We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Ranked #103 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quirky and Nice”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great room on the 3rd floor with delightfully painted wooden beams overlooking the street that can get noisy at night from time to time but overall this is a great centrally located hotel close to all the
Old Town sights and sounds with a friendly helpful staff. There is only one caveat in that on leaving for the central train station the hotel booked us a "private taxi" unbeknownst to us who then promptly charged 350 koruna for what was an (earlier) 175 koruna charge for the same ride from the station to the hotel. We would like to put this down to mistake on this occasion but generally it is well advised to check what taxis you use in Prague as prices do ounce a bit.

Room Tip: Great rooms at the front on the 3rd floor but avoid if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hamersveld3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    251
    68
    30
    13
See reviews for
149
450
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This beautiful boutique hotel is less than 10 minutes walking distance from the best shopping and restaurants in Prague. It's comfortable, clean, spacious and beautifully furnished. We stayed here on recommendation from a friend and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljb-jdw-twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel is just a couple of meters away from the old town square, yet its quiet and safe. All the attractions and public transport are very close by, which really helps if you wanna get around quickly in Prague.
The room are nicely decorated (tho a bit kitschy), clean and quite spacey. The service provided by the staff is generally excellent and the wifi connection is speedy.

The only letdown is the breakfast; a very limited choice for a too high price. A shame, otherwise i'd rate his hotel as excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at the Iron Gate in December to enjoy Prague and its Christmas markets. The hotel occupies a fantastic location in a pretty historic building. The Old Town Square is 5 minutes away and it is full of bars and restaurants from the Hard Rock Café to medieval beer bars and 20th century Jazz clubs. The numerous restaurants, bars and sights within easy walking distance and you certainly feel you are experiencing the real Prague rather than a chain type hotel. Each room in the hotel is unique and we chose the “Family Suite” as we needed two bedrooms. The suite was certainly full of character although it’s suitability for a family was debateable. Certainly I would not trust young children on the very steep stairs. We had two bedrooms one of which was upstairs with a low vaulted ceiling and ancient painted beams and with a slightly strange Jacuzzi bath in the centre of the room and a very small toilet beside the stairwell. It looked ‘romantic’ with the bed set on a platform but the practicalities of this room were much trickier than we imagined. Getting in and out of bed under the steep eaves was very precarious especially in the pitch dark! This room needs bedside lamps and a little more comfort and ‘luxury’. There wasn’t even a dressing table and chair in the room which made it feel a bit empty. Not sure if they where trying for a minimalist look but if so they failed.

The heating definitely worked though and the rooms were very warm until we got the hang of the heating system!

On the main floor the lounge area was nice with 2 sofas, TV, rug and minibar / Tea and coffee making facilities and toilet. The downstairs bedroom was comfortable with an en suite bathroom with the shower over the bath which was a tad hit and miss with temperature and splashing all over the floor! The hair dryer was ‘wired in’ and you have to stand to dry hair. We do prefer a dressing table though there was a desk in the lounge. It can’t be easy to fit things in these charming rooms but the addition of a few more dressings would have improved this suite a lot. There was quite a bit of noise early morning even though we were very high up but that is only to be expected in a city location.

Wi-Fi worked fine and was free and the cleaning service was always very on the ball.
Breakfast is taken in the courtyard ‘café’ and was very unimpressive. A lot more could be made of this area in terms of tempting people in for coffee etc but this did not seem to happen much. It may be different in the summer.

Reception staff were helpful enough when asked about things and made restaurant bookings for us but a little more effort in passing the time of day and having a chat with guests would not have gone amiss. The reception area is very small and we never seemed to see any other guests (assuming there where some?) Probably reflecting the fact the hotel is not purpose built but is a 600 hundred year old converted private residence. We looked in the hotel bar and restaurant but they where totally deserted and we did not eat or drink at the hotel for this very reason. The restaurant is located in a pretty vaulted cellar and you feel they should so more to attract the dinner market from the Town Square. The restaurant opposite the hotel door was very nice and the food lovely and the Anonymous Bar 50 yards up the road opposite is a “must visit” experience!

Though we loved the location and the hotel generally what lacked was that special little ‘personal touch’ that would make the guest feel valued. It was our ‘notable’ wedding anniversary when we were there. When we have stayed in other hotels for similar special occasions we have always had a card or chocolates etc however, although they knew, the hotel never acknowledged this in any way. Just a little more effort is needed here in terms of customer service to make this hotel move from a good experience to a great one!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom family suite on top floor with steep stair and not suitable for small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pophammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. It was a pleasure being so close to the centre of the old town, of the restaurants, of all the activities and attractions. Our room was pleasant, with all the equipments, and nice paintings on the ceiling. Everybody was helpful, especially at the information desk. Breakfast was both plentiful and fast.
We recommend the Iron Gate.

Room Tip: 1st floor room, number 106, very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ganemisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our 3rd return stay at the Iron Gate in Prague. We are pleased to say it lived up to all our expectations and we will certainly return again.
This was our first visit since suites were refurbished in 2012 and rooms have been freshly decorated with new contemporary quality furniture and fixtures.
Our room was on the ground floor with an outlook into and access from the quaint internal courtyard. The room did not have the decorative historic ceiling fresco paintings but it did have a lovely vaulted ceiling. This meant our room was lovely and quiet despite being in the heart of the city.
There was a separate living room with sofa, TV, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities, desk, drawers. The mini bar was well stocked and replenished daily. The bedroom was spacious with large comfortable bed with plentiful supply of pillows. A second large TV in the bedroom. A large solid wood wardrobe provided plenty of storage space and staff kindly provided additional coat hangers on request. The small safe was easy to use however it was not big enough to hold our tablet and cameras.
The bathroom was well appointed with a large walk in shower and useful lit mirror. Our previous rooms at Iron Gate had huge jacuzzi baths so we did miss that feature this time but the large shower was also good.

Our only slight criticism was the temperature of the room was a bit warm for our liking and it did make it a bit uncomfortable at night. We weren't able to open a window as we had two frosted glass patio doors. The heaters/temperature seemed to be controlled automatically so we would have preferred local control. This may not be an issue in summer when air conditioning is available.

The hotel and suite was spotlessly clean and the cleaning staff were very efficient. Staff at reception were very polite and helpful with any request.
The hotel lobby whilst small is very characterful and has some seating and access to a PC and printer for guests.

Breakfast was excellent with a good range of fruit, cereal, cooked food, breads and continental breakfast. We particularly enjoyed the wafer thin ham!

The location and character of this historic building are second to none - you really are two mins from old town square and you can stay in a building with real charm. There are countless bars, restaurants and shops around along with easy walking distance to most of the key historic sites.

Iron Gate is our favourite place to stay and we hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quiet. All rooms are unique in this heritage building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_pandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatzacoalcos, Mexico
Level Contributor
226 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and me stayed at this nice hotel down town Praghe for 4 nights , we enjoyed staying so close to the main Plaza and most of the city attractions and with plenty of restaurants and shops just steps from our hotel .
the hotel is in good conditions mostly but details in door and Wood bruises and also the lobby is almost non existent , and summer garden was imposible to use do to the extreme cold weather of the season .
romos were nice but we were expecting a more traditional decor for a 14th century building.
so our room was quite comfortable and sound proof but definitly not a luxury 5 star acomodation .
we had included breakfast and the food was good but the breakfast room and the service were not any atractive and adecuated for a hotel that is suposed to be a 5 star place .
personel were mostly very helpfull with us and quite profesional .but never personal .

Room Tip: rooms are mostly confortable and well equiped ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyCardenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#81 of 670 in Prague
925 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#98 of 670 in Prague
595 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#37 of 670 in Prague
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#90 of 670 in Prague
1,444 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#126 of 670 in Prague
436 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#131 of 670 in Prague
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Gate Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Gate Hotel & Suites

Property: Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Address: Michalska 19, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#121 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#173 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iron Gate Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites offers 48 unique rooms and suites, each with a different lay out, view and decor. This beautiful landmark, set in a privacy of inner courtyard with unforgettable atmosphere, is certainly one of the hidden gems in Prague. Most rooms and suites are decorated with original 14th-18th century frescoes or wooden painted ceilings that were carefully renovated and nowadays are one of the hotel's unique features. Some Royal Suites are even with 2 bathrooms and jacuzzi. All rooms and suites are unique - you should come more than once to enjoy the breathtaking atmosphere of all. All rooms at the hotel are non-smoking. If coming for leisure or business - indulge yourself and let us treat you as royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iron Gate Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iron Gate Hotel And Suites
Iron Gate Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing