We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will be disappointed”
Review of Residence Bologna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Bologna
Ranked #309 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We went to check into residence bologna yesterday for 3 nights. We were already not expecting much because of the trip advisor reviews, however our travel agent assured us that her regular clients rave about this hotel due to great location and clean, basic and cheap rooms- to stress- we were not expecting much- would have been more than happy with what is depicted in the standard room photos on the website. Here is what we got- no exaggerations at all:
- check in- no organisation at all. No greeting and had to stand there for 5 mins while she was on the phone with no explanation. Key was basically thrown at us. I also intentionally didn't write my c/card number down- she didn't even check (Czech-haha!). She also stapled my form to someone else's booking sheet so I'm glad i didn't put the c/card number in there. Again, this process was in shambles 4 guests booking in at once with the one lady behind the counter.
The room- nothing like on the website. Mattress max 10cm thick, could feel springs. Air con was installed but didn't work. Cooker was there but was dirty and no utensils anyway. Bathroom was okay, average size. Furniture in room was old and very basic, no safe as promised on website. Windows opened partially but looked out towards dumpster, lock on door seemed like it was about to fall off. (Even the cleaner who helped us open the door had a laugh!). Side of bed was dirty. Towels would also not be changed for our 3 day stay, and in bathroom were given two face washers to last two people 3 days...
Questioned room with check in lady- here is the conversation:
Us (politely): is there any chance of moving to a different room, similar to whats on your website as this is what we were hoping for
Lady: you have a nice room, and the website shows wrong photos. These photos are of the suites on upper levels, I don't know why they haven't changed it.
Us: okay- can we have one of the suites then?
Lady: you have nice room already. I don't have any suites available.
We left it at that.
We then booked another hotel, immediately, and packed our stuff and got out of there. The lady seemed shocked that we were leaving, and offered us a suite on the way out! Had she done this earlier, would have been quite happy and taken her up on offer, however at this point I simply didn't trust the place at all. To her credit she seemed genuinely distressed that we were leaving, however it shouldn't have reached this point.
Would strongly recommend doing your research on this place so you can set your expectations at the right Level. Should not be rated 3 star, would be an upgraded student hostel at best.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel_Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile


I've read a few reviews of people saying the staff we're not helpful however they were very good with us. Prague is one of those places where an English speaking person is hard to find, this wasn't a struggle at the hotel though.

The hotel itself is dingy and somewhat run down, breakfast is rubbish. Don't even bother. Simply awful. Restaurant joint to the hotel is actually really nice. Looks run down but does good cheap food and drinks.

The room was very spacious, bathroom was okay too. Bed however was meant to be a "double" which was 2 singles put together.

Location is pretty good, walking distance to old town, Charles bridge etc. We did get caught in the rain though and walking back was not fun!

All in all. Good for a budget hotel. Do not expect much though.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Recently stayed for three nights.
Not too bad considering the price. Rooms are quite large, but the bathroom smells like cabbages. Haha. The "double" bed is two singles pushed together, and the shower is quite small. TV is old and little and no English channels whatsoever.
Found staff to be quite helpful, but a huge language barrier prevented us from doing things quickly.
Absolutely no wifi in room.
The restaurant downstairs is okay. "Ran out" of almost everything and don't take credit cards.. But food is good. Hotel breakfast however is actually disgusting. Don't bother.
Location is good, 10 min walk to astronomical clock, Charles bridge and a good shopping mall. Everything is quite close.
Good for a cheap and easy stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ally p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel has advantage of it's location. It is located almost in the heart of Prague. Although the rooms are prety large and clean, they were very cold at evening times (i was traveling at autumn).
I have asked to turn on heating, but the reply was "the heating seazon did not started yet"....
In general it was ok, especially taking into consideration the location.
They claim that they do have Wi-Fi internet in rooms... well couldn't catch it during the all period of my stay there, but it works in a lobby :).
Also there was a problem with toilet, which wasn't fixed till the day of our departure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

So much so i was moved to Chatles Bridge Palace 5 min walk away. I booked my room at RB in the same hour as my friend in Australia and another friend in Germany. We were meeting in Germany and driving to Prague. My room was in RB my friends were in CB Palace. My room was more like student accomodation, no safe abc no hair dryer. The pictures are of the rooms at CB Palace. Nasty Nicol the receptionist at RB was rude and very unhelpful. I think it was me saying to my friend that i would be writing about her dismal manners here on trip advisor that she pretty much said get your bags and go to CB Palace. NN issue was that RB has to pay to transfer between hotels. Not my problem! DO NOT MAKE A REERVATION HERE!! Book at Charles Bridge Palace. Hamid is beautiful and super helpful - i am now staying in one of the beautiful suites. Thank you Hamid x

Thank Nadsi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Schub G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas. Reception staff not very friendly but on the last day of our holiday they were extremely friendly. Wi Fi in the room was non existant. TV has no english speaking channels. No towels left in the room on 3rd day. There was a small kitchenette but there was no point in having the kitchen as there were no untensils to use. Fridge was warm and not much use either. On a good note the location is excellent for getting around prague and is close to Charles Bridge.

Room Tip: Pay extra and upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieGray620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#208 of 648 in Prague
695 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#82 of 648 in Prague
2,078 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Charles Bridge Palace
Charles Bridge Palace
#216 of 648 in Prague
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leon D'Oro
Hotel Leon D'Oro
#211 of 648 in Prague
977 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
#204 of 648 in Prague
469 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Residence Bene
Residence Bene
#256 of 648 in Prague
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Bologna

Address: Konviktska 263/5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $59 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Bologna 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Bologna is located in the heart of Prague's Old Town, just 400 meters from Charles Bridge. It offers newly renovated apartments with kitchenettes and free Wi-Fi. All apartments in the Residence Bologna feature parquet flooring and the marble bathrooms include a bidet. The Italian restaurant on site serves a wide range of meat and fish dishes. You can park your car in the garage, which is under video surveillance (for an additional fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Bologna Hotel
Residence Bologna Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing