We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay. A fine place to sleep.”
Review of Residence Bologna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Bologna
Ranked #305 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews, I was a bit apprehensive, but the location and price made me choose it.
Here's the rundown:
Front Desk Staff: did not find them rude at all but only dealt with them upon check-in and check out.
Room: not at all like the photos. No blackout curtains. TV was old, and no Enlish language channels (I know I didn't visit Prague to watch TV, but I like to have one on as I get ready or go to sleep). The bed was fine.
Bathroom: quite large yet it had the smallest shower I'd ever seen. I'm not a large woman by any means, and still found it a bit cramped.
Maid service: I was there four days and my room was made up once. The towels were replaced.
However, I was a bit disgusted when I found my makeup bag in the bidet. I suppose she moved it from the sink when she cleaned the sink and out it aside and forgot to put it back. I can only hope that she cleaned the bidet first. Gross.
Breakfast: it never changed but that didn't bother me. Cereal, bread, scrambled eggs, jam, salami, ham, sausage, cheese, cucumber, tomatoes, apples, and watermelon. It was fine.
The bar/restaurant: only went on my last night. I had a great pasta dish and a few drinks. Staff and patrons were quite friendly and I had a nice time with them.

All in all it's a good value for the money. It's blatantly average in every way--- except location.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsJcapulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed visiting Prague but on this occasion the rooms wasnt the best but was ok to sleep in after many beers!!
Lady in the bar was very friendly but the chef well what can I say!! Very rude snatched money out of your hand and gave you change in euros then wouldnt accept it back this man got very big chip on his shoulders, apart from that hotel in a great location close to all main bits. Oh and a chance of towels every five days!!!!! Yes this is very clean of them!! But other than that what a great time we had!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexierobbie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed at the Residence Bologna last weekend. Having read some of the reviews I was expecting a rough reception but the gentleman on reception was extremely pleasant and helpful. The room was a good size, but had one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept in. It was OK for two nights, any longer and I think I'd have needed physio! The temperature was up in the 30s and alas the aircon didn't work, but again it was OK for a couple of days. Breakfast - food was good, but the breakfast room is way too small, so very crowded and (I guess as a result) many of the other guests quite rude. if only they would use the restaurant across from reception as well, it would be so much better. Checking out was fine, but the poor girl on duty there was clearly overworked and had no cover from management so when there were three other families with complaints, all of whom were being quite rude to her, she was overwhelmed.

Woken up both mornings at 0630 by workmen who thought it was fun to shout and scream a lot, and drag bins across concrete. Not helpful.

in terms of the location - excellent. a stone's throw away from the river and the Charles Bridge in one direction, 5 minutes from the old square and the astronomical clock in the other.

So, overall my impressions were mixed, but I would probably go back there again if i needed somewhere in the city centre to stay. If anything the one thing that let it down was the behaviour some of the other guests, and thats not something the staff could really do anything about.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidElGato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great location, and that's it. Everything else is terrible, front desk lady is extremely rude, rooms are noisy at all times, Breakfast is the worst I had in my entire life (juice tastes like salt water) windows don't block the sun, so be ready to wake up at 6 even if you don't want to. Broken TV.

Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DamianFernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is an absolute dump. The front desk 'lady' was extremely rude when I checked in to what can only be described as a hovel. The room looks nothing like any photos on the hotel's website. Ours was tiny with curtains hanging by only a couple of hooks. There were very few dishes in the cupboards and the ones that were there were dirty. Yuk! Our room faced the back of the hotel so we got the noise from the street below at all hours. The one piece of furniture in the living area was a futon covered in dubious looking stains. Needless to say we didn't use it at all. TV didn't work and while the stove may have, there were no cooking utensils in the room to use anyway.
Definitely give this one a miss if possible.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollyM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The location of the hotel is ideal. By walking around five minutes, you're in the heart of the old town. The hotel itself is situated in a calm street, in a lovely zone surrounded by some good restaurants - including the excellent v zatisi - and pubs. The rooms/apartments are fine and spacious enough with a kitchenette, but don't expect great luxury: it certainly won't be your top three-stars hotel in Europe. I stayed five days there and couldn't complain about a thing, except maybe the lady at the reception who seems to be permanently having a bad day. But once you get the notion that the reception staff is not very open or helpful, it's ok.
In fine, it depends on what you are searching for: if you're looking for real comfort, then don't go there. If you're looking for a nice (cheap) stay quite close to everything, then go ahead.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riverman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The front desk lady is really rude, and throws the keys and money at you. The breakfast is rubbish, the juice tastes awful. The air conditioner doesnt work and the room has blood stains in the door. Really creepy. Avoid if you can.
The only good thing about the hotel is the location. Is easy to move around prague. But there are more hotels that are well located and actually are worth the money.

2  Thank Pauaj1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metropolitan Old Town hotel
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leon D'Oro
Hotel Leon D'Oro
#214 of 646 in Prague
996 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Charles Bridge Palace
Charles Bridge Palace
#221 of 646 in Prague
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#86 of 646 in Prague
2,107 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Residence La Fenice
Residence La Fenice
#343 of 646 in Prague
341 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
#199 of 646 in Prague
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Bologna

Address: Konviktska 263/5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $53 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Bologna 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Bologna is located in the heart of Prague's Old Town, just 400 meters from Charles Bridge. It offers newly renovated apartments with kitchenettes and free Wi-Fi. All apartments in the Residence Bologna feature parquet flooring and the marble bathrooms include a bidet. The Italian restaurant on site serves a wide range of meat and fish dishes. You can park your car in the garage, which is under video surveillance (for an additional fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Bologna Hotel
Residence Bologna Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing