We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault this hotel”
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #176 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Can't fault this hotel”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The breakfast had a good choice and it's location is great. It is right between 2 stops on the tram and only half a dozen stops to the very centre. The trams are easy. The staff were friendly and spoke in English when they saw me. I will stay here again when next in Prague.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novisfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and services in Hotel Carlton.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    174
    40
    7
    6
See reviews for
50
167
42
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utterson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was a really nice hotel! Conveniently located on the number 9 tramway - hop on or off just outside the hotel and make your way downtown to the many pedestrian only streets full of shops and cafes and buskers and classic architecturally designed buildings of Old Town Prague. EASY to get to! Also easy to get to/from the train station! You can buy transit tickets right at the front desk - how convenient is that? There is also a small grocery store across the street - again convenient! The staff are friendly, very knowledgeable speak English! The breakfasts are excellent - something for everyone. The staff there worked hard to keep every open table ready for new customers - cleaned as soon as they were vacated. The room was nicely laid out with a very modern washroom. Odd but I never had to wait once for the single elevator! Not once in three days! My only complaint would be the hotel bar was closed early it seemed but it is possible I could have arrived each night at the wrong time.....hardly a complaint really. I really felt more comfortable my first time in Prague because of my stay at this Carlton Hotel. From a Canadian!

Room Tip: I did not look to see if there even was a pool or fitness room - even though I am into fitness, I pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanmanUfford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for your appreciation of our services, and we hope that we will soon have a chance to welcome you again at hotel Carlton.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The location is great. Tram station is just 50 m away and you need less than 10 min to center. Metro station Flora is about 7-8 min on foot and a big mall is there as well.
Room was clean, breakfast was ordinary and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braga, Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is a renovated hotel with big rooms, a decor that tries to give an old-fashioned ambiance without being kitsch and very comfortable overall. It's not downtown, but regular trams take you there in 5-10 minutes, and you avoid the crowds. The area is still pleasant, with restaurants, bars and local shops. Breakfast is quite good, both cold and hot, and the staff is pleasant and helpful. No wifi in most rooms (only in the lobby) but cable internet, which is still free. I satyed there because it was convenient for a conference I was attending but next time in Prague, even for holidays, I'll most probably stay there again. Have I mentioned that it was quite cheap? I even thought, before arrival, that there must be some problem with the hotel. There wasn't.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MartaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The hotels rooms is big and spacey, the beds are more than the normal 90cm, so nice beds. When we arrive it was the first day with warm weather, and our room was warm. I get done and ask them to turn on the AC, and the receptionist told me it was already on. When I told him it was not working in our room he suggest I should open the window. A sign next to the window says – AC will stop working if you open the window….It what I told him. So my conclusion was that they haven’t turned on the AC yet. When we leave the room for the evening we opened all the windows, so it was ok when we get back. The next day they had started the AC.
Breakfast was very good, many things to choose from.
It takes only 5-10 minutes to go with the tram to the city center, the tram was on a very regularly base. Very easy and nice. We going back to Prague, this will be our place to stay.
It was local pubs in the area too, very nice ones, really local and not so touristic.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Very good hotel at affordable price. It is close to Univ. of Economics (where I was attending a conference). Also, it is very close from the center of the city. Its around 15-20 mins walk from the Wenceslas Square. Staffs are very cordial. Breakfast was good. There are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Very close to Flora mall. There's also Albert supermarket just opp. to the hotel. Tram stop is also very close by.
There was some problem in their water supply line, so the last few hours of my stay, there was no water. Although the receptionist provided me with ample water bottles for usage. All in all, a nice place to stay.
I stayed 4 nights for 212 EUR (1 person with breakfast)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soumadri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for your pleasant review. We are really glad that you liked your stay at hotel Carlton. We apologize for the temporal water shortage, which was caused by construction works on local water supply line. Unfortunately we have no power over such things, and hope that if you ever have chance to visit us again, you will find your stay 100% trouble free.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Very good hotel, very clean, quiet, good staff, good breakfast. I was very happy to stay here. The rooms are a good size, the bed is comfortable. It's only a few minutes by tram. There is a supermarket opposite. There is a lot to recommend this hotel. The price is excellent as well. For what you pay you get very good value for money. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Buy a 24 hour ticket for the tram / metro - to be safe. I was stopped a couple of times by inspector...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alekito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, General Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear client,

We truly appreciate the fact that you have chosen for your stay hotel Carlton. We are glad to hear that you were happy with the accommodation and services, and hope that we will soon have a chance to welcome you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#111 of 649 in Prague
1,120 reviews
Praha 7
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#238 of 649 in Prague
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Ametyst Prague
Hotel Ametyst Prague
#160 of 649 in Prague
709 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#148 of 649 in Prague
501 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Taurus
Hotel Taurus
#254 of 649 in Prague
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Property: Hotel Carlton
Address: Taboritska 696/18, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Family Hotel in Prague
#120 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#139 Business Hotel in Prague
#148 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel, situated in the completely renovated historical building, is characteristic by its convenient position, not far from business and historical center of Prague. Hotel features 48 stylishly and comfortably furnished rooms with air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi Internet, cosy breakfast restaurant built in the original historical basement with vaulted ceilings and a lounge providing comfort premises for venues of smaller company events and family celebrations. Parking is available on the street at the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing