We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location to Main Square (Astronomical Clock)”
Review of Palac U Kocku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palac U Kocku
Ranked #127 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
De Winton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent Location to Main Square (Astronomical Clock)”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

A great place to stay for three nights in a comfortable apartment with two large bedrooms and two bathrooms. Rooms were clean and fresh and exceeded our expectation. The breakfast area was cozy in the basement of the hotel. Food and service was good and plentiful. The hotel staff were attentive and helpful. The hotel is less that a kilometer to the main square and close walking distance to the wartime ghetto area. Many restaurants to visit as well as all types of shopping.
There was no parking at the hotel and we were fortunate that our driver delivered us to the door.
Since we traveled in May the temperature in the rooms was not a concern as there was no air conditioning. Wifi worked best in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Eugene N., Many thanks for your kind review. We were really happy to read that you had a great stay at hotel Palác U Kočků and we look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    188
    40
    9
    4
See reviews for
105
192
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We recently spent 4 night's in this hotel and the day we arrived it was a scorcher so I was very disappointed to find no aircon, just a pedestal fan. The only other downside is the noise from the street as you are right in the heart of it and with it being so warm we had to have window's open, we were on the first floor so I suggest asking for one away from street and higher up.
The hotel itself was lovely, our room was modern, clean, with a nice breakfast, they have the square European pillow's so maybe ask for a normal one as they can be tricky to sleep on. The other room that my niece had was a bit less modern but still nice and had a modern bathroom. Reception staff friendly, breakfast staff got more friendly as the day's went on, (just not morning people perhaps).

Room Tip: Higher floor away from front of hotel. Request normal pillow, square one's hard to sleep with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Linda,
thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We are really happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you in future.
With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for just one night and apart from the disadvantage of having no air con I could not fault this hotel. Really luxurious rooms and bathrooms. Central location so close to all nightlife and day trips. Just absolutely brilliant and at £70 a night it was amazing value for money

Room Tip: Ask for ground or first floor rooms as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyfrenchbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear crazyfrenchbird, Many thanks for your kind review. We were really happy to read that you had a great stay at hotel Palác U Kočků and we look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel is right in the middle of the centre. We had a room not facing the street and it was quiet, even though it was still busy and lively in the streets.
Rooms are very spacious, our room even had a little hallway between the bedroom and the bathroom.
No A/C, and it was a bit too warm to sleep (with temperatures in Prague being around 26C).
The hotel is not accessible by car. You can park your car in a partner hotel, which is about 15 minutes walking away. With lots of luggage, it might be uncomfortable, however car is parked very safely there.
There is no elevator in the hotel.
I liked the hotel a lot, beside a bit of hassle lugguage wise (no parking and no elevator), it was really good. Nice staff, nice rooms, good breakfast and perfect location.
Free WI-FI was working very well.

Room Tip: Not facing street. Not top floor - as it might get a little warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eveline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Eveline B,
We are delighted that you enjoy your stay in hotel 1. Republic and we appreciate that you shared your experience on Tripadvisor.
We look forward to your next visit
Kind regards
Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I'm not quite sure what all the fuss is with this hotel. Yes, the location is great, slap bang in the centre of town. But other than that... pretty average, with some flaws too. The central location meant there was a lot of street noise (singing at 4am outside, that kind of thing!) and given there was no air-con and Prague is warm in summer, meant the windows needed to be open an night, so we were woken up a few times. The rooms are spacious and clean, but not especially comfortable; the bathroom was definitely on the small side. The breakfast was average, so much so we skipped it on the second morning in favour of a local cafe. The hotel doesn't have any shared space as such, and the bottom two floors are taken over by one giant Czech crystal emporium. Wifi in the rooms is now excellent (in contrast to previous reviews - this has clearly been sorted out). It's a pretty good deal, but I think unless location is critical to you I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winkeladvokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Winkeladvokat,
thank you for your interest in our hotel and your review. We are sorry the street noise dirsturbed you at nights, but that’s something truly beyond our powers, because as in any other city in the world, the nightlife focuses on the city centre mostly. We can also imagine it might be difficult at times, especially when the high temperatures strike, to stay in the building without the A/C.
The problem however is the building being more than six hundred years old therefore protected by the monuments comitee of Prague, which makes it impossible to make such major adjustmens as instaling the AC, since it needs major building adjustments as well. This issue is being compensated by all the rooms being provided a fan.
We are sorry to hear you found the breakfast unsatisfying. The staff is always trying to provide various meals and drinks and doing their best, which is also regularly checked. Of course there might come up when entering the breafkast just before ten o’clock, when it finishes.
Also we are glad to hear you were satisfied with the newly installed wi-fi connection, as we care about the reviews and we are always trying to improve and learn from feedback of the guests.
Hopefully you would give the hotel another chance and you would change your opinion. Thank you for your stay and your review anyway. With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I would have to start by agreeing with some reviews I read prior to booking this hotel: the photos don't do justice to the rooms! The rooms are classy and warm and very spacious.
If any of you read my hotel reviews, I usually tend to comment on the cleanliness of the room and I am actually quite attentive to this. I have nothing to comment here. The room and bathroom were clean and the room smelled so nice everyday after it was cleaned. Sheets were changed after 2 or 3 days.
The rooms are a bit warm and there is no air conditioning but there was a fan in the room. There is also some noise coming from the street so I wouldn't recommend sleeping with your windows open unless you are a heavy sleeper - at night you here people yelling and in the morning trash cars picking up trash. I am not objecting to this. I actually enjoyed hearing all the street noise at night..it felt like the streets were alive.
I read some reviews saying that there is no wifi in the room...there is and the signal was great.
About breakfast, I would have to say that I had quite some expectations as it had great reviews. In my opinion, it isn't all that great. It is not varied and you can choose from a wide range of pastries only if you get up really early..if you go aroung 9 a.m. there is not much to choose from and no refill is done after that hour (i think so cause I never saw it happen). Nevertheless, what you find is good and fresh and pleasant. The location is interesting as it is in a very medieval looking like basement.
The staff is very helpfull and nice irrespective of the hour when you ask them something. We even saw them helping tourists which were not customers of the hotel.
The location is perfect. You walk 2 minutes to the old town square.
Whenever I will visit prague I will lookup this hotel first!

Room Tip: Higher floors are not confronted with the same level of street noise and if you are on 6th floor or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ioana_Purcarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear ipapushy,
Thank you very much for your interest in our hotel and your kind words and a insightful review in general. We are glad you found the room clean, because that’s something we focus on very much.
The issue with the missing AC is, as mentioned in other responses, a bit beyond our powers since the building is protected by the monuments comitee of Prague and therefore it’s impossible to make such major adjustments as installing the AC within the bulding, we are sorry for that, but also we are glad you found the fan useful at the time of your stay.
To be fair, the wifi has been installed just recently, so there really was no wifi in the rooms, but this was solved out as we care about the reviews from our guests and there’s always room for improvement.
The breakfast staff focuses on providing various meals and possibilities, but it’s difficult sometimes to satisfy everyone. The breakfast refill should have been done regularly, so that’s something we had to check and we are sorry for that.
Also thank you very much for praising our staff, we are always trying to make the best out of your stay and other visitors of the city of Prague as well.
Thank you very much again, and we hope to see you soon again.
With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed there last Jan. We were 4 and booked the family apartment. It was perfect, clean, spacious, luxurious and cozy! Breakfast was really good. The location of the hotel was ideal. Staff really helpful. Everything was amazing except for one of the receptionist whom we asked to call for us the airport big cab for to go to the airport when we were leaving and gave him the phone the no. as we were offered 50%, instead he called other 2 private cabs so we paid around 4 times extra and we had no time to solve the issue or else we would have missed our flights.

PS. wifi is only in the reception which is small area and people are gathered so no privacy :) But it was fine for us...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraHany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina M, Manager at Palac U Kocku, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear SaraHany,
first of all thank you very much for your stay and your interest in our hotel. and also thank you for both your kind words and pointing out what did not satisfy you completely.
Regarding the transport issue you experienced. The company, which the receptionist called provides the discount vouchers to be used for one car on the way to/from the airport. The problem in this particular case was that you indeed were only four passengers, but each with two big suitcases which basically couldn’t fit into one car, however big, any way. And in case the receptionist had called a minibus transport, you’d pay even more. So this really was the best option. On the other hand, it wasn’t the company which officially provide the service for us, but a company which you decided for, so there’s no way we can then check if they really apply the discount voucher. But in case you feel you’ve been charged more than you should, you can always fill the complaint with the receipt you received in the car. I am sincerely sorry for your trouble and I can only recommend you to use a different company and always take a receipt from the driver.
Despite I hope that you enjoyed your stay in Prague a I am looking forward to your visit in the future.
With best regards Nina Machatová.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#82 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#105 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#103 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#99 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#104 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
Hotel U Tri Bubnu
#339 of 651 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palac U Kocku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palac U Kocku

Property: Palac U Kocku
Address: Jilska 147/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palac U Kocku 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palac U Kocku stands right on the Royal Route, one of the most beautiful and historically most-interesting sightseeing trails in the city centre of Prague. The hotel is located within the unique U Kocku Palace (Palac U Kocku) and is home to 34 rooms of various sizes with stylish furniture and decor and en-suite facilities. The suite (130 metres), with its living room, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and fully-fitted kitchenette, is sure to satisfy the needs of even the most discerning of clients. All rooms have a safe, satellite television and Internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palac U Kocku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing