_0f_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 460 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2008

We stayed at Domus Balthasar for our wedding in Prague on 2nd May 2008. We initially liked the hotel , but many problems began to become apparent.
We stayed on the first floor and were constantly subjected to noise from other (drunken) guests using the free 24hr internet PC outside our bedroom door. On 2 occasions we had to ask guest to be quiet at 1-2am. The staff did not seem to care.
Our shower was broken when we arrived and to be fair the staff had it repaired the next morning - but the shower door leaked and we had to mop the floor each morning and evening.
The bath mixer tap fell off and badly flooded the floor on the morning of our wedding - not a good start to the day.

We found that the decor was not up to standard for an establishment with a reputaton like this. There was damp on the ceilings, loose plaster on the walls and one curtain was falling down.

By far the most upsetting aspect was the lack of breakfast facilities - the Bohemia Bagel cafe next door is used to feed the hotel guests. This would be fine apart from the fact that customers off the street received preferential treatment over guests, tables were NEVER reserved for guests and it took 25-40 minutes each morning to get served.
We had to spend our first morning as a married couple sharing a tiny table with foreign tourists who were having an argument.

We would NEVER recommend this hotel to other guests - the only plus points were good loction and a very comfortable bed!!
(Photos of defects available on request)

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ruprect73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, GM at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2008

We really value high most of our guests are happy at our place. We even appreciate they are willing to share their opinion with others or even recommend us. Thank you. But as my grandma used to say, there´s no one in the world who would please everybody...although we do our best... We remember the young couple, authors of the above reference, as very nice people, always smiling, the lady even hugged our receptionist when leaving back home. Yes, the hand shower did not keep it´s position on the holder above (sliding down the rail), but we were informed late evening and repaired it in the morning. The guests never reported any other inconvenience. We are very happy to have very nice guests. I have hardly ever seen anybody drunk or loud in late hours. I am sorry if that happened that very day, but nobody communicated any trouble. Our guests always have preferential service in our breakfast facilities as well as separate tables. Should we know there´s anything wrong, we would immediately intervene. Not talking about reoccurrence of described unfortunate circumstances. The house´s foundations date back to middle ages, the rooms are baroque and the plasters work – there appear tiny cracks on some spots of the ceiling where it is not wooden. It is not plasterboard. But damp on the ceilings?, loose plaster? – I just wonder how did we manage to annoy the gentleman to this extent. I am sorry. I wish this young couple their marriage is happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

After reading the reviews, selected Balthasar for a 2 night stay.

Positive Aspects: convenient location at the end of the Charles Bridge ,spacious and well decorated room, comfortable bed, great bathroom. Breakfast at the Bagel restaurant attached to the hotel was adequate, however, no fruit or yogarts.

Negative Aspects: the front desk staff treated us with indifference and, were at times, defensive and argumentative. This was one of the most unpleasant aspects of our stay and the primary reason we would not stay at this hotel on our next trip to Prague. Examples- misplaced the city map given to us on arrival and was asked, "where is the map I gave you? Satellite tv was not working and when I told the clerk this was a prolbem for us, she said.. THIS is a problem, well, we only have CNN anyway.. and explained that the weather had caused the problem, which was not possible.

Sheets were not changed and although I left the bathrobe to be washed and replaced, the robe was not replaced so I had no robe for the next day. Again, sloppy service.

Parking is a major problem. We paid 35.00 US per day to park in the Aria hotel parking garage which was a 10 minute walk from our hotel. When we needed items from the car, had to walk to car which was an inconvenience because we then had to give ID and wait to go to the garage.

Departure day, we brought the car to the front of the hotel to load the luggage. Away from the car for 15 minutes and the police locked the wheel and ticketed . The clerk at the hotel was clearly n support of the police and actually told him we had been warned.. so ended the trip with at 50.00 US parking fine.

If you are looking for well grromed, accomodating, and welcoming staff, do not stay at Domus. For 200,00 US per night, there are far better hotels in Prague.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DonnaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

It takes me a long time to find hotels as I am very demanding in what I look for and places need to be well reviewed, look good and be at the right price. My girlfriend and I booked an attic room for 3 nights at 98euro/night inc breakfast. The hotel was perfect, the room was beautiful, exactly as shown in their pictures, a fantastic location a minute from the Charles Bridge, warm, spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were huge! We used the taxi service on arrival and departure which was excellent, we were 2 hours late and arrived at 11pm on a Sunday evening and the man was there waiting for us. I am sure you can get cheaper transfers but this was far too convenient! I am going to add some photos to the travellers photos section also, but I cannot recommend this place highly enough. They even recommended a good local Czech place for us to eat at. All in all excellent! For a great meal I would also recommend Hertogova Chilena, next to Kampa Park, pricey by Czech standards but very good.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom_hardy_hero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Booked this hotel through visitprague.cz and got a fabulous rate for a deluxe room. The Hotel is in a fantastic location, near Charles Bridge. Check in was done at a small reception desk, with a very helpful lady who even carried some of our luggage up the stairs for us.

Our room (No 5) was fantastic, although the climb up the stairs was a killer ! Breakfast in the cafe next door (Bohemia Bagel), was very good too. There is a good choice on the menu, and the service was excellent, and the cooked breakfast with a bagel set you up for the day.

We walked past the sister hotel Domus Henrici near the Castle, and the Balthasar is definitely the better choice location wise.

I would recommend this hotel time and time again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SFeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Located just a stone's throw away from the Charles Bridge, we stayed in two different rooms here because the website we reserved our room messed up our reservation. We originally reserved the attic room which was so cute and charming, i actually really liked it. It does get hot up there, but no worries...they have a very powerful air conditioner and climbing 4 flights of stairs can be a bit tiring but it was worth it every day. We were then moved 1 floor down to an amazing deluxe room (at no extra charge) with a great view of the Charles bridge. The rooms all have tubs and the delux has a shower, taking a bath everyday felt so luxurious, they provide body/hair wash and lotion made of dead see minerals and even provide little bottles of dead sea mineral salts to throw in the bath. Very clean hotel and the gals that run the place are very friendly. Probably the best and most memorable hotel i have ever stayed in (just trust me - I have high standards when it comes to hotels).

I highly recommend their private car service to take you to and from the airport (cost is 600 Koruna)

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nirvanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2007

My husband and I went to Prague partly for work and partly because it was our wedding anniversary, for a couple of nights in June. Very smooth booking arrangements via the internet including arrangements for us to be met at the airport by the hotel's very own driver, which was definitely worth the money (around GBP 16).

The hotel itself is charming and our deluxe room was airy and spacious: a second floor corner room with two walls of floor-to- ceiling windows and glimpses of the Charles Bridge. Big comfortable bed with duvets (although, as it was pretty hot, a top sheet would have been nice). Lovely modern and clean bathroom with a bath and separate shower stall. Loads of white towels and robes. Don't forget to take your favourite CDs or buy some while you are there.

Hotel was in the perfect location and definitely on the right side of the river. A short walk over the Charles Bridge to the town square and a ten to fifteen minute walk up the hill to the castle. Lots of excellent riverside restaurants and bars nearby and good advice from the hotel receptionist on the best places to eat. Staff welcoming, friendly and efficient. Altogether a great hotel in a great city. Perfect for a luxury break. We will be going back to try it out in the winter.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank SmallMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#81 of 648 in Prague
343 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#77 of 648 in Prague
747 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#33 of 648 in Prague
643 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#43 of 648 in Prague
799 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Balthasar Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Balthasar Design Hotel

Address: Mostecka 282/5 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#101 Family Hotel in Prague
#111 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $98 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Balthasar Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design hotel Domus Balthasar is a baroque building with medieval foundation and 21st century design, situated on the Royal Route, in the heart of the oldest and most romantic part of Prague - Lesser Quarter (Mala Strana), few steps from Charles Bridge, close to Old Town and Prague Castle. Domus Balthasar is nearly of all most popular sights within easy reach on foot or by tram. Although is situated in the centre, also in a neighborbood of nicest parks. Business centers easily accessible. It is the ideal place for a holiday as well as for an enjoyable business trip. The building's history goes back to the 14th century, though the fittings are either modern or timeless. We do our best to respect history while at the same time respecting the current needs and tastes of our guests. Our interiors are made warm by wooden, atypical furniture with clean lines in dark colours which combines well with the light, creamy tones of the carpets, curtains and other decorations. Hotel has 8 rooms including 2 Double attic rooms, 3 generously spacious deluxe double rooms, 2 Suites with kitchenette and 1 Royal. Please notice our historic house uniquely located within an UNESCO listed World Heritage Site does not have an elevator. Due to a lower ceiling Attic double rooms are not recommended for people taller than 1,80 m/6 feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Domus Balthasar Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Balthasar Design Prague
Domus Balthasar Design Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing