We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Domus Balthasar Design Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$830
$483
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$196
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Julian(Prague)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$180
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$393
$233
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Unitas Hotel(Prague)
$153
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$122
$89
Park Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$282
$232
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveler rating
363
116
6
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
116
6
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattic roomno elevatorbagel shopcharles bridgeperfect locationadjoining cafemala stranaold townfirst floorflights of stairstop floorprague castlebreakfast is servedseparate showerhigh ceilingshistorical buildinghuge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 491 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was our first visit to Prague and I booked this hotel based on the reviews from this site. We were not disappointed. The hotel was lovely and quaint, the room amazing and the service excellent. Upon checking in, the lady at the front desk was very courteous and enquired about our trip over. She provided information about the local area and gave us leaflets detailing various tours, sights, etc. The room she showed us too, was amazing; I definitely recommend room 4. Seperate living area with a kitchenette, huge bedroom and bathroom. The bed and sofa's were amazingly comfortable. Breakfast was also very nice. There was a cold spread laid out; the adjoining cafe is apparently famous for it's bagels. Hot food was also cooked to your liking.

The staff at the cafe and the hotel were friendly, polite and helpful. More than happy to give directions, advice and assistance. The rooms were faultlessly cleaned everyday; with fresh linen and towels.

The location of the hotel was also very good. At the foot of the Charles Bridge, on the Mala Strana side. About 5 mins walk over the bridge to the Old Town and about 15-20 min walk to Wenceslas Square. There are a lot of restaurants, pubs and shops local to the hotel.

I definitely recommend this hotel for a visit to Prague. It is reasonably priced, comfortable, spacious and in an excellent location. What more could be asked for?

Room Tip: Room 4 was fabulous
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saffy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomusDD, receptionist at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Dear saffy01, thank you for your time taken to write about your stay at the Domus Balthasar hotel.
It is a great pleasure for us to read, that you spent a pleasant time in our house and that you remained highly satisfied with our services and facilities. Sincerely, Marketa Slaba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was our second visit to Prague and by far the most memorable. We decided this time around to find somewhere a little more unique to stay, and I can say without any hesitation that this hotel was perfect for us in every way. We had prearranged with the hotels staff to be picked up at the airport by there driver Milan, which saved getting the bus, train and tram. The car pulled up at the hotel 25 minutes later and about 100 meters from the Vlatava River and the famous Charles Bridge. Our loft apartment was on the forth floor and was exactly as we had seen in the photos. It offered everything we needed. A very comfy bed, and a nice big bath. It also had a tv, dvd player,fridge and was very clean.Its a beautifully unique design with all of its wooden beams and angled walls and the best of all was the view from the window. If your keen,you can step out and sit on a ledge and have stunning views of the Prague Castle and St Nicolaus Church. The hotel offers an included buffet breakfast in the cafe adjoining, but will also cook you up some eggs, bacon and sausages if your feeling extra hungry. Our waiter Peter was very friendly and extremely accommodating. The hotel staff were just fantastic and were very happy to help out with any request. You can also get travel tickets from reception and there is an ATM machine conveniently right next door. The best thing of all for us was the location. Only a short walk across the bridge you will find yourself in Old Town Square and be witness to some simply stunning sites. There are 100s of wonderful restaurants in Prague, many within minutes of the hotel. If you are looking for something special, just ask one of the staff members. The Thai Restaurant Mona recommended was one of the best we have been too. I could write so much more about our stay with here at the Domas Balthasar. Wonderful location, wonderful staff and a destination well worth going back too. Our sincere thanks to all of the staff for making our stay just perfect. A special thanks goes to Mona whose generosity, attitude and smile captured our hearts.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenPlacesHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Dear, Marty

many thanks for your kind words and review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

I hope you will choose Dommus Balthasar for your next stay again.

Sincerely yours,

Domus Balthasar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic trip to Prague and stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The location could not be more perfect, we could see the Charles Bridge from our room and were able to walk easily to all the main places of interest. The hotel itself is a hidden gem - from the road you wouldn't know it was there. It is clean, modern and the room (no 5) was large and bright. The bed was extremely comfortable and facilities in the room were good. The staff were friendly and Milan the driver was very helpful. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 5 is large and bright with numerous windows, from which you can see the Charles Bridge. It is on the 3rd floor, but for most people the stairs will not be a problem.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenPlacesHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Dear, Rudoni

many thanks for your kind words and review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

I hope you will choose Dommus Balthasar for your next stay again.

Sincerely yours,

Domus Balthasar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My wife and I love this Hotel!

I have stayed here three times and would not stay elsewhere.
The staff is superbly friendly and helpful, the rooms clean, the included breakfast very satisfying and the location is romantic and beautiful.

A big Thank you to all the staff at Hidden Places Hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landseair26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenPlacesHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Dear, Simon

many thanks for your kind words and review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

I hope you will choose Dommus Balthasar for your next stay again.

Sincerely yours,

Domus Balthasar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

this is one of the most charming + wonderful hotels i ever stayed in. the hotel itself is a beautiful mixture of modern, tasteful design + the charm of an old building, offering the the utmost comfort in a fabulous, central location. on top of it all is the hotel staff that could not be any more friendly, warm + helpful. they made all of our wishes possible with a smile on their faces, including a super early check in! thank you !!! we stayed in a royal room on the third floor, that left nothing to desire ! can not wait to come back !!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anfia112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenPlacesHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Domus Balthasar Design Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Dear, Ajsat

many thanks for your kind words and review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

I hope you will choose Dommus Balthasar for your next stay again.

Sincerely yours,

Domus Balthasar team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews