We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised by the quality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of OXO Restaurant

OXO Restaurant
Ranked #1,428 of 5,316 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, French, Japanese, International, Sushi, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Description: OXO restaurant interier
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprised by the quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

What a nice staff, good wines and excelent food! We took sushi as a starter and traditional japanese food as a maincourse. At first we got a home special from te house, tartar from salomon and potato with fine leafs and vegetables. Verry nice! Sushi was good and the main was the best! Afther that the owner(i think he was the owner) brought us a drink from the house, a herbliquer. Strong stuff. Walking home i could only think about the hospitality and the good food. Only bad thing.. To far away from Holland!

Helpful?
Thank Frank_Bode
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    8
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Birthday Celerbration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

we went to this restaurant on the 6th December for my wife`s birthday it was a little quite when we arrived all the staff where friendly, we were seated in the window , the drinks service was excellent as was the food service , the food was very nice and well presented, we had liquors after our desserts and the total cost was less than £100 which also included a bottle of wine with the meal . we will definitely return to this restaurant on our return to Prague .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fwoodhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were very excited to visit this restaurant after reading many positive reviews. Our dinner there was a big disappointment - the overall summary is that they try way too hard to be a classy restaurant and fail terribly.

The interior is tacky and tasteless (think 80s hotel restaurant with disco music playing during dinner) and the food is mediocre at best: my butterfish tasted bland and was completely overpowered by the salad, garnish and sauce that it came with. My husband's tonkatsu was not bad but was served with a sauce that clearly came from the bottle and not from fresh ingredients; not what you would expect at their prices.

I must say the service was very attentive and friendly - no surprise as we were the only people there! Yet, it was still more than a 20 minute wait between our starter and main course.

One final note: if you serve bread and butter before dinner, you should really make more effort than cutting a couple of slices of stale baguette and putting it on the table with a slab of supermarket butter that is frozen solid.

The friendly waiters did not save the day and we will not be coming back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pavla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We booked this restaurant after reading the reviews however a couple of days before our visit the ratings fell due to a bad review.
The food was excellent as was the service.We had the Japanese main dishes which were very well cokked and nicely presented. The only thing missing was atmosphere as it was so quiet.
I hope people give this restaurant a chance as they have obviously worked hard at making the interior stylish and a little different to other restaurants in Prague.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LChapSurrey_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had such a wonderful dinner is this trendy looking restaurant! It was really quiet when we arrived, so maybe that's the reason our food came quite quickly, and there could have been more time between starters and main course, but the food was excellent!! Staff was really nice and friendly. Can really recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EstherM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OXO Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to OXO Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing