We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
EA Hotel Royal Esprit
Ranked #357 of 649 Hotels in Prague
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very central”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Good basic hotel, very clean and a good central location. Good value for money. The staff were pleasant and the rooms were a very good size.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creativeHighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    91
    59
    23
    17
See reviews for
40
109
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This hotel is centrally located in the main tourist area (around the oldest part). In one direction, is the main square and a little further is the Charles Bridge. In the other direction is the "Palladium", a modern shopping mall with almost every convenience that you can think (other than groceries). On the top floor is a good food court. This hotel does not provide any type of wi-fi. There is a paid, shared computer in the lobby. The bathrooms do not have shower curtains.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for five nights. It has a great location if you want to visit the historic areas of Prague but it has two drawbacks: It is located near a very noisy bar (Bring earplugs!) and many of the bathrooms have only sprayers attached to the bathtub with no shower curtains or plastic shields to keep the water inside the tub area so it is VERY difficult to take a shower.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddolsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our room was huge with it's own separate seating area and a free chocolate on the pillows! My brother in law's room was much smaller however but still fine for a single (with a double bed). I'd definately recommend taking your own hairdryer though as the one provided was very old and useless. I loved the 1920's decor and the old time music playing in the communal areas and breakfast room. The best bit about this hotel was it's location to the Old Town Square and the other main sites of this Stunning City area are all walkable from here. During our 4 day stay we encountered no problems with anything like previous reviews have mentioned and I would definately stay here again.

Prague is a beautiful and interesting City. There are plenty of walking and bike tours available and a tram goes up the castle if you don't want to take the 100's of steps! Please visit one of the mediavel restaurants in the city as they are the most genuine i've seen with straw on the floor and no electricity! Great atmosphere! Also if you are going to eat and drink in the city stay out of the main Square and the English/Irish Bars as they are 2 or 3 times more expensive than the side streets. If you are paying £2 a pint you are paying way too much!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaR1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Lets start with the positives.
1. The hotel is located in an ideal position. Literally 300 metres from the the main tourist areas. A very pleasant 5 minute walk to the square.
2. The staff are excellent. Friendly and helpful, and speak excellent English.
3. The hotel is clean and pleasant. The rooms are tody and have everything you would need for a short stay.

The negatives.

1. The bathroom has a shower attached to the bath, and there is no shower curtain. So you constantly have to play with the taps as the water pressure varies to stop you from being burnt or frozen. In the meantime water goes all over the floor.
2. The towels. Bring your own!!! You will be provided with 4 towels. The first towel resembles a flannel, the next size up a tea towel. The third, which is the strange one, is about a foot wide and 4 ft long, and the last towel is a very small bath towel. So if you are a 6ft man you more or less have to use a towel per limb.
3. The pillows are awful. You get one giant pillow that is more like a bean bag than a pillow.
4. Mattresses are rock hard!
5. Breakfast isn't very good at all. (I am an expert on continental breakfasts) There seemed to be piles of cheese in random places all over the breakfast bar.
6. This hotel is so noisy. We were on the third floor, and there is constant noise all day and night. The bars empty their bottles at 4 am, then its the bin trucks, and then its traffic or drunk people. The windows are single glazing, and don't really shut properly so they let all the noise in. So bring ear plugs or buy them the pharmacist for 5 crowns.

All in all, I wouldn't come here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tashingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Royal_Esprit, Manažer at EA Hotel Royal Esprit, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Dear Tashingon,
thank you for your review, it help us to improve the negative sites, which can customer find. We are glad you were satisfied with rooms and staff in our hotel. Unfortunately as we are located in center of everything, you can walk in to the center, and also you may hear a noise from outside. We are constantly working on improvement in areas we can change. We hope to welcome yu in our hotel, next time you will be in Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, AB
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed in the Royal Esprit for three nights. You couldn't ask for a better location, a short walk from Wenceslas Square, and only a minute to Tyn Square and then famous Charles Bridge just beyond. The first night was a bit noisy outside, but we assumed it was because it was Saturday night and the Buddha Bar is nearby. The next night it rained and the streets were relatively empty. But the following night we barely slept because of the racket outside until 4 a.m. The next morning we discovered we were right around the corner from a youth hostel, which may have explained the noise. My husband also noticed that the upper window to our room was slightly open, so I don't want to sound too negative. Perhaps if the window had been closed, the room would have been quieter. Otherwise, a great place to stay. The rooms were nice and the breakfast buffet had lots to choose from. The staff was very helpful and let us store our luggage behind the front desk until our train left several hours after check out. If we go to Prague again, I'd probably choose a hotel on Kampa island, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Royal Esprit to travellers wanting to be close to everything the Old Town has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Royal_Esprit, Manažer at EA Hotel Royal Esprit, responded to this review, January 11, 2017
Dear joanpeace,

we appreciate your time you have spend on the review or hotel Royal Esprit. We are glad that you have had enjoyable stay and you recommend us. It is nice to hear that our work doesnt stay unnoticed. Thank you for your words. Hopefully welcomed you in our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leganes
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My booked hotel was overbooked and they transfer me to the Royal Esprit Prague.The location is almost excellent,you are steps from the town hall,but also in the vicinity of some bars.My room was in the first floor,and try to sleep was hard listen to the tourists below,with no A/C and the summer heat,you needed to open the windows even at night.There is a little electric fan on top of the TV,clearly not enough.The room was large and well kept,a very good bed.The bathroom is well lighted and clean,but you need to climb into the tub,is not suitable for old or not very fit people,and also without a curtain,very difficult not to do a little flood every time you use it.
Mediocre breakfast.Expensive one internet terminal in the little lobby.Overall,I think this is not a first class hotel,but a very decent mid range one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patanete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#138 of 649 in Prague
1,117 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Central Hotel Prague
Central Hotel Prague
#195 of 649 in Prague
708 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Apartments Templova
Hotel Apartments Templova
#589 of 649 in Prague
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#72 of 649 in Prague
518 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Golden deer
Hotel Golden deer
#284 of 649 in Prague
258 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EA Hotel Royal Esprit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EA Hotel Royal Esprit

Property: EA Hotel Royal Esprit
Address: Jakubska 674/5 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#234 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — EA Hotel Royal Esprit 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your EA Hotel Royal Esprit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euroagentur Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing