We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very basic low grade 4 star hotel; bring earplugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
EA Hotel Royal Esprit
Ranked #363 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Lets start with the positives.
1. The hotel is located in an ideal position. Literally 300 metres from the the main tourist areas. A very pleasant 5 minute walk to the square.
2. The staff are excellent. Friendly and helpful, and speak excellent English.
3. The hotel is clean and pleasant. The rooms are tody and have everything you would need for a short stay.

The negatives.

1. The bathroom has a shower attached to the bath, and there is no shower curtain. So you constantly have to play with the taps as the water pressure varies to stop you from being burnt or frozen. In the meantime water goes all over the floor.
2. The towels. Bring your own!!! You will be provided with 4 towels. The first towel resembles a flannel, the next size up a tea towel. The third, which is the strange one, is about a foot wide and 4 ft long, and the last towel is a very small bath towel. So if you are a 6ft man you more or less have to use a towel per limb.
3. The pillows are awful. You get one giant pillow that is more like a bean bag than a pillow.
4. Mattresses are rock hard!
5. Breakfast isn't very good at all. (I am an expert on continental breakfasts) There seemed to be piles of cheese in random places all over the breakfast bar.
6. This hotel is so noisy. We were on the third floor, and there is constant noise all day and night. The bars empty their bottles at 4 am, then its the bin trucks, and then its traffic or drunk people. The windows are single glazing, and don't really shut properly so they let all the noise in. So bring ear plugs or buy them the pharmacist for 5 crowns.

All in all, I wouldn't come here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tashingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Royal_Esprit, Manažer at EA Hotel Royal Esprit, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Dear Tashingon,
thank you for your review, it help us to improve the negative sites, which can customer find. We are glad you were satisfied with rooms and staff in our hotel. Unfortunately as we are located in center of everything, you can walk in to the center, and also you may hear a noise from outside. We are constantly working on improvement in areas we can change. We hope to welcome yu in our hotel, next time you will be in Prague.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 251 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed in the Royal Esprit for three nights. You couldn't ask for a better location, a short walk from Wenceslas Square, and only a minute to Tyn Square and then famous Charles Bridge just beyond. The first night was a bit noisy outside, but we assumed it was because it was Saturday night and the Buddha Bar is nearby. The next night it rained and the streets were relatively empty. But the following night we barely slept because of the racket outside until 4 a.m. The next morning we discovered we were right around the corner from a youth hostel, which may have explained the noise. My husband also noticed that the upper window to our room was slightly open, so I don't want to sound too negative. Perhaps if the window had been closed, the room would have been quieter. Otherwise, a great place to stay. The rooms were nice and the breakfast buffet had lots to choose from. The staff was very helpful and let us store our luggage behind the front desk until our train left several hours after check out. If we go to Prague again, I'd probably choose a hotel on Kampa island, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Royal Esprit to travellers wanting to be close to everything the Old Town has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Royal_Esprit, Manažer at EA Hotel Royal Esprit, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Dear joanpeace,

we appreciate your time you have spend on the review or hotel Royal Esprit. We are glad that you have had enjoyable stay and you recommend us. It is nice to hear that our work doesnt stay unnoticed. Thank you for your words. Hopefully welcomed you in our hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My booked hotel was overbooked and they transfer me to the Royal Esprit Prague.The location is almost excellent,you are steps from the town hall,but also in the vicinity of some bars.My room was in the first floor,and try to sleep was hard listen to the tourists below,with no A/C and the summer heat,you needed to open the windows even at night.There is a little electric fan on top of the TV,clearly not enough.The room was large and well kept,a very good bed.The bathroom is well lighted and clean,but you need to climb into the tub,is not suitable for old or not very fit people,and also without a curtain,very difficult not to do a little flood every time you use it.
Mediocre breakfast.Expensive one internet terminal in the little lobby.Overall,I think this is not a first class hotel,but a very decent mid range one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patanete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Hotel Royal Esprit is an inexpensive hotel with a good location in the Old Town of Prague. The staff was very friendly and assisting when asked about directions around the city. The room was quite large and clean. The room didn't have a safety deposit box but we kept our valuables in a locked suitcase which didn't get burglared or stolen while it was in the room. Only negative thing was that the receptionist refused to call us an AAA taxi, they only get you their own taxis. We would've gotten a 47% discount using AAA taxi but we didn't benefit since the hotel would not call us a cab from that company. The bathroom lacked a shower curtain so the floor got very wet after taking a shower in the bathtub. There wasn't a sewer either so the water stayed on the floor until it dried by heat. The TV was a disappointment, only one channel had English programs and that was Eurosport. I know you don't go abroad to watch television, but to get the news and weather in English would've been great. Their website said there would be an internet connection but I didn't see a RJ45 jack in the room and there wasn't a WiFi either. The pillows were uncomfortable, my neck was really sore after sleeping three nights there. All in all, given the great location, cheap price and good service I recommend this hotel to all Prague visitors.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supermurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Royal_Esprit, Manažer at EA Hotel Royal Esprit, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2017

Dear supermurs,
thank you for staying in our EA Hotel. I am glad to hear that you haved been quite satisfied. Unfortunately, I have to say, that all the rooms are having safe deposit, in the closets. Also wifi is available. I will like to welcome you durning this summer to our newly renovated hotel, so you enjoy your stay on 100%.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Plus points: location (very close to the Old Town); quiet (my room was at the end of a corridor which helped); inexpensive (105 Euro in total for 2 nights); room was a decent size; clean; breakfast included in price was good; staff courteous; bed fine, small duvet.

Negative points: room did smell a little of previous smokers; no shower curtain so the bathroom got drenched each time you have a shower; TV substandard with promised channels unavailable; no really hot water at breakfast for making tea.

Would I return? Yes, probably. It was very good overall value for the location.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fulhamforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Have stayed in Royal Esprit during winter holidays.
Location is very good, in the old town, close to main attractions.
Service was good enough, cleanlinnes is sufficient, no major complains
Room is covered with the carpet that has accumulated the scent of previous guests. The tiles are preferred. Pillows are quite uncomfartable , blankets are ok if you are no taller than 5' 8".
Breakfast is very good, has all you need including the good service.
We stayed in the winter, so the summer time could be better, as you don't have to spend much time in the room.
Now, things to watch for. Be careful to utilize the things located on the room table (water, nuts, etc.) They are not on the fee list and you are unpleasantly surprised when they charge you astronomical amounts upon checkout (e.g. a bottle of water - 8 USD).
This is typical for Prague. If you are not filthy rich beware of the restaurants. The empty, nicely looking restourants show the menu prices. But once you are done with food consumption and ask for the bill, then... surprise! You will see extra charges for the bread, music ( if there is any), tea bag (3 USD), etc., probably including the table cloth, forks, and spoons, air around you and other misterious charges. Your bill will grow exponentially. So, choose the restaurants where you see a steady flow of customers to avoid this kind of adventure.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HenryCToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

What a great place to stay when in Prague. If ever I return I will certainly stay there. The rooms are huge, the staff friendly & the breakfast is the perfect way to start the day.

It is also right in the centre of the Old Town so makes sightseeing simple & walkable.

I would highly recommend staying here!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Royal_Esprit, Manažer at EA Hotel Royal Esprit, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Dear Dave385,

thank you so much for your words. We are very glad we made a part of your holiday stay enjoyable. Also we will like to have more guests like you. We will be glad to welcome you in our EA Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Hotel Julis
EA Hotel Julis
#245 of 646 in Prague
303 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#142 of 646 in Prague
1,198 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Embassy Prague Hotel
EA Embassy Prague Hotel
#202 of 646 in Prague
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Hotel Manes
EA Hotel Manes
#409 of 646 in Prague
332 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#74 of 646 in Prague
740 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Hotel Sonata
EA Hotel Sonata
#305 of 646 in Prague
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EA Hotel Royal Esprit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EA Hotel Royal Esprit

Address: Jakubska 674/5 | Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#236 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $83 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — EA Hotel Royal Esprit 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your EA Hotel Royal Esprit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euroagentur Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing