We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service”
Review of Cafe bar Nad Certovkou - CLOSED

Cafe bar Nad Certovkou
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: European, Czech, International, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Description: Cafe bar Nad Certovkou was opened in 2011 an is situated on the shore of Certovka river in Kampa park opposite to house of famous czech dramatists Jan Werich. It's newly reconstructed space of old gallery with preserved historic features. We can provide 70 seats for our customers, who can sit also on summer terrace. Bar is divided into two parts: smoking and non-smoking. We have also free Wi-Fi!
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I've visited this cafe bar just yesterday with my girlfriend for coffee and pancake.
Coffee was fine, pancake not very tasty however this is not reason for complaining.
I really don´t understand approach of staff to customers. Our waiter wasn´t polite at all. He was arrogant and not nice to us. This is really wrong and I am sure that this not way have to bring guests back to their place. This visit was really big disappointment for us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrej Ž
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    31
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Most romantic place in the heart of Prague!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Excellent food, perfect ambiance, and best location all rolled into one place! Located in front of canal river by small bridge leading to the park that leads to the Palace of the Ministry of Culture. This restaurant is a must to experience. Get lucky, experience draft wine and Czeck klobasa at its best!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noubikko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice restaurant...But?”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant for lunch on a cold Monday. It was 1:00pm and we were the only customers. We were told to order from an abbreviated lunch menu with small lunch type fare. This was fine with us because we were only interested in a small plate. I assume the menu posted at the door is for the evening or busier weekends. The food, beer and service were very good. My only issue was at the end of our meal we were not presented with an itemized bill. We were only told the total we owed. Since we only ordered 4 items, quick math told me that a 10% service charge had been added. This was no problem for me because I usually tip at least that and more. I just said nothing and paid the bill. The fact that I was not given a bill or verbally told that a tip had been added was questionable. Could be common practice for this restaurant or the language barrier, I won't judge, I'll let the review reader decide.

Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good burgers”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

After several hours walking in the park, we happened upon this garden cafe with outdoor seating right next to a little river and bridge. Just a few minutes walk from Charles bridge. Nice and quiet. Very good service. Good burger - Czech style - with red peppers and cucumber on it and the minced beef seemed to have onion or something in it. Overall good fare and lovely location. Inside looked pretty cool too but everyone was out when we visited.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LBB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
2 reviews
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It´s the place where you can relax and feel good. Very good situated close park nearly Karl´s bridge. There is friendly service and large space inside maybe for seventy people. On the walls are nice old photos. I was there, when was cold so I need to sit inside, bud outside is a terrace neer the river. I recommend this bar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lenka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe bar Nad Certovkou also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing