We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three times better”
Review of Bily jerab

Bily jerab
Ranked #769 of 5,468 Restaurants in Prague
Price range: $1 - $10
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Three times better”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

If you're vegetarian or escaping the meat and dumplings ubiquitous in Prague, visit this charming restaurant and tea room. We did three times, or every other day during our stay. We had wonderful service, tried six different dishes, and even more teas, because as we asked more questions about the various teas they actually brewed up some to try. We bought some tea to try and duplicate the "multiple infusion" experience at home. At the end of our trip we most regretted not having another day to go to Bily jerab.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    16
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointing food but relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We'd have expected somewhat better from this given the good reviews. We visited for a mid afternoon lunch and were the only people in there. My husband's udon noodles were fine. My stir fried veg with tofu was nice enough but the rice that came with it was a congealed semicircular lump (hard, probably reheated and totally inedible)! Probably worth bearing in mind that this is primarily a tea room. Service was polite and friendly enough but I wouldn't rave about this place - you can find better quality and better value veggie food in Prague if that's what you're looking for. However if you want a very quiet and relaxing atmosphere and an an extensive tea menu this might be more of an incentive to visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous_citybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerab, Owner at Bily jerab, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest

I'm sorry that You were not more satisfied and we will do our best to make your next visit better. If your rice was really so bad prepared, it is a pity that You did not inform the staff immediately. It would help us to improve our service and we would certainly be able to correct the mistake right away. Unfortunately, finding out where the mistake could have been is impossible now, but I believe that was an uncommon error (we have not had yet such complaints). The more I regret that we were not able to show our best, or correct our mistake.

Thank you for taking the time for writing a review.

Regards,
Milan Drimal, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, relaxing and very friendly place”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The interior is stylish and perfectly kept. The tea is great (it is mostly a tea place). There is also some food, not a lot of choice, but what we tried was tasty and substantial. Deserts are magical (we had creme brulet, you should try it too!) Prices are ok, about 100- for tea, 120- for a dish.

Helpful?
Thank JuPetrunina
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good tearoom with food options”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We sought out Bily Jerab as my friend and I are both vegetarian. We were not disappointed. The tea selection is extensive, and it's clear that most other customers come in to relax with their newspapers.

We were looking for something to eat, and so we ordered miso soup, a main each and some delicious ginger lemonade. It was just the right amount of food for us (like with other Japanese restaurants, don't expect to leave heavy and stuffed!). Though small, the menu provided us vegetarians with more choice than other ordinary restaurants, so we were more than happy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LianneDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“lovely vegetarian restaurant”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

we went here for lunch and had couscous with aubergine and a tomato sauce which was delicious, and noodles with vegetables and sauce which again was lovely.Both portions were huge.The restaurant is really a tea room and they have hundreds of different teas as well as fruit juices and hot lemonade. drinks.We were too full to have dessert but they looked great.I would go here again.The lunch cost around ten pounds including drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank icegirl763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bily jerab also viewed

 
Prague, Bohemia
 

Been to Bily jerab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing