We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy room in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Residence Retezova
Ranked #104 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cozy room in a great location”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel, on the whole, really enjoyed it. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the Charles bridge and is close to the Old Town Square and many other attractions. The staff at the hotel is friendly and helpful.

We reserved the Berlin Room but were upgraded to the Madrid Room. The room is clean and well-appointed. The room's exposed beams are absolutely beautiful. I could have sat there and stared at them for hours. The only drawback to this type of ceiling is that there isn't much of a sound barrier between you and your upstairs neighbors. We happened to have a family with running/jumping toddlers staying above us a couple of nights. The noise kept me up for hours. It would have been fine if I had thought to bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7HeatherS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    86
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
164
270
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is by far the most unique hotels we've stayed at.

We thought being right in the centre of the Old Town it was going to be noisy - we were so wrong. Our room was so quiet, so peaceful. We couldn't hear a thing from anywhere. It was such a relaxing palce to be.

The room (Apartment Rio de Janeiro) was a bit small compared to the other ones I've seen however it was spacious enough upstairs to keep all the luggage/bags. The room was clean and tidy, with a very modern bathroom. It also opened out into a shared courtyard. There was a safe in the room, which is handy for storing valuables.


The location of this place is unbeatable. Literally minutes away from the Old Town Square, Charles Bridge etc etc.

I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I would give five stars across the board except they need to work just a bit on their housekeeping. Everything else was top notch. Alex at the front desk was so incredibly accommodating before and during our stay. This was my second time staying at this hotel and I would highly recommend. The London Suite is my fav.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rehurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Got away with wife for a few days. This place was perfectly located in the old town. So quiet! Pin drop silence all the time. No noisy neighbours, music, residents bar etc. Very relaxing. Felt safe with friendly staff always present at the desk. The room has a digital safe for valuables (will take an iPad). Fast wifi connection (router was in our room!). I found our room quite small but it didn't matter as we spent most of the time wandering the beautiful streets of old Prague.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirage67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residence_retezova, Manager at Hotel Residence Retezova, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were your home far away from home... Hope to see you again soon.

With my best Regards
Adela Hlinakova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

No doubt that this hotel has its location going for it. Literally a 3 minute walk gets you to the Astronomical Clock. However I must warn you to AVOID ROOM 7, AKA the Singapore Apartment. Somehow, we drew the shortest straw and had the pleasure of staying in this death trap. Literally, you have scale a almost vertical staircase with one railing to get to your beds. Forget getting luggage up there, it isn’t going to happen. That means the only place for your luggage is on the living room/kitchen/dining room floor. Now you have no room to move about your room. Have to use the bathroom during the night? Forget about it, unless you want to break your neck (seriously). This room should absolutely not be booked for anyone ages 15 and under and 45 and older. The computer is located in a very odd place, right next to the hotel front doors. Parking is very expensive, and there is no breakfast included. Most of the time when entering the lobby, the staff didn’t look up from what they were doing, a lot of times they were surfing the internet on the guest computer.
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Cons: Room 7 is death trap, computer in odd location, staff friendliness is hit or miss

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sprevels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone wishing to visit Prague! Our room was the size of an apartment and I loved that the theme and high ceilings were very traditional to Prague style architecture. We were extremely central to the Old town and Charles Bridge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lm_shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

staff very helpful - my wife got ill and they got a doctor very quickly. Cafe for breakfast fine, plenty nice restaurants nearby. One point worth making - the rooms vary in size considerably, ours was huge but some are quite small.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fusspot100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#79 of 649 in Prague
1,507 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Clementin Old Town
Clementin Old Town
#117 of 649 in Prague
350 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#98 of 649 in Prague
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#127 of 649 in Prague
454 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,464 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Retezova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Retezova

Property: Hotel Residence Retezova
Address: Retezova 225/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Prague
#35 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#72 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Retezova 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you decide to stay at the Retezova Residence in Prague's Old Town, you will be surprised. All the nine four-star apartments provide sophisticated comfort, well hidden in their stylish furniture and harmoniously complementing the historical interiors. Air-conditioning ( not Studio Room Type), wi-fi or broadband internet access, satellite TV, CD/DVD players and other facilities are naturally a given. Retezova will enchant lovers of romance, small to large families, couples, friends travelling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Residence Retezova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Retezova Hotel
Residence Retezova Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing