We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Speechless”

Kalina cuisine & vins
Ranked #249 of 5,498 Restaurants in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $92
Cuisines: European, French, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Description: Our gourmet restaurant is located in the historical center of Prague, near the Old Town Square. It is a restaurant built on the expertise of recognized personalities of Czech gastronomy. Top Chef Mirek Kalina prepares culinary delights accompanied by wines from traditional European winemakers which are served by recognized sommelier Vit Hepnar. Have you already visited Kalina Restaurant? Please rate us here on TripAdvisor. Thank you.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Speechless”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

....Thank you for your hospitality, great food, great wine. Really wished we had more time in Prague to eat here again. A sure winner and look forward to subsequent visits here in the future.

Advice -

* Reasonably priced for the quality
* Great presentation of any dish
* Superb wine list
* Amazing service

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    91
    29
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“An Honest, Excellent Place to Eat in Prague!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

During one of my visits to Prague more than ten years ago, I had by chance wondered into a small, inconspicuously looking bistro in the Old Town - a bistro then owned by one of the local artistic personalities. The food was outstanding - and I sought the then unknown Chef of the place, Mr Mirek Kalina. After then, I kept returning to the bistro almost daily - until the bistro was closed and Mr Kalina disappeared into the fast-evolving restaurant scene of Prague. On my subsequent visits, I often enquired about this highly talented Chef - but never came across him again.

It has been a common occurrence in post-velvet revolution Prague, that people who come to some money, hurry to open a restaurant - without even the slightest understanding of food or the many aspects of restaurant business.

The result? Failure after failure - to the point that it is virtually impossible to rely on past experience when choosing a place to eat after being some time out of Prague. How many times have I been embarrassed after recommending one or the other restaurants to my friends - only to find out that, since my last visit, the Chef of the place was fired, the staff left because the owner failed to pay their wages - etc. etc.

Well - I was very pleasantly surprised when I returned to Prague about a month ago - and found out that Mirek Kalina opened his own restaurant - and also entered into a association with one of the best sommeliers the country produced over the past two decades, since vine became increasingly important to the palates of local diners.

Needless to say, my wife and I have been frequent visitors to Restaurant Kalina almost on a daily basis. I will not bore the reader with long descriptions of the Chef's philosophy of culinary applications - the best description of all would be to visit Restaurant Kalina and try his various creations on the theme of Czech-French dishes in person. You will love it - and you will return again and again.

jdsepes - Switzerland

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jdsepes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at Very Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Perfect for anyone who enjoys a lovely glass of wine and exquisite food with a perfect atmosphere. Helpful and polite staff, English speaking. Fantastic end to a perfect weekend away! Recommended to anyone who asks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrelle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radka J, Manažer komunikace s hosty at Kalina cuisine & vins, responded to this review, November 4, 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review on Kalina Cuisine & Vins. We look forward to seeing you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Radka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“On the way to become best in town”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This cozy place just off the Old Town Square offers an absolutely outstanding cuisine. We were seven, ordered five different starters and four different main courses, and all nine dishes were TOP. (N.B. For those who appreciate nouns: the fabulous ris de veau is a must). And the zabaglione served for desert is a true ‘last but not least’.
A great applause to the chef, Mr. Kalina, and his team.

For an expert, the wine list possibly looks impressive; for my taste, it is far too abundant. As a positive point, a good choice of reasonably priced burgundy wines.
The first bottle that the sommelier recommended (a Chardonnay) did not pass the test of the table. The second try (a Meursault) was excellent (though it could have been more chilled before being served). The red (a Fleurie) was impeccable.

The service was great. Still, as four out of seven guests did not talk Czech, they could have assigned the table to a waiter with better language skills. Or, if nothing else, the waiter should at least be able to explain the 'specials of the day' in English.

All in all, a great location, a fantastic cuisine, an impressive wine cellar, attentive staff, and a few minor points, leaving Mr. Kalina space for ‘getting from great to perfect. I am convinced that he gets there very soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited here on our first night and were not disappointed. The service was exemplary and the food superb. It looks really pricey but the food is very reasonable and beautifully cooked and presented. The wine is expensive but good quality. We cannot recommend more highly. The waiting staff spoke perfect English, and were incredibly helpful and polite. We would definitely return.

Helpful?
1 Thank GazLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Kalina cuisine & vins also viewed

 

Been to Kalina cuisine & vins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing