We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if staying in Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The MadHouse Prague
Ranked #1 of 691 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hostel is a fun easy going hostel that cranks it up when its party time. The staff are not staff but friends who make you feel soooo welcome. The location is great and the hostels activity list is massive from beer pong to tobogganning . The staff make you feel like its a home from home starting from when you walk through the door and get your first welcome beer . I would highly recommend staying here as once youve been you will want to return again and again

Room Tip: Jungle Room loft ( no bunk beds )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slipperydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 328 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was definitely one of the best hostels I stayed in. Rod and the staff are extremely friendly, and attract similar guests too. The location is excellent. The best way to explore Prague is on foot, and this hostel is centrally located for the purpose with several eateries around too.
The hostel mates go out together on most nights and that's always a good way to make new friends and meet people, specially if you're traveling alone, like I was.
And yes, the welcome beer can never fail to cheer you up. If you like to stay in a relaxed, casual atmosphere with fun people.. this is the place.

A very fun hostel... highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sum_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

the madhouse crew made prague one of my favourite destinations in europe so far. as a solo female traveller, i am often a bit unsure of myself in new places, but at madhouse i felt at home right away. the nightly activities, family dinners and day time outings brought all the guests together to create an awesome welcoming and fun atmosphere. i booked really late on the recommendation of a friend, and summer was kind enough to squeeze me in. nice clean rooms, amazing amazing showers, central location and brilliant facilities - computer room, printing, big kitchen, lockers, security doors and lounge with TV. would definitely recommend this place to anyone young and looking for a small, friendly and slightly outrageous hostel. thank you so much for making my time in prague so special!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldbeyondthebubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Madhouse is brilliant fun with drinking games and nights out and also in a great location for day trips out. Really good for meeting people and also great food every night cooked by the staff which is really cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jtstenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Madhouse is definitely the place for you to go if you are travelling alone or in a small group and want to have a nice time and meet nice people.
When you check into the hostel you receive a welcome beer, and that pretty much gives you an idea of what is coming. There are things going on every night, some drinking games to start and then they head off to some club.
The rooms are clean and this was the first hostel that did my laundry and even folded it for an OK price.
Staff is nice, provided me all the info that I required and they join us for the clubs and drinking.
If I return to Prague I have no doubt that I will stay on this hostel again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank odairtns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Go there if you want to have fun. Don't go if you want to be bored. There is always an activity planned for every day and the staff is really friendly. The rooms are clean and the hostel is well located (walking distance from the Old Town and clubs). I would stay there again if I go back to Prague.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggysmallisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place is a 24/7 party. I knew coming in that we would be having a lot of fun here, but I had no idea it would be this much fun. The staff is great and really give you a lot of information about all the must see places in the city. Every night there is something planned which makes it a really great place to meet people and socialize. I've been recommending it to all my friends since we got home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikiiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#70 of 646 in Prague
2,385 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel One Prague
Hostel One Prague
#3 of 691 in Prague
431 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#7 of 691 in Prague
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#11 of 691 in Prague
793 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Post Hostel Prague
Post Hostel Prague
#10 of 691 in Prague
184 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Sophie's Hostel
Sophie's Hostel
#8 of 691 in Prague
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MadHouse Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MadHouse Prague

Address: Spalena 102/39, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 691 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range: $18 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idea is simple - at The MadHouse we will give you much more than just a bed to sleep in, we will give you an unforgettable experience and memories to last a lifetime!What makes us different to other hostels? At The MadHouse, we work hard to create an environment that gives backpackers a sense of home and family. Our bright and sunny kitchen provides the perfect setting for meeting fellow travelers over afternoon beer-pong sessions or hostel family dinners. Daily activities led by our staff include anything from trips to the beer gardens, to ice hockey games, to mad nights out.Set up like a big house shared with 40 of your newest best friends, highlights include a comfy TV lounge full of bean bags and sofas where laziness is encouraged and free use of computers and WIFI throughout all rooms. The entire hostel was custom painted by two renowned graffiti artists from Montreal, Pito and Guko, meaning that you could lose yourself in one of our unique and spacious dorm rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing