We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Residence Retezova
Ranked #105 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First time in Prague”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and i stayed at Hotel Residence Retezova for 5 nights 2-7th July. The hotel was perfectly located to see all of Pragues sights. We arrived late and were picked up by the hotel, which was good as we didnt have to worry about organizing transport. Even though there was only 2 of us we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. The apartment was huge with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, lounge room and kitchen, all amenities worked well. If there was anything to pick on, the lounge chairs could be changed to something more comfy after walking all day. There is a great cafe next door which serves great coffees and either a continental or vegetarian brekkie.
All of the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable from booking tours, cabs and directions to all sights around the old town.
There is multiple restaurants and bars close by, one that we booked over the internet which was a 5 min walk from hotel was probably the Best meal we have ever had.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a great stay in Prague.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solitafrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residence_retezova, Front Office Manager at Hotel Residence Retezova, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Solitafrank,
Many thanks for your nice review. It was our pleasure to welcome you here and we are happy that you spent a nice time with us especially because of your first time in Prague :).We are very pleased that you were satisfied with our hotel, taxi service, breakfast and with our staff. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back in our Residence Retezova.

With best Regards,
Hana and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    84
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
160
267
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Me and my wife stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The location is perfect! at the center of the old city, 150m from the major attractions of the area. The amazing thing was that it was also very very quite!
The room was very clean, and nice looking.
After we ordered the room we sent special request to get room without gallery, and got confirmation. However, when we came at 11 PM we got room with gallery, which was not comfortable. the guy in the reception told us that all rooms were occupied. In the morning, we went to the reception and insist to get new room without gallery, and the new guy in the reception agreed. the new room was much more comfortable. In our last day, we asked for late checkout since we had flight at 10 PM and he also agree.
to summarize it, great hotel, very good location, nice and quite, and very clean. I would definitely recommend it. the only minus is some of the rooms which have galleries, and might not be comfortable for everyone.

Room Tip: Room without gallery is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residence_retezova, Front Office Manager at Hotel Residence Retezova, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Mr. Eyal,
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Residence Retezova and would be very happy to welcome you again!
With my best Regards,
Hana and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Hotel is well maintained, renovated, clean and perfectly situated in the heart of the Old Town. Close walking distance to everything.
Staff welcoming, warm, incredibly helpful, particularly Hana who bent over backwards for us.
Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Each room is different. We had a loft studio which meant climbing up to beds. Not an issue but mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residence_retezova, Front Office Manager at Hotel Residence Retezova, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Diana,
Thank you for your nice review. Wa are glad that you spent nice time with us. Many thanks for your kind words about our staff and service, we really appreciate it. It was our pleasure having you here.
We would be more than happy to welcome you back in our Residence Retezova.

With my best Regards,

Hana and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The apartment was very clean, elegantly furnished, spacious and located in the very center of the city, few steps away from the hustle and bustle of the Staroměstské náměstí but in a very quiet street. The staff was very friendly and helpful in assisting for all the last minute needs and that made the stay even better.

Just next door there's a cozy little cafè serving delicious cappuccino, croissants and assorted cakes, just in case you didn't include the breakfast in the package.

I couldn't ask for a better place to stay to visit Prague; definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrico O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residence_retezova, Front Office Manager at Hotel Residence Retezova, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Enrico,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay in our Residence Retezova. We are very gratefull for your positive comments and we are happy that you had a nice stay with us. We are also happy to read that you couldn't ask for a better place to stay to visit Prague.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.

With best Regards,
Hana and colleagues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I were truly looking forward to our stay in the magical city of Prague. After reading the glowing reviews of the Hotel Retezova, we booked a three night stay weeks ahead of time.. Sadly to say, we were very disappointed. While the location was excellent, (very close to the historical Old Town and the St. Charles Bridge,) the staff very friendly and helpful, our room, which I we named "unlucky number seven," fell far short of our expectations. First of all, we wound up with a very small room with a steep ladder, not stairway, up to a sleeping loft, crowded with a single bed plus a double bed under the eaves with the bathroom downstairs. We are a very fit couple in our 60's, but when the clerk showed us to our room, she asked us if the room was suitable for us, we were very honest and said, not really. Unfortunately, she told us that there were no others available. The sitting room with a tiny kitchenette was furnished with a small two person high back settee along with two straight back chairs and poor wall lighting, (no lamp for reading) totally unsuitable for relaxing after or even planning for a day of sightseeing1 Plus the refrigerator in the kitchenette functioned solely as a minibar with no room for personal items, such as water bottles.. Disappointed, we resigned ourselves to making the best of things, but got off to a bad start when the coffee machine wouldn't work because the wrong size coffee pods had been provided. As it turned out, that was a relatively easy fix. However, later that evening when we turned on the television, we discovered that the sound on the international channels of the small television wasn't working. We informed the desk the next day, but were finally informed that the system was broken and could not be fixed because it was the weekend. While it was just an inconvenience, I must say, the news only added to our dissatisfaction with the situation. Our last night there was very warm and we found that the combination of a small downstairs fan plus an open skylight was just adequate to keep the upstairs loft comfortable enough to sleep. Despite these negative issues, I must say, though, that the staff at the Hotel Retzevova must be commended. Hours after checking out when I discovered that I had left a pair of shoes at the hotel, they went out of their way to send them at no cost to my next hotel. In the end, though, we decided to be honest in our review of our stay in the Hotel Retezova's room #7, very disappointing and not what we expected. Our honest advice would be to stay away from "unlucky" room #7!

Room Tip: We only saw pictures of other rooms, which were lovely and spacious, not our room #7, So if comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This was my first time to stay in an serviced apartment and like everyone else I was a bit scepticle of safety, service and comfort. Since we were 4 friends we had taken 2 two bedroom apartments. On reaching the apartment, we saw a relatively small old and dated wooden gate opening up (upon ringing the bell) which led us to a reception which was managed by a beautiful and smart young lady named Adela! she welcomed us with such a warm smile and was very hospitable to make us all comfortable. offerd us water / soda and showed us our apartments. the stair case that led to the apartment was quite dimly lit n narrow but the apartments we got did more than justtice to the rpice we paid and more than met our expectations. Beautifully done up rooms, a nice big living room and a fully functional kitchen with Wine glassses. They had full arrangements for Tea and coffee which was on the house and was replenished as and when we asked.
the lady Adela managed the entire show on her own ! very efficient girl.
later in the day when we ventued out we realised how central we were. it was really really the BEST location I could EVER ask for. right at the beck of action but no noise. the place was right next to the clock tower (5 mins leisure walk through beautiful boutique stores.
overall a treasure in middle of the city.
Hightly recommend it for families and couples.
book it in advance so that you are not disappointed.
cheers !

Room Tip: we saw all rooms they had to offer. trust me all are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagararora123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#103 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#99 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#125 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Retezova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Retezova

Property: Hotel Residence Retezova
Address: Retezova 225/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Prague
#35 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#72 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Retezova 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you decide to stay at the Retezova Residence in Prague's Old Town, you will be surprised. All the nine four-star apartments provide sophisticated comfort, well hidden in their stylish furniture and harmoniously complementing the historical interiors. Air-conditioning ( not Studio Room Type), wi-fi or broadband internet access, satellite TV, CD/DVD players and other facilities are naturally a given. Retezova will enchant lovers of romance, small to large families, couples, friends travelling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Residence Retezova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Retezova Hotel
Residence Retezova Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing