We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit dissapointing...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Town Square
Ranked #141 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit dissapointing...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I travelled to Prague with 3 older teenagers so the idea of staying just in the middle of all the action (Old town square) was very atractive. The hotel is very clean, rooms as pretily decorated and the staff was helpful (most of the time) however, we spent 3 nights there and there was no Wifi (disaster for teenagers!) in the rooms, the shower overflowed and had to call reception but they just came and cleaned the water without checking anything else so following showers we had to close the water during showering as to not overflow again. The shower was spacious with a glass door but no shelf inside so you have to leave shampoo and gel on the floor. There was a big bath but nothing to hold on to stand after having a bath and very sleepery as nothing on the bath floor for gripping so I almost had to call my teenagers to get me out!!
There was no magnifying mirror for make-up or shaving and the light was quite dim. There was not enough hanging space, although millions of draws and shelves. There were no coffe or tea facilities in the room, you had to call reception each time you wanted one. For breakfast, the choice was either a cereal breakfast or a traditional one (ham and cheese) although the staff were very polite and whishing to please and would make you eggs and bacon if wanted but no other choices. Ther was a basket of mini croissants and little breads but if you came down to breakfast after 10am almost all gone!! There is not a lobby so when we came back for our luggage to get to the airport did not have a place were we could sit and relax for a bit before leaving. The massage and hairdressing service is only available on Saturdays.
Beds were very comfortable ad the view from the windows excellent into the Square although the noise would keep going well into the early hours but we were too tired each evening to be bothered by it.
All in all, not quite the 5* standard that I am used to in other countries.

Room Tip: If you mind the noise perhaps a room with no window to the Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank Enearchou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otsh, Manager at Old Town Square, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Madam

We spoke about these issues together when you were here and I already apologized, but I would like to do it through here to.

I believe I addressed the issues with our bathrooms previously, so I would like to explain the WIFI, which is something very new. In fact we had it installed the week before your arrival and to this date we are still devising different methods of ensuring that it will work sufficiently. This is the reason why it is NOT advertised or promised as one of the services that we offer. What we have in each room is a cable connection.

At the moment the system is such, that we have two wifi modems in two guest rooms hat ought to cover the entire hotel......and I am aware that they do not do so sufficiently. My IT specialist are thinking of how to do it, to make sure it will work better without a need to have one modem per each room which would not be very good. I would like to ask all with some patience while we sort this problem out. The main problem is the thickness of the walls that make it difficult for a good wifi coverage with the current system that we have. As I said, the Internet is via cable connection, Wifi works well in the cafe and in the restaurant.

The restaurant it self is opened until 23:00 and I believe this space or during the day the space of the café or the outside terrace can be used instead of a Lobby Bar. Please do bare in mind this is a small hotel, we are limited for a space,but we do make up for it in service size of rooms and prime location.

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    95
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
101
169
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Danville
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

As promised in it's title this is truly on the old square. Getting there you have to carry or wheel your bags to the hotel as there is no direct road access to the entrance.

Once there, you walk into a main restaurant entrance, buzz a button and they will let you in. There are no elevators so if at all infirm, it may be a bit awkward.
It is a small venue of about 10 rooms and the pleasant staff will get to know you very quickly.

We were upgraded to a larger room, which was great, as the room was not particularly cheap.

THere was a separate bedroom with firm beds ( which I like). There was a separate lounge area without TV. The bathroom was reminiscent of a box in the corner. It was a bit strange, but functional. It had a bath with shower head, but no separate shower.

There was an aircon device which worked well enough in the heat.

You can get room service form the restaurant downstairs but I didn't. There is also a jazz club in the basement.

The hotel should have permanent wifi but the network you may see is not accessible. There is wifi in the cafe downstairs but it is an awkward place to use it so unless you are drinking or eating.

The breakfast is a decent one in the cafe downstairs with very nice eggs, bacon and croissants and exceptional coffee, served by a very pleasant duo.

It served our needs well and we couldn't ask for a more central spot.

I found the money changer downstairs to have a decent rate compared to other places, but check others first.

When leaving they will help take you to the taxi stand as it far across the square, which is great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We spent three nights here in a junior suite.

The hotel is a small hotel right in the middle of Old Town Prague. It is in a old building, but the rooms are totally modernized with up to date decor and bathroom.

The room was a good size and had a king sized bed for the adults and a fold out sofa for the kids. Both were very comfortable and had two single duvets on - especially good for the kids so they didn't have to share.
The bathroom was clean and modern with a great bath tub and separate shower.

We had a room looking directly over Old Town square. Initially we were concerned that the noise from the square would be a problem, however once the windows were shut at night this wasn't an issue and we loved it during the day. Anytime we were in the room in the day or early evening we kept the windows open and enjoyed listening to the life of the square. It really made us feel part of the area.

The very personal feel of the hotel was also great. the staff all knew us chatted to all of us and the manager Helena was very welcoming. On the second night of our stay it was my husbands birthday, we hadn't mentioned this to the staff but we had filled in the usual passport details etc including DOB. When we returned to the hotel in the evening we were thrilled to find a Happy Birthday message and bottle of Champagne on ice! It really made his day :)

Breakfast was good. The two ladies taking care of us here were especially great, remembering the kids preferences and willing to help in any way. The breakfast was cooked to order and although there was a small menu it was fresh and tasty. I strongly recommend the yoghurt and my son says they did his eggs just right.

Overall the whole family really enjoyed our stay here. Prague is a fantastic and friendly city and the Old Town Square Hotel is a wonderful base to experience it from.

Room Tip: Not all rooms face the square - if this is important to you request ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Melsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is right in the center of Old Town Square. It is the perfect location for visiting all of the sights in Prague. it has AC, but you can leave your windows open and hear the music playing in the square or close your windows to any noise. We are planning on bringing our children with us to Prague and will stay in this hotel again. The bathrooms were new and very nice. You have to buzz in to get into the hotel, but I felt very safe in Prague. The breakfast was very good with several choices. I had a cappucino each morning. Wifi is available in the breakfast restaurant and you can sit in there any time until they close at 7 pm without ordering. There is also a Starbucks in the square that has free wi-fi. We used a car service to go to and from the airport. This was arranged by the hotel. You can pay the driver or pay the hotel for this service which was about $37 each way. Excellent hotel and friendly, helpful staff and beautiful city!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topsailbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otsh, Owner at Old Town Square, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Hello

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and for your kind recommendations. It's been an absolute pleasure having you with us and I look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

The OldTownSq. Hotel is the perfect place for a city break. The location is great for seeing all the sights on foot, we didn't have to use any transport just walked everywhere. Our room was huge, very comfortable, with a fab bathroom. All the staff including the breakfast cafe staff were very friendly and helpful and all spoke English. The breakfast included in our price was very good, had items for every taste.
All this for less than a room at the Premier Inn in London !

Room Tip: Choose a room at the side, not the front, if you want to have an open window at night. So the it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Musesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel! The staff was extremely courteous, and spoke excellent English. Please note that you must climb two flights of stairs to enter the hotel! I didn't see an elevator. This could be a problem if you have big luggage, etc. The hotel is very well appointed, comfortable beds, very large modern bathrooms. Breakfast was delicious and served in your room or in the dining hall. The location is excellent. Please know that Prague is a walking city, mostly cobblestone streets so comfortable shoes are a must! We visited in April 2012 and it was VERY cold- snowed. I would recommend this hotel to folks who want to be in the middle of the action. If you want quiet, you may want to go into the Lesser Town or closer to the river. Prague is very inexpensive and safe. Everyone we encountered spoke excellent English. They accept Prague Crowns as currency, generally not Euros or Dollars. There are many $ exchange offices. I hope this helps! Prague is wonderful, enjoy!

Room Tip: We had a room with a king bed, not facing the square. I believe it may have been somewhat quieter t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laurie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#39 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#17 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#106 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#81 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#91 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#109 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Square

Property: Old Town Square
Address: Staromestske namesti 548/20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Prague
#62 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#84 Business Hotel in Prague
#96 Family Hotel in Prague
#120 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Town Square 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Town Square Hotel is a family run hotel that consists of 10 spaceous rooms, most of which benefit from views of the square itself. Rooms are very spaceous with size ranging from 60 - 100 square meters. All rooms are designed in modern style, with Phillip Starc bathrooms and heated floors. Our multi lingual staff are here to help you in organising your day to day events, book theatre shows or advise what is to be seen in Prague. We have a sister hotel close to us, where the fitness and spa/ welness is located. Each guest of our hotel enjoys a complimentary acess to th fitnes, some charges may apply to the welness area (these are applicable to all guests for both hotels). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Old Town Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Square Prague
Old Town Square Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing