We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; variable service”
Review of Old Town Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Town Square
Ranked #107 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great location; variable service”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here in November 2011. The location was fantastic: smack in the center of Old Town with an unbeatable view of the square, Tyn Church, etc. (We stayed in a Junior Suite with a view; make sure to ask for a room with a view, if that's what you want.) We didn't have any issue with noise with the window closed and without any raucous celebration going on during the time we stayed. We found the modern and somewhat eclectic/minimalist decor to be a refreshing contrast to so much gothic aesthetics all around. The hotel is located in a pedestrian-only zone and is one floor above ground; there is no elevator, but the staff will help with your luggage across the square and up the stairs if they know your arrival time. The service was rather variable: the breakfast staff was very nice (& breakfast BTW was very nice and pleasant); responses to our email correspondences ranged from nice to terse, depending on who was doing the corresponding; the attitude of the English-speaking front desk/reception staff, 3 in all, ranged anywhere between perfunctory and sarcastic --and we were not even needy!

All in all, stay here for the location in the Old Town, but don't expect any true 5-star service (except for the English-speaking part). We moved to a different hotel for the latter part of our stay to be closer to our work-related meeting and were much more impressed with the service there.

Room Tip: If you are lucky enough to get Petr to answer your query, ask him for a quiet room (likely without a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pln1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    98
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
101
179
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a review of the restaurant only!

I visited this restaurant in a group of 3 during a visit to Prague in June 2012. The Old Town Square Hotel and Residence is located on the right hand side of the Square, if you are facing the Tyn Church, so a lovely and central location - and the prices are a reflection of this.

As it was the summertime when we visited, they had al fresco seating which was a specially nice touch as they were showing the England v Italy game in the UEFA European Championships, so it was a nice and relaxing spot to sit and have dinner while we watched the game through the crowded square.

The food was of a very good standard, traditional Czech cuisine with some popular favourites thrown in to appeal to the tourists and less adventurous. The salmon with potatoes was particularly good, as were the pasta dishes. Another group of tourists on the adjacent table ordered satisfyingly large stacked hamburgers and they seemed happy to feed their lingering Sunday hangovers with the burgers (and wine!).

Dessert was probably the best part of the meal, where a home-made apple strudel made a nice end to the evening.

The only down-side of this restaurant is the price, which was rather high, even considering the location and time of year we had visited, however as the food was very good and the staff were prompt and attentive even though they were busy, I think I could overlook the extortionate pricing for another visit if I find myself in Prague again.

Overall: Delicious, pricy, good location. Would visit again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pip_86_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickenbach, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Poor standard for a 5*-Hotel. Dirty carpet and bathroom. Noisy room opposite of reception. No german speaking TV-program. Breakfast fresh but small selection. Would not recommend this hotel to other guests. It's too expensive overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Firstly I want to say a big thank you to the wonderful staff who were very kind to both my boyfriend (who arrived before me) and I. The staff went out of their way to help make my boyfriends birthday a magic one and even delivered a complimentary bottle of champagne.
Nothing we asked was too much trouble! And they assisted very much on check out by holding the bags, calling hire cars for the airport, and letting me wait in the comfort of their coffee shop.
The location was simply AMAZING!!!! Right on Old Town Square with a view of the astronomical clock.
We felt completely spoilt with our room...we had the only one with a balcony! And we made sure we enjoyed it as much as possible.
Our room was HUGE...with a massive king sized bed and a chandelier to match : ) The bed was soooo comfortable (with lots of pillows), and the bathroom was bigger than some of the hotel rooms I had stayed in on my trip : )
We will definitely return...and very much look forward to it : )

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovenewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

1)Wonderful and helpful front desk. Peter (?) carried our luggage (12:30 am in the rain....good ol' train was late Munich to Prague) and escorted us with courtesy and kindness.
2)Location is PERFECT: 14th Century Astronomical clock was outside our window &
Winseslas Square was 5 minutes walk away
3)Plethora of restaurants (Hard Rock Cafe/Starbucks) almost right outside our door

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here just last week and could not have been happier. We booked through expedia and there was a mistake and the hotel was overbooked the first two nights of our stay and we had to be moved at the last minute which we were not thrilled with at first. The general manager Helena was extremely accomadating with the situation. She personally met us at the other hotel and paid for our transportation. Upon arriving to the Old Town Square Hotel we were upgraded to a suite with a complimentary bottle of champagne. In my eyes they made up for the inconvenience but they didnt stop there. My birthday fell during the stay and Helena and her staff surprised me by singing happy birthday to me and then gave me a card signed by the entire staff and a box of chocolates. Helena and her staff were excellent and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We recently stayed at Old Town Sq. for 4 nights. Our room was not ready when we arrived. The room was so noisy that you could hear everything on the street until 3 AM. This was followed by the street cleaners and trash collectors. The bathroom was sleek, modern and awful. The tub was so high that you had to hoist yourself to climb into it. The shower door only extends halfway so the water collects in a ditch between the wall and tub,m pouring onto the floor. We tried to stop the flow with a rolled up towel at the end of the tub but it did not work. There were no shelves or towel bars in the bathroom so there was no place to put things. I stumbled and banged up both my knees trying to get out of a slippery tub with nothing to grab onto. The Internet crashed while I was trying to send an important e-mail and the desk clerk could not help since the modem was in another guest room. We had to take the computer to the cafe to use the Internet. The window air conditioner was so noisy you could not sleep. The breakfast was AWFUL. We were happy to leave!

Room Tip: Try a hotel 2 or 3 blocks away from Old Town Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CookinTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otsh, Manager at Old Town Square, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam

I feel sad that you found your stay with us so so bad, even more so that I did not have the time to speak to you in person my self.

To refer to some of the negative comments. Our check in time is set for 15:00, so I apologize if the room was not ready earlier, but with such a small hotel and hight occupancy, its difficult to enable everybody a room upon earlier arrivals. I apologize for the bathrooms, the flooding is unfortunately a big problem that I am aware of, but that would require a complete refurbishing of the bath itself. You mentioned that my staff only cleaned the bathroom after you told them it was flooded and not done anything else with it. That was because they are instructed to deal with waste-pipe when the guests are not in the room, to make sure you will not be disturbed.

As for the breakfasts, the choice is a standard choice of pastries, cheese, ham, cereals, eggs, fresh fruit etc. You are right in the sense that the café where breakfast is served is small and space limited, so we do not place everything on the buffet table. The advantage of this, is that everything is freshly made to order. I believe that girls are polite and offer anything you wish for, so I am quite unsure what happened, why the breakfast was considered by you as so bad.

Nevertheless, I still send my apologies, more so that I was unable to deal with it when you were there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
1,052 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#121 of 649 in Prague
964 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
1,476 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#129 of 649 in Prague
814 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#105 of 649 in Prague
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Square

Property: Old Town Square
Address: Staromestske namesti 548/20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Prague
#62 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#84 Business Hotel in Prague
#94 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#96 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Town Square 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Town Square Hotel is a family run hotel that consists of 10 spaceous rooms, most of which benefit from views of the square itself. Rooms are very spaceous with size ranging from 60 - 100 square meters. All rooms are designed in modern style, with Phillip Starc bathrooms and heated floors. Our multi lingual staff are here to help you in organising your day to day events, book theatre shows or advise what is to be seen in Prague. We have a sister hotel close to us, where the fitness and spa/ welness is located. Each guest of our hotel enjoys a complimentary acess to th fitnes, some charges may apply to the welness area (these are applicable to all guests for both hotels). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Old Town Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Square Prague
Old Town Square Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing