We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
EA Hotel Royal Esprit
Nearby Hotels
$414
$372
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Liberty(Prague)
$203
$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$484
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$388
$321
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$337
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$318
$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mosaic House(Prague)(Great Value!)
$192
$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Golden Well Hotel(Prague)
$730
$684
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$261
$203
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Elysee(Prague)(Great Value!)
$119
$115
Cancelon
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
55
97
63
27
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
97
63
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturn lightsshower curtainold town squarebreakfast roomart deco stylehotel taxifirst floorsmall hotelmain attractionsreception deskjunior suitenice roomshort walkperfect locationcharles bridgeprague castleventilation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 261 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for five nights. It has a great location if you want to visit the historic areas of Prague but it has two drawbacks: It is located near a very noisy bar (Bring earplugs!) and many of the bathrooms have only sprayers attached to the bathtub with no shower curtains or plastic shields to keep the water inside the tub area so it is VERY difficult to take a shower.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddolsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our room was huge with it's own separate seating area and a free chocolate on the pillows! My brother in law's room was much smaller however but still fine for a single (with a double bed). I'd definately recommend taking your own hairdryer though as the one provided was very old and useless. I loved the 1920's decor and the old time music playing in the communal areas and breakfast room. The best bit about this hotel was it's location to the Old Town Square and the other main sites of this Stunning City area are all walkable from here. During our 4 day stay we encountered no problems with anything like previous reviews have mentioned and I would definately stay here again.

Prague is a beautiful and interesting City. There are plenty of walking and bike tours available and a tram goes up the castle if you don't want to take the 100's of steps! Please visit one of the mediavel restaurants in the city as they are the most genuine i've seen with straw on the floor and no electricity! Great atmosphere! Also if you are going to eat and drink in the city stay out of the main Square and the English/Irish Bars as they are 2 or 3 times more expensive than the side streets. If you are paying £2 a pint you are paying way too much!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaR1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Lets start with the positives.
1. The hotel is located in an ideal position. Literally 300 metres from the the main tourist areas. A very pleasant 5 minute walk to the square.
2. The staff are excellent. Friendly and helpful, and speak excellent English.
3. The hotel is clean and pleasant. The rooms are tody and have everything you would need for a short stay.

The negatives.

1. The bathroom has a shower attached to the bath, and there is no shower curtain. So you constantly have to play with the taps as the water pressure varies to stop you from being burnt or frozen. In the meantime water goes all over the floor.
2. The towels. Bring your own!!! You will be provided with 4 towels. The first towel resembles a flannel, the next size up a tea towel. The third, which is the strange one, is about a foot wide and 4 ft long, and the last towel is a very small bath towel. So if you are a 6ft man you more or less have to use a towel per limb.
3. The pillows are awful. You get one giant pillow that is more like a bean bag than a pillow.
4. Mattresses are rock hard!
5. Breakfast isn't very good at all. (I am an expert on continental breakfasts) There seemed to be piles of cheese in random places all over the breakfast bar.
6. This hotel is so noisy. We were on the third floor, and there is constant noise all day and night. The bars empty their bottles at 4 am, then its the bin trucks, and then its traffic or drunk people. The windows are single glazing, and don't really shut properly so they let all the noise in. So bring ear plugs or buy them the pharmacist for 5 crowns.

All in all, I wouldn't come here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tashingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Royal_Esprit, Manažer at EA Hotel Royal Esprit, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Dear Tashingon,
thank you for your review, it help us to improve the negative sites, which can customer find. We are glad you were satisfied with rooms and staff in our hotel. Unfortunately as we are located in center of everything, you can walk in to the center, and also you may hear a noise from outside. We are constantly working on improvement in areas we can change. We hope to welcome yu in our hotel, next time you will be in Prague.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed in the Royal Esprit for three nights. You couldn't ask for a better location, a short walk from Wenceslas Square, and only a minute to Tyn Square and then famous Charles Bridge just beyond. The first night was a bit noisy outside, but we assumed it was because it was Saturday night and the Buddha Bar is nearby. The next night it rained and the streets were relatively empty. But the following night we barely slept because of the racket outside until 4 a.m. The next morning we discovered we were right around the corner from a youth hostel, which may have explained the noise. My husband also noticed that the upper window to our room was slightly open, so I don't want to sound too negative. Perhaps if the window had been closed, the room would have been quieter. Otherwise, a great place to stay. The rooms were nice and the breakfast buffet had lots to choose from. The staff was very helpful and let us store our luggage behind the front desk until our train left several hours after check out. If we go to Prague again, I'd probably choose a hotel on Kampa island, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Royal Esprit to travellers wanting to be close to everything the Old Town has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Royal_Esprit, Manažer at EA Hotel Royal Esprit, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Dear joanpeace,

we appreciate your time you have spend on the review or hotel Royal Esprit. We are glad that you have had enjoyable stay and you recommend us. It is nice to hear that our work doesnt stay unnoticed. Thank you for your words. Hopefully welcomed you in our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My booked hotel was overbooked and they transfer me to the Royal Esprit Prague.The location is almost excellent,you are steps from the town hall,but also in the vicinity of some bars.My room was in the first floor,and try to sleep was hard listen to the tourists below,with no A/C and the summer heat,you needed to open the windows even at night.There is a little electric fan on top of the TV,clearly not enough.The room was large and well kept,a very good bed.The bathroom is well lighted and clean,but you need to climb into the tub,is not suitable for old or not very fit people,and also without a curtain,very difficult not to do a little flood every time you use it.
Mediocre breakfast.Expensive one internet terminal in the little lobby.Overall,I think this is not a first class hotel,but a very decent mid range one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the top floors
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patanete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews