We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious”

Estrella restaurant
Ranked #30 of 5,536 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Nove Mesto (New Town)
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were thrilled to find this restaurant down a little side street in Prague. Pretty much every restaurant in the Old Town / tourist area of Prague was offering Pig Knuckles or Beef Goulash, so to find ANY place offering vegetarian options was brilliant, but Estrella went above and beyond. Our meals were delicious, the service good, and the price extremely reasonable. Completely recommend this little venue.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGF_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    158
    30
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Estrella (Star) really deserves this name...”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have to say that I really love this restaurant and I am trying to come here every day for lunches, because the food they offer is really good and fresh. They offer daily menu (from Monday to Friday between 11.30 and 15.30), these are different every day and include soup and a main dish for CZK125,- (+-€ 5,-) which is for the quality they provide more than fair price. I even like their dinners. (My favorite is Thai Curry and Quesadillas.) The wines they have on the list are good too. The restaurant is non smoking, which I really really appreciate as well. And the final thing (but not less important) I want to mention is the service - always smilling and nice. Definitely recommend. (Even my non vegeterian friends whom I took here liked the food.) P.S.: The only disadvantage I found is when you get used to their food you tongue will get really spoilt.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristian_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous vegetarian food, best I had in Prague!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I can thoroughly recommend Estrella for both vegetarians (like me) and non-vegetarians. It was the best meal I had in Prague. The menu had multiple sections including starters, entrees, mains, soups, salads, desserts - so lots to choose from.

I wasn't that hungry so had a soup and salad. The cream of pea soup was delicious, I was concerned it would be a bit bland but it was not. It came with a couple of small slices of lovely bread. Then the goat's cheese salad was superb - lots of lovely salad vegetables topped with a generous serve of goat's cheese. I had ordered some homemade bread too which was nice to spread some of the goat's cheese on. All this plus a homemade mint lemonade was 256 CZK (about $15 AUD) - what a bargain for such beautiful food.

The waitress didn't speak a lot of english but enough for us to understand each other. The service was great and I loved the feel of the place, great atmosphere (not a big place, only 6 tables that seated between 2 and 6 people). There is also a small bar that you can sit at. Note they are not open on Sundays.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjp131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and great service”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Even if I am not a vegetarian, Estrella is for me one of the best restaurant in town. It´s located in one of the side streets in Prague's Nové město district. If you are staying in the area or find yourself nearby, I highly recommend stopping by for lunch. Service is attentive, smiley, and always polite. Every day, the chef prepares one lunch special for good price (125 CZK for soup and main dish or 150 CZK for soup, main dish and desert) which is brought out at a seemingly lightning speed, so you can be in and out in half an hour. And the food is just fantastic - I wouldn't imagine that vegetarian cuisine could be so varied and tasty!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StasNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Simply the best”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Sounds like an overstatement, but is simply true. I am mostly vegetarian and I know pretty much all the vegetarian/vegan restaurants in Prague (there aren't that many), and being the foodie that I am - I'm not easily satisfied and don;t give such a review easily. Daily menu is often way more delicious and way nicely prepared then most restaurants main dishes and and in all the food made, you can just simply taste the love and passion it was prepared with. Plus the service is excellent and the restaurant very cozy. I must say it beats my ex favorite restaurant Clear Head in the race for the first place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanDrlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estrella restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Estrella restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing