We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mystical center of Prague”

Speculum Alchemiae Museum
Ranked #43 of 950 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our museum called Speculum Alchemiae, is situated in one of the oldest houses in Prague. There are secret alchemical laboratories from the 16th century in the museum underground that were built for the king Rudolf II. The alchemists of that time used to prepare elixirs in there. The museum building also includes a shop, where equal elixirs can be bought. These elixirs are prepared under strict conditions according to their original recipes which have been found here. Newly, we also offer a unique tour of magical places in Prague which are connected with the Speculum Alchemiae museum. The guided tour includes the Prague Castle, Vysehrad, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, and the museum. At these places you learn about many amazing legends and mythological stories associated with the so-called Prague Magical Triangle.
Rostov-on-Don, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mystical center of Prague”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This museum is excellent! The exposition includes many real alchemic artifacts. This excursion will be very interesting for real admirers of Prague charming mystical history!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mikhail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    152
    33
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Facinating”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Again something different. A 30 minute historical tour of an old alchemy laboratory that was once linked to the Prague castle via an underground tunnel. The original Laboratory was found while renovating from a flood. if you don't like cramped areas underground maybe not for you. They sell potions based on the original recipes upstairs (minus the narcotics). Museum near street containing many luxury designer brands

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Syd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
“Best museum in Prague”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is the best museum I have visited in Prague. The tour was short but extremely interesting. We learned about the history of alchemy in Prague, which thrived during the renaissance. We saw the places where the alchemists made elixirs, flasks, and gold. One can even buy the elixir in the museum. The tour guide extremely friendly and spoke perfect English, even though he was Vietnamese (random fact).

Definitely visit this place if you are in Prague.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Minh Tri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the best attractions in Prague”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We decided to go there because we like histories about alchemists. We couldn't believe it would be so interesting. Just a 30 minutes underground tour for the two of us. Very friendly and knowledgeable young lady guide. Not scaring at all and of course not contraindicated in people with claustrophobia. Don't lose it during your visit in Prague. Worth the time and money!!! Discover it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nespidim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“History made interesting”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by how fascinating this turned out to be. I visited because I like the history of alchemy and thought the museum might be interesting. I was a bit wary. But I was met with a look at an original alchemist's laboratory, not a New Age or even touristy tribute to a historical pseudo-science.

The visit was comprised of original lab facilities (really, very cool) and a reconstructed library. This was one of the few things I saw in Prague that was more geared toward history and knowledge than over-wrought tourism. The personally-guided tour was fantastic as well, with a well-versed guide who answered questions and offered a complete and interesting overview of the museum.

In short, a unique, magical and unusual place to visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bgolob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speculum Alchemiae Museum also viewed

 

Been to Speculum Alchemiae Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing